Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can you tell what it is yet?

• 12-02-2011 5:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭

Another Japper dragged home today, not well in the head...:D
    [URL="javascript:void(0);"]beb87dde.jpg?t=1297532251[/URL]

[URL="javascript:void(0);"]30fe08e0.jpg?t=1297532251[/URL]

[URL="javascript:void(0);"]a00974fe.jpg?t=1297532251[/URL]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Never seen one of those before. Looks good though :)

Moar info and moar pics!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Onkle wrote: »
    Never seen one of those before. Looks good though :)

Moar info and moar pics!

Its a 1975 Mazda 929, u won't see another I'd say, that's the mad in the head part, where will parts be got? Couldnt resist the ****er all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭junkyarddog

I love it:D
    Was this for sale recently on dumb deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Another Japper dragged home today, not well in the head...:D
    This is an RX-4 (I think anyway :)). A rare animal, especially in 4-door form.

Good Luck with it!

Seweryn wrote: »
    This is an RX-4 (I think anyway :)). A rare animal, especially in 4-door form.

Good Luck with it!

Same shell as the RX4 yes, but with a 1.8 OHC engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭ep71

ooh i know what it is, absolutely lovely!! nice trailer too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭fivestar

best of luck trickin her out...

fivestar wrote: »
    best of luck trickin her out...

It won't be anytime soon before it's done,the pics make it look better than it is, and depends on parts availability. Anyone know what else ran the 1.8 engine that's in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭manta mad

nice find :cool:

well bought sir ,,best of luck with it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Kevin_Herron

I noticed this on Donedeal, they wouldnt be my thing but I thought if you wanted one where would you find another!!

Groovy set of white walls on it aswell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭salysol

As i worked on the Mazda RX2 / RX3 / RX4 / and 616 in the early 70s.
    i would hazard a guess its a 616 .
    its so long ago and they all looked similar apart from the RX2 / RX3 That had 4 and 6 tail lights

salysol wrote: »
    As i worked on the Mazda RX2 / RX3 / RX4 / and 616 in the early 70s.
    i would hazard a guess its a 616 .
    its so long ago and they all looked similar apart from the RX2 / RX3 That had 4 and 6 tail lights
    afraid i didn't see your post naming it as a 929,cant say i've seen 1 before,but i would imagine the B1800 ENGINE would be the same ?

What else ran the B1800?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

Is that an original irish regd car...never saw one of them before....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

Lovely car very unusual best of luck with it.

G Luxel wrote: »
    Is that an original irish regd car...never saw one of them before....

Not originally, but it has been cleared, to the confusion of the VRT Lads.. :D These were never sold here new afaik, though i don't know what was the first Toyo Kogyo vehicle sold here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭rugbyman

know very little about Jap stuff
    but I once had a Mazda pick up called a B1800, 1987 or so.

Sorry, as I write I realise this info is no use to you ,it was a diesel, same B1800 name though,
    I know I bought it in 91 for small money,another of my money making schemes that failed, but it turned out to have a cracked head, though drove Ok.
    My wife refused to be collected in it.

Regards Rugbyman

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭davoxx

saw that too .. was very very tempted .. but it was other side of country :(

does it run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭JoeySully

I went to see it ;) just bore you but decided not to go for it - bit too much work for me. But for the money its a grand car. The doors close perfectly with that low mileage car "click"

Good luck with it ;)

588eeac3-540d-42a6-8684-8f6235c1631f.jpg

What else ran the B1800?
    not sure to be honest,but i think the early landcruisers either had the 1800 or 2200,they also made an e1800 one was a 20 valve,but yours is probably 8 valve.
    you might be lucky and be able to put a slightly newer motor in it.

here's a link for mazda engines,might be some help.
    http://www.worldlingo.com/ma/enwiki/en/List_of_Mazda_engines

davoxx wrote: »
    does it run?

Yes, but not willingly, ignition system seems messy. If we paid what he was asking for it we wouldn't have bought it either. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭2.8trooper

should be able to get parts here in nz lots of old mazdas around ones i have never heard of either at first i thought it was an early galant very simillar shape,if you need anything specific let me know im getting to now a few heads in the classic scene here,obviously would be an issue with postage /transport but i have sent starlet wings back to ireland for 50 euro etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

I probaby have a headset for one of those engines. Come to think of it, I probably have 5 :D

Never seen one of them before, but them interiors remind me of being small :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭603304529

These yokes are/were fairly common in Oz, back in the day.

You'd prob get parts from there fairly reasonable. The expensive bit would be the shipping...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Loving the trailer brake light setup! :p

Well wear.

Dades wrote: »
    Loving the trailer brake light setup! :p

Lights on the trailer were bust but our lightboard was too short! Good thing the ariel was on the roof. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭2.8trooper

went to the local car show in nelson last week and this was there you might appreciate it it was certainly the best restoration i have seen in years or it was never out of the showroom.pic below

nelsoncarshow049.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭gfwd

Great looking car. Good luck with it.

Worth posting on http://oldjapanesecar.proboards.com/index.cgi? to see what's out there parts wise. You may well be lucky.