Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mixed seed

• 09-02-2011 12:13pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭

Got a 25kg bag of mixed seed from Space in Prosperous for Eur 19.99. Pretty good value imo.

I ran out of the sunflower seed hearts. At first I got the eimpression that the birds weren't impressed with their 'downgrade' but they're all fine with it now. Not much mess and the only thing they won't touch are what appear to be peas - could be chick peas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I feel there is a lot of nonsense about the type of seeds fed to garden birds. A decent mix will do quite well. Sunflower seed, nyger etc are stylish but unnecessary. I know lots of people will say they never had Goldfinches until they put put nyger or that sunflower hearts attract Siskins but you will get these birds without specialist seeds if the birds are in the locality. In the wild they will take what they can find.
    As long as the mix has a variety of seed types (big grains/fine grains and not too much wheat) it works perfectly well. I don't bother with ones that have hard pea-like seeds as they are suited only to pigeons or large birds. I also don't take mixes with those coloured flakes in them as they don't strike me as natural.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭E39MSport

There's a grain of truth to that ;)

I've noticed however that the bulk of the greenfinches are not returning. There are more sparrows about now and the tits are spending a lot more time on the ground picking through the litter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

Bird seed on the ground leads to rats. It's as true and inescapable as night follows day in Europe.

When I had access to a good variety of single seeds, I used to simply buy what ever was favoured by 'my' birds and offer it in dedicated feeders, which I made myself. I liked big Hopper types so I wasn't for ever filling them.

So, ye see; I had hoppers of separate grains and those birds which liked each type would go to that hopper and eat as much as they wanted.

Eg. House Sparrows like Hemp seed. They also like Millet. Thus mine could have as much hemp as they fancied. Then pop over to the millet hopper and eat that.

What No bird was ever doing was sorting through a mix and spitting out that which wasn't exactly what it fancied.

Now? I have virtually zero choice, in town. So I just offer peanuts. To be honest? I really can't imagine what species I'm missing here.

That's to say; I can only imagine myself drawing in Collared Doves and big sh!t like that, if I offered 'Bird Seed', as available in town. I get every other species I can reasonably expect here though. On just peanuts.

Srameen; I believe the 'cornflake' looking stuff is actually just that. 'Flaked' Maize. Looks like it could choke a goat, doesn't it? Rat bait. And whole wheat is flying rat bait (Collared Dove).

Wish I could get some hemp seed here. Fantastic energy food and would give them a break from peanuts.

Ditch wrote: »
    Bird seed on the ground leads to rats. It's as true and inescapable as night follows day in Europe.

When I had access to a good variety of single seeds, I used to simply buy what ever was favoured by 'my' birds and offer it in dedicated feeders, which I made myself. I liked big Hopper types so I wasn't for ever filling them.

So, ye see; I had hoppers of separate grains and those birds which liked each type would go to that hopper and eat as much as they wanted.

Eg. House Sparrows like Hemp seed. They also like Millet. Thus mine could have as much hemp as they fancied. Then pop over to the millet hopper and eat that.

What No bird was ever doing was sorting through a mix and spitting out that which wasn't exactly what it fancied.

Now? I have virtually zero choice, in town. So I just offer peanuts. To be honest? I really can't imagine what species I'm missing here.

That's to say; I can only imagine myself drawing in Collared Doves and big sh!t like that, if I offered 'Bird Seed', as available in town. I get every other species I can reasonably expect here though. On just peanuts.

Srameen; I believe the 'cornflake' looking stuff is actually just that. 'Flaked' Maize. Looks like it could choke a goat, doesn't it? Rat bait. And whole wheat is flying rat bait (Collared Dove).

Wish I could get some hemp seed here. Fantastic energy food and would give them a break from peanuts.

Some are definitely doing that at my feeders. I can clearly see them doing it. Pick one out, discard it, pick one out discard it, pick one out and feck off with it or munch it on site. The pheasants are loving it.

Blackbirds aren't so interested either since I put the new stuff out. I had one that was able to perch on the feeder and help himself. Robin's aren't too fussed either come to think about it.

Those sunflower hearts are serisouly expensive.

The rats are the main reason why I went with the hearts but it was too late - they had invaded. I tried every way to get rid of the clever little blighters but had to revert to poison in the end. Gone now.

