Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Green Party Promise 100,000 New Jobs

• 08-02-2011 2:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭

The Greens have promised to create 100,000 new jobs claiming they are resonsible for 20,000 jobs while they were in power,link below.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/elections/greens-pledge-to-create-100000-new-jobs-2530977.html

What the Fcuk is this BS. These Jobs will be for slaves who will build the Great Turbine or maybe another failed project of their almighty leader.
    If anyone falls for these lies they deserve to pay the €2 plastic bag tax that will be implemented upon re-election.

Don't Vote Green as it is already too late to fix their mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Trog

A job building a wind turbine isn't a good enough job for you, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Only 100,000 jobs? Too little, too late. Business are still closing down and foreclosures are starting to rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

The Greens have promised to create 100,000 new jobs claiming they are resonsible for 20,000 jobs while they were in power,link below.
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/elections/greens-pledge-to-create-100000-new-jobs-2530977.html

What the Fcuk is this BS. These Jobs will be for slaves who will build the Great Turbine or maybe another failed project of their almighty leader.
    If anyone falls for these lies they deserve to pay the €2 plastic bag tax that will be implemented upon re-election.

So they created 20k when the going was good & they honestly want people to believe that they can create 5 times that amount now that things are bad. They should stick to planting trees.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

It also sets out how Ireland can be marketed as a 'Green Island' for eco-tourism.

so.... you want people to travel from all over the world to come here for a holiday...

not very "eco" is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

Ok Trog, lets make it a wind one, so we can wreak havoc on defenceless birds and put up a complete eyesore.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

If you believe that, you'll believe their 2007 manifesto
    Main points

Housing - Ensure the delivery of 10,000 social and affordable housing units a year until the housing waiting lists are cleared.

Health - Provide an additional 4000 beds to cut A&E queues. Introduce medical cards for children under 6.

Child Care - Replace the Early Childcare Supplement with a higher Refundable Parenting Tax Credit available as a cash payment or used to reduce income tax bills.

Education - Invest €1 billion in education for the first year of the next Government to front-load educational priorities. Provide 2,400 extra teachers at primary and secondary levels.

Transport - Prioritise the Dublin Metro and Luas extensions, provide Luas-type lines in Cork and Galway and introduce commuter services on existing railway lines in Limerick and a line to Shannon.

Energy/Climate Change - Seek an all-party approach to cut carbon emissions by 3% annually through renewable energy and improved building standards.

Tax - Reduce both VAT rates by 1%. Index-link tax credits and bands to protect workers from inflation and avoid taxation by stealth.

Social Welfare - Benchmark the lowest social welfare payment for a single person at 50% of average income.

Crime - Provide for a systematic increase in Garda numbers - at least 15,000 are needed. Establish an Organised Crime Agency.

Environment - Increase spending on sewage treatment infrastructure in key towns and villages under development pressure.

Political Reform - Ban corporate donations to political parties.

Carers- Abolish means-testing of the carers’ allowance.

Pension - increase the basic pension from 30% of average income to 60%.
    source

What a shame these guys didn't get into government.

oh wait... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Phew, everything is going to be alrite

Misread the post, either way my point still stands. A job is a job, there are far better reasons to hate the Greens than this.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

It's not like they are gonna get elected to test the claim, they may as well say whatever they want.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

Ok Trog, lets make it a wind one, so we can wreak havoc on defenceless birds and put up a complete eyesore.

Any bird that flies in to a wind turbine deserves what they get to be honest

fedor.2. wrote: »
    Any bird that flies in to a wind turbine deserves what they get to be honest

Wish I could thank this twice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

"The Greens also want 150 km sq of new forest planted and high-voltage electricity links to Europe to export enough energy to power up to two million homes."

Don't we get most of our electricity from burning fossil fuels? Way to go captain planet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

F*ck the birds, bring on the wind farms baby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Been distancing themselves from FF for the last few months : election's coming.

