Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Map out the future for Ireland? In your own vision.

• 12-02-2011 12:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭

Continue as we are?

Houses to crash further?

The state to default?

The FG-Lab government to collapse within a year?

Everything turn out grand? :pac:

Social problems?

Anything, no one person will be right/wrong, its solely your vision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Ronin247

House prices continue to fall,Fine Gael / Labour government cant stop the losses of banks and the mass exodus of working age people.2013 we default on the IMF bailout because there are too few working and paying taxes.New schedule of payments agreed,public sector spending slashed,wages slashed,taxes raised and the economy stabilises,first signs of recovery start around 2014.

2015 economy moving in right direction people vote in Fianna fail government because FG/Labour taxed us too much and FF promised 200,000 more civil servants.

Oh forgot to mention Jedward win Eurovision and Sarkosy claims we shouldnt be allowed host it in 2012 because they bailed our banks out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Mandatory conga lines outside dole offices, the power of positivity folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

My Vision is this

a benevolent dictatorship .... take the gob****es out of politics , replace ministers with people ACTUALLY qualified to do the job ( and on a reasonable wage and pension ) abolish the dail and senate , replace the top heavy civil service (over paid lackeys from ALL the polictal partys) with a military style command where the better people climb the ranks because of skill not who they know or what party they support .

with this type of command in place you will at last have someone who is actually answerable to any shortcomings/over spend in that dept.
    (not like the present set up where ministers can make scooby-doo noises when asked who is in charge ).

abolish the union movement totally , replace with the best labor laws in the world , make it so fair for both employer and employee that unions will be pointless (and this can be done :D just look at the Nordic countrys, least amount of strike days in the world , because of the great working conditions ) the unions ARE part of the problem in this country , they were a great idea and help 100 years ago but now just hinder. bye bye unions!!

still agree to ALL civil rights , international treaty's , trade agreements , boarder controls - basically just remove the people i have said above but leave the rest , no more bull**** from them , now sounds crazy but is it really any worse than the crap we have at the moment ? if this system could guarantee better services - more jobs - and less corruption , why would ya not go for it because to be honest I DONT GIVE A FLYING **** WHO IS RUNNING THE COUNTRY - ONCE ITS RUN WELL AND FOR THE PEOPLE .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭pajor

Empty and dark.

The last person out DID turn off the lights...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

I'm guessing that if FG doesn't get the overall majority, they will be hamstrung in reforming expenditure by Labour. So they won't be able to keep the costs down, and I don't hold out much hope for a renegotiation from them, since their leader won't even sit down to a televised debate. How rotten are the alternatives that we're left with a shrinking violet as a national leader?

Anyway that means default somewhere up the road, and emergency legislation to reform public expenditure, which leads us to civil unrest, strikes, and mayhem from the public sector unions. You can top that off with a rising cost of living and falling wages.

House prices are going to keep going down to maybe half their current levels, there's not a thing that can stop that now.

Some good news though, there's no shortage of foreign multinationals investing in Ireland, so hopefully unemployment will fall somewhat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Same as it ever was!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭SamSamSammy

I agree, can see major problems with the FG-Lab government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

A massive increase in horse prices. :)

I think the second post is about right. The government spends too much of our income, and much of that spend is on unnecessary organisations and excessive pay rates.
    Politicians who talk about job creation should be outed for talking rubbish. If they improve the business climate by reducing costs and taxes then businesses will flourish. A politician does not create jobs. They might invent unnecessary jobs to give to buddies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Retail Hell

Continue as we are? untilwe default, cos no-one has a way out of the mess

Houses to crash further? yes, reposessions of houses already in default flood the rental & for sale market and being put into recievership by the banks, both rents and prices crash again, government becomes country's biggest landlord

The state to default? Eventually!!

The FG-Lab government to collapse within a year? no but enda to be replaced after 8 months of ineffective leadership, government may then last 2-3years

Everything turn out grand? no, your screwed for the rest of your natural life

Social problems? Crack Cocaine becomes the choice of the disillusioned youth, crimes spirals out of control, Lack of gardai becomes the presses new chew toy to beat the government with.