... and don't worry, it's all well concealed in a c. 6" pipe with the ends partially blocked. Sadly though, any mice etc happening along will have suffered the same fate. My main wildlife concern was the Pine Marten and stoats that I have seen from time to time.

E39MSport wrote: »

The rats are the main reason why I went with the hearts but it was too late - they had invaded. I tried every way to get rid of the clever little blighters but had to revert to poison in the end. Gone now.

... and don't worry, it's all well concealed in a c. 6" pipe with the ends partially blocked. Sadly though, any mice etc happening along will have suffered the same fate. My main wildlife concern was the Pine Marten and stoats that I have seen from time to time.

Ding!!! I've got to go and feed my Dogs and horses presently. But, when I've settled back into 'rest of the night' mode, I'll bring ye a 'secret'.

See; Pipes or purpose made boxes, they still need a 2" access hole. And, believe me, sparrows will get inside them too. I've caught wrens in mouse traps set inside custom built boxes that would have daunted Indiana Jones :(

However, I appear to be one of the very few rat catchers alive who know about an amazing invention from a life time ago. The " P3 ". I'll bring this forum the blue print. Lose rats. Save birds :)

Stoats are carnivores and wouldn't be interested in commercial rat baits. Pineys might have a nibble. Somehow I doubt it though. Danger to them is their catching rodents loaded with bait. This is why we must always search for these 'missing' rats when we bait.

Can't beat a good Rat Sniffer Dog ;)

Phew - the hole I cut out in the ends are a sniff over 2" :)

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Rainbowsend

"DITCH" our local pet store does bags of hemp seed, and as far as I know do mail order. www.petbliss.com

Might be worth checking out.

:) Cheers for that, Rainbows End.

Makes me think; It might be worth checking out bulk supply 'Seed Merchants', full stop? If a Retailer can get, eg. Hemp? I'll be looking for the Wholesaler who provides them the 20Kg sacks they have some kiddie on " Work Experience " ladle into plastic bags.

See what I'm saying ....? ;)

E39MSport wrote: »
    Phew - the hole I cut out in the ends (of my 'Rat Bait Securing Containers') are a sniff over 2" :)

House Sparrows will be in there, no problemmo, Sport. That leads to sparrows carrying 'rat bait'. Sparrowhawk eats those sparrows? Where are we heading, mate?

This is what I'm trying to hammer home here: We need to keep birds away from our baits. Then we need to keep bait laden rats away from the birds who will attack or scavenge on them.

Anyway; I have a Stewards Enquiry in with the Mod's, as I type. Let them find that and answer. We'll see.

I know a way of keeping the sparrows, even ye pheasants, safe from rat bait. All things being equal, I'll have explained it within 24 hours ;)

...is flying rat bait (Collared Dove)..

A true bird lover I see! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭thyme

I mentioned before that I buy flaked maze for other fowl (Pea Cocks & Hens), and every morning I go to fed them there is the Robins, Dunnocks ,Chaffinchs, Blue tit, Great tit, Pied Wagtail, and not forgetting the Jackdaw.
    And yes it does attract rats, but there is an extra suprise waiting for them, good old fashioned rat trap, no poison.
    Apart from BOP , Owl's, Magpie's and Jackdaw's will happily feed on a rats carcass, if you have Owl's in your area you have to think of them before put poison down.

:) Cheers for that, Rainbows End.

Makes me think; It might be worth checking out bulk supply 'Seed Merchants', full stop? If a Retailer can get, eg. Hemp? I'll be looking for the Wholesaler who provides them the 20Kg sacks they have some kiddie on " Work Experience " ladle into plastic bags.

See what I'm saying ....? ;)

Thought about that - there's definitely scope to supply the good folk of boardsie land and no doubt the wider community. Was thinking of making a trip to UK or Europe to fill up a large van. Couldn't be ar5ed though ;)

Sport; Don't you dare! Ye go anywhere with a large van? Go to Germany. Schwegler factory. Fill that bugger with their better boxes and fetch them back here. I'd be blowing my pension on them till the day I died! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭googsy

I find mixed seed hit and miss.... been using pin head / jumbo flaked flahavan's porridge for many years now.... never any complaints from the birds..

Uncooked porridge oats are an excellent way to stretch out seed mixes. A hit with all birds.