Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Frontline Services - surely there's a better name for them?

• 10-02-2011 11:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭

That phrase annoys me. You are a doctor, a nurse, or a guard.

Not fighting a in world war. Frontline, me arse.

Can anyone think of a more apt description for these services?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Nuclear Services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Can anyone think of a more apt description for these services?

The Average Joes??

Theyre hardly 'frontline' - the only ones in real danger are the nurses who work A&E on a saturday night...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭shofukan

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Theyre hardly 'frontline' - the only ones in real danger are the nurses who work A&E on a saturday night...
    Gardaí, Bomb Squad, sure a ticket inspector working for Iarnród Éireann or Dublin Bus gould get attacked at any time by some scumbag or junkie just for doing their job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Better paid than the penpushers , but vital and unsackable because we are making instant life-saving decisions services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Babyblessed

mmmmm try and deal with upset clients/relatives/visitors in any environment in a hospital.

Or supporting a family who have just been told their baby will be still-born, or a woman who's labour has now become complicated and she is now distraught.

Or a psych nurse dealing with people with addiction issues or severe psychiatric disorders.

Or a nurse working with people with intellectual disabilities who has to deal with getting hit and punched by a young person with adhd or behavioural issues...

Theres loads more..........

What about the general nurses looking after those poor people who were injured in the crash today?? Some in ICU and some in the wards.... Those nurse will also supply in bucket loads, emotional and psychological support to those poor people, their families and friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

kincsem wrote: »
    Better paid than the penpushers , but vital and unsackable because we are making instant life-saving decisions services.

Vital Services

/thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Nursing used to be a vocation and the nurses trained on the wards.
    Now it's a degree course and graduate salaries are expected.

Was it realy worse in the old days? And when did nurses become "saints". Maybe not on boards but you'll read elsewhere they are so hard working and under appreciated.

But there are nurses from the Philippines who'll do their job just as well and are excellent at it.
    And the Irish state doesn't need to pay to train them, I've read €90,000 to train a nurse over on another Irish website

For me, respect due to the Army bomb disposal unit, brave staff. Possibly bravest in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Anagram:

Sic Serve Rent of Nil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

mmmmm try and deal with upset clients/relatives/visitors in any environment in a hospital.

Or supporting a family who have just been told their baby will be still-born, or a woman who's labour has now become complicated and she is now distraught.

Or a psych nurse dealing with people with addiction issues or severe psychiatric disorders.

Or a nurse working with people with intellectual disabilities who has to deal with getting hit and punched by a young person with adhd or behavioural issues...

Theres loads more..........

What about the general nurses looking after those poor people who were injured in the crash today?? Some in ICU and some in the wards.... Those nurse will also supply in bucket loads, emotional and psychological support to those poor people, their families and friends.

Try being the customer support on UPC when UPC do their usual bang up installation service.

Snakeblood wrote: »
    Try being the customer support on UPC when UPC do their usual bang up installation service.

You can hardly compare the 2.... still born baby = upc feck up... dont think so somehow.

Try to run a business without all parts. All parts are vital. If they were not they would not be there.

Of course when the organisation is not run with a profit or return on capital target then maintaining the balance between different parts of the organisation is unimportant as the taxpayer (usually) is paying the bill, and they are not closely supervising their cash.

You can hardly compare the 2.... still born baby = upc feck up... dont think so somehow.
    This is the emotional blackmail argument used by "frontline" services.

The list of emotional scenarios you listed above are part of the job in the health services.

This is the emotional blackmail argument used by "frontline" services.

The list of emotional scenarios you listed above are part of the job in the health services.

Not ''emotional blackmail'' its a statement of fact. Yes its part of the job, what we signed up for etc etc but its not any less frontline or probably more accurately as a previous poster stated 'vital'.

I was that previous poster. The post was an ironic statement of the typical self back-slapping that "frontline" services do. They do a job. There is nothing heroic about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Not ''emotional blackmail'' its a statement of fact. Yes its part of the job, what we signed up for etc etc but its not any less frontline or probably more accurately as a previous poster stated 'vital'.

A lot of services are vital that aren't carried out by guards, nurses or doctors.

But you don't see farmers, water engineers, ESB workers, etc calling themselves by some makey-up name that tries to elevate their own sense of importance.

I was that previous poster. The post was an ironic statement of the typical self back-slapping that "frontline" services do. They do a job. There is nothing heroic about it.

you posting under 2 profiles then? Jeez you should be a politician!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Leave it to the doctors and junior doctors.

A nurses job has expanded over the years, used to be a vocation, now it's a degree course. So they expect graduate salaries.
    Maybe roll back a step and let the nurses do what the care assistants now do.

A nurse isn't there for complicated or indeed simple issues, that's a doctor's job

you posting under 2 profiles then? Jeez you should be a politician!:D

Careful reading of the thread will see that I was the first to use the word "vital" in post #5. Post #8 also mentioned "vital" when he/she quoted my post #5.

I hope I am not relying on you for "vital" services. You can catch most errors by checking and re-checking your work.