Anything, no one person will be right/wrong, its solely your vision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭mudokon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Step 1: Legalise weed.

Step 2: Outlaw steps.

Step 3: Relax.

Anyone who has been on the dole for 6 months+ should be sent out to do maintenance; clean graffiti, fix potholes, pick up litter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Anyone who has been on the dole for 6 months+ should be sent out to do maintenance; clean graffiti, fix potholes, pick up litter.

I guess we have to make sure all those unemployed architects, engineers, computer scientists, teachers, tradesmen etc aren't scamming the social welfare. The cheek of them being unemployed when there's graffiti to be cleaned.

Glad you agree :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

1. poulation to cop on before polling day
    2. Labour to form coalition with others (independents)
    3. FF/FG bailoiut fraud to be oposed
    4. Bonds are sorted out and each bond negotiated on it's merrits
    5. Nice people of Anglo stand trial and implicate former FF mambers
    6. confidence is restored in the economy
    7. employment begins to rise as investors now see Ireland as a safer bet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭awesom_o

Legalize weed, tax it, use money towards beneficial programs.

Oh and do anything possible to avoid bringing in college fees. If the government truly wants to invest in the country, they need to invest in education. Trust me, they'll find out why when all the graduates from here emigrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

The unemployment rate will peak in 2014, then throughout the remainder of the decade the level will gradually fall to 8%.

The banking crisis: We'll have to wait until Portugal and Spain fall under before we see the EU solution. This will happen in 2011.
    If the EU don't propose a valid solution we'll default a month after one or more other European countries do so.

House prices will continue to fall with the bottom being around 2017. The average price in Dublin will fall to 130k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Sea Sharp wrote: »
    T
    House prices will continue to fall with the bottom being around 2017.

Why 2017?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Sea Sharp wrote: »
    The unemployment rate will peak in 2014, then throughout the remainder of the decade the level will gradually fall to 8%.

The banking crisis: We'll have to wait until Portugal and Spain fall under before we see the EU solution. This will happen in 2011.
    If the EU don't propose a valid solution we'll default a month after one or more other European countries do so.

House prices will continue to fall with the bottom being around 2017. The average price in Dublin will fall to 130k.

I think greece is already defaulting.

how are things in portugal, spain and italy i wonder. Any chance we could go on our holiers soon to these countries and help them fcuk up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Faith+1 wrote: »
    Why 2017?:confused:

The economic conditions that would make the demand of property in Ireland exceed supply won't be happening in the next 5 years. There's too many budget cuts ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Ireland will be as black as the famine, thats for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

The best and brightest will continue to leave and only people with the same IQ as Enda Kenny will remain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Some sort of hideous configuration of coalition will get in. Their policies and ideology will be so diametrically opposed that the Government will self-combust.

No-one will notice, in fact things start to subtly improve. Medicoracy once again seems attainable.

Everyone is momentarily happy, then dies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭spagboll

The decisions that need to be made won’t be made

Lab/FG to collapse after 2nd or 3rd budget, not the 1st one as they'll be on a honeymoon period

replaced by FG/FF

Reintroduction of full 3rd level fees
    Welfare massively cut
    ECB lending more money to meet bailout repayments, which doesn't make sense but will be needed to keep single currency alive
    constant pressure on corporation tax
    likely a botched job of the HSE
    rates stay the same
    income tax not reduced
    USC increased
    All departments suffer

Lab collapse dail shortly before its natural course with support of disaffected FG TDs

Next election FG take the hit unfairly for all that's bad, Kenny leaves politics

Rainbow coalition of SF/Lab and a new medium sized centrist party

Bowing to public demand Ireland defaults, a portion of the bonds are back by the ECB after an emergency meeting, European bond holders effectively not burnt, corporate tax hiked to pay for butter, expected flight of multinationals not as bad as expected as corporate tax rate is over estimated in importance

quantative easing carried out by the ECB in about 2015/2016

much lower quality of life in Ireland but socialised health care and free fees on the agenda

Ireland because a Belgium, i.e. a no body but quality of life is reasonable

Easy credit for J1 summers, new Mercks etc a thing of the past, hard to get work but people get by, moderate immigration

National sovereignty is a thing of the past for all EU countries