Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RANT! Gombeen owner and gombeen dog

• 13-02-2011 9:14pm
    Registered Users Posts: 14,023 ✭✭✭✭

OK more of a rant that question but if somebody else's dog is bothering you/your dog and their dumbass owner won't do anything what do you do? Let a roar at the dog/ tell owner to control their dog/distance youself from them?!?! I don't shout at my dog btw - I don't need to because I don't let him run amok! :mad: It's just that I've seen other owners shouting at dogs to get rid of them.. And I don't really want to distance myself from the whole group (sometimes up to 10 dogs) cos then I'll be taking my guy away from his buddies!

I've bit my tongue every time this idiot and their dog have annoyed me. EG when they were standing laughing thinking it was hilarious that it was trying to hump my dog - my guy is well socialised so would just patiently try to shrug him off or when the same dog was up on top of my dog's leg when it was still healing and only held together with pins I had to lift him off by the collar 3 TIMES in a row while and it ignored the owners calls and they looked on I said nothing...

ANYHOOS...the same dog pi$$ed on my leg today:mad:... and the owner thought it was funny and shrugged it off - oh yeah he's doing that all time time now I wonder why - they're puzzled why their intact 1 year old dog is doing this?!! When I finally snapped and told them he's humping other dogs, pi$$ing on everything (he had already marked some poor couple's bag who were jogging near us which btw was laughed at by the owner because there was an iphone in the bag) and causing all the male dogs in the group to snap and growl to tell him to back off because he's not neutered they launched into a speach on how neutering is only for dogs who are agressive and starting quoting sources to back this up (randomers I never heard of) I replied that the most important thing was being able to keep your dog under control...which hit a never so me and my lil buddy went for a swim - well he did - I threw stones lol:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,023 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Any suggestions guys? How do you tell another dog to get lost of the owner is in cuckoo land and won't discipline them? I'm at odds now about going to the park at all this evening as I don't want to be pee'd on again!

PS sorry about the rant. My own dog was trained at 12 weeks so I'm not used to being pee'd on!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

Maybe carry a big stick? Or a spray bottle or one of those canister that emits a loud screech? Might be only needed once or twice and the dog will get the message.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 6,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cherry Blossom

Dog Warden :D

andreac wrote: »
    Maybe carry a big stick?

LOL - my guy would be going crazy for me to throw it for him lol!! :D Maybe I'll shape my guy when he barks/growls (he growls if his his ball goes under the couch :rolleyes:) and tell him to do it when the other guy is near. I'd be afriad the cannister thing would scare the life out of all the other dogs - mine included!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Try a whistle. It stops most dogs in their tracks. Loud blast as appropriate.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Instead of snapping at the dog/owner just take the owner aside from everyone else and calmly talk to him. Start off with..."Look I'm not trying to be funny but this situation is really beginning to annoy me and I'm wondering if we could talk it out and find a solution"......

Then continue the discussion as calmly as possible!

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    Instead of snapping at the dog/owner just take the owner aside from everyone else and calmly talk to him. Start off with..."Look I'm not trying to be funny but this situation is really beginning to annoy me and I'm wondering if we could talk it out and find a solution"......

Then continue the discussion as calmly as possible!

No I was really calm - honest!! Snapped wasn't the best word to use I meant that instead of biting my tongue I opened my mouth and contradicted them and gave my opinion for a change instead of being lectured by this tool on what they read or what Ceasar Milan says etc etc

Anyhoos I didn't see them today or any of the usual crowd because I didn't get out of work in time and tbh I had a lovely walk - just me and my dog, throwing sticks for him, chasing him, him chasing me etc so I think in future if they're there I'll just carry on with my guy and take him for a swim or practice our training etc and chillax!

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭Eibhin

That is SO annoying, especially as he is not neutered.
    I would just go somewhere else or go at a different time.

I was fuming yesterday when I saw in the distance a doberman walking around the park, off the lead and not muzzled. His owners sauntering along in front or behind him, and loads of little kids cycling their bikes along. Fair enough he might be a lovely mannered dog, and probably is, but nevertheless it's totally against the law and gets other dog owners and walkers a bad name.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Shanao

Eibhin wrote: »
    That is SO annoying, especially as he is not neutered.
    I would just go somewhere else or go at a different time.

I was fuming yesterday when I saw in the distance a doberman walking around the park, off the lead and not muzzled. His owners sauntering along in front or behind him, and loads of little kids cycling their bikes along. Fair enough he might be a lovely mannered dog, and probably is, but nevertheless it's totally against the law and gets other dog owners and walkers a bad name.

Tbh that sounds like a bit of breed prejudice to me. If the dog was well-mannered and under the owner's control then what was the problem? Out walking my guys yesterday I passed a jack russell that was on lead, and yet went completely psycho and started snarling and barking its head off at my Rb dogs, who were on leads at my side.And the owner could barely hold onto the little ankle biter's lead. I have a problem with those kind of dogs, even more so when they're off lead. A toy poodle ran around snarling and snapping at every dog it saw yesterday while its owner walked on (though I had to laugh when the poodle came up to my three, skidded to a stop and ran off, even though they simply stood there and did absolutely nothing). Its the aggressive dogs that should be on leash AND under control. And I've never met an aggressive dobie to this day.
    Just cos its a restricted breed doesn't mean that dobie was going to savage a child or anything, I've met more people bitten by collies and labs than RBs

@tk, at this point, you're probably just best off going your own way for a while. If he's annoying your dog that much, he must be annoying other dogs and hopefully other people will had the cop on to complain, or walk away from him as well until he's on his own with his dog who pisses on everything.

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭Eibhin

Not breed prejudice at all...I have 4 dogs myself, one of whom is on the restricted list (GSD). I would never walk them off the lead in a public park, well mannered or not.

I am in my forties and spent 35 years of my life terrified of dogs...and I mean terrified. I would cross the street if I saw a dog coming. I used to sit in school and worry about how I was going to walk up my road to get home without meeting a dog. And this went on for YEARS. As a result, when I see a dog off a lead, whether he is on the RB list or not, I empathise with people who may have that fear. I know this probably sounds ridiculous but it's true.

Anyway that's slightly off topic so sorry.

@TK123 - your thread should read "Gombeen owner = gombeen dog!"

:D The off topic RB chat has me in stitches lol thinking of the last time I saw an RB in our park - he was a puppy off the lead and bounded over to us to say hello to my guy which was fine as he was obviously friendly etc...Anyhoos what made me laugh was the owner frantically calling him back so as not to bother us - the dogs name was Arthur Daly! :D:D Poor thing had been found tied to a lamp post on the motorway and he'd rescued him. LOL at the name thou :D "Arthur Daly, come here.. ARTHUR DALY!!!" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

tk123 wrote: »
    No I was really calm - honest!! Snapped wasn't the best word to use I meant that instead of biting my tongue I opened my mouth and contradicted them and gave my opinion for a change instead of being lectured by this tool on what they read or what Ceasar Milan says etc etc

Anyhoos I didn't see them today or any of the usual crowd because I didn't get out of work in time and tbh I had a lovely walk - just me and my dog, throwing sticks for him, chasing him, him chasing me etc so I think in future if they're there I'll just carry on with my guy and take him for a swim or practice our training etc and chillax!

Ahhhh right! :D
    There's no talking to some folks though :-/

You know you could always end up finding another one or two people to go walking with? How did you find these guys was it just out walking about or on a forum of some kind?

Maybe try walking at a different time like an hour on either side of the normal time and ye never know what nice folks ye might meet and make walking friends with :)

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭Jackob

To the OP, By any chance was this in the dog park in Marley? Because the exact same thing happened to my dog up there. The result of this is that we can no longer go up there because my little dog has now turned snappy because this HUGE :eek:dog kept trying to hump him, My dog wouldnt even have reached his knee. When I tried to talk to the owner about restraining his monster, I was more or less told to cop on, that dogs have to learn to "socialise". This wasnt socialising, it was downright playground bullying. The other people there seemed to take his side so I left, but I watched from outside the park as this huge breed of a dog turned his attention to another little dog, whose owner had to take him out too. The only solution was for me to find somewhere else to walk my small guy but Im afraid the damage has been done, he's terrified of big dogs now and snaps at them if they approach him. He wasnt like this at all before that damm park.:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭tesslab

Been having the same prob with a pis*er in our park. He's now starting to pee on my dog and others. He decided to take a nice big s**t on one of the dogs the other day. :eek:
    So with the back up of the other dog owner I calmly walked away and said I'd appreciate if she didn't follow us with her dog as I'm sick of cleaning p*ss off my dog and clothes. Sometimes ya just have to be straight with people.
    Saw her walking her dog ON a lead yesterday! Result!
    At the end of the day if you can't control a dog don't let it off leash. :p

Jackob wrote: »
    To the OP, By any chance was this in the dog park in Marley?

Nope Griffith Park in Glasnevin. I'm going to play it by ear next time we meet them but tbh their dog just pi$$es everyone off because it's owner is useless and we have plently of other things to do in the park so I'll probably just take my guy on. I honestly think it's only a matter of time before a fight breaks out and I'd rather not be around when it happens.