Promise 100,000 more new jobs : election's coming.

The Green Party can go **** themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Don't believe a single, solitary word the Green Party says. They are devoid of ideas, irrellevant and the party is populated with absolute morons. Voted for them once. Will never make that mistake again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Saadyst

Trog wrote: »
    Misread the post, either way my point still stands. A job is a job, there are far better reasons to hate the Greens than this.

Don't think anyone is knocking new jobs. It's knocking whether or not they can actually do it - based on the crap they're spouting in that article, and their 2007 manifesto - I doubt it.

It is all a pack of dirty lies,believe none of it and vote for an independant,unless you are in Kerry;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

This is the problem with politics and politicians, they will say just about anything to get elected and they haven't the foggiest balls notion of how their going to achieve this.

Nothing any of them say is even remotely believable as they're all saying the same crap now.

Every single one of them just harps on about jobs now, just keep repeating the word jobs and hope somehow that gets you elected.

I like to be positive about the future but narrow-minded self centred politicians really scare me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Some of the job claims are absurd, e.g. the several thousand people becoming BER assessors, even though they already have jobs as architects, engineers, auctioneers etc. No real job creation there.

Or Eamon Ryan claiming the credit for extra jobs being provided by SSE/Airtricity due to "his" policy in the energy sector. Pity the jobs were in the UK though. Way to go, Eamon. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

A job building a wind turbine isn't a good enough job for you, no?

It's great for whoever gets it, but since wind turbines are economically unviable without massive taxpayer subsidies and consumer levies it's unlikely to create net economic benefit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Heroditas wrote: »

Or Eamon Ryan claiming the credit for extra jobs being provided by SSE/Airtricity due to "his" policy in the energy sector. Pity the jobs were in the UK though. Way to go, Eamon. :rolleyes:
    Also the man who, while Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources, ensured we have one of the worst broadband services in Europe. The man is a blundering idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I think that they should concentrate on getting jobs for themselves after the election, and forget about pie in the sky.

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Also the man who, while Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources, ensured we have one of the worst broadband services in Europe. The man is a blundering idiot.

The Thanks button isn't sufficient for this.

+1000000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

The Greens = Tax.

I can't abide how everything with this lot is a tax on the working class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Kasabian wrote: »
    The Greens = Tax.

I can't abide how everything with this lot is a tax on the working class.
    Especially with the ridiculous petrol taxes and the downright idiotic motor taxes they introduced.

I hate the greens even more than i hate FF, and thats saying something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

you sure they did not mean 1000?

Lumen wrote: »
    It's great for whoever gets it, but since wind turbines are economically unviable without massive taxpayer subsidies and consumer levies it's unlikely to create net economic benefit.

I agree, but to dismiss 100,000 jobs based on the fact that they're jobs building something you don't want is sillyness. As I said, there are far better reasons to hate the Greens. (For example the fact that they have the political competence of a 9 year old playing monopoly.)

And I'll accept the argument about whether they can actually produce the jobs, but the OP objected on the grounds I just outlined, which is silly.

And for the record I think the greens get far more than their share of the blame for the state of the country. They didn't have a lot of power, the main thing they did wrong was not pulling out of government earlier. You can't blame them too much for not implementing all of their policies because they weren't the majority in government and had to convince FF to agree before they got anything through.

Having said that, I agree that they are a useless bunch of incompetent idiots, I just think we should hate them for the right reasons.

danbohan wrote: »
    you sure they did not mean 1000?

It is in the Fianna Fail Rag Sheet, The Indo. Who knows,the person writing it must be related to Dr. Goebbels though as this is some mighty fine propaganda.

I agree, but to dismiss 100,000 jobs based on the fact that they're jobs building something you don't want is sillyness. As I said, there are far better reasons to hate the Greens. (For example the fact that they have the political competence of a 9 year old playing monopoly.)

And I'll accept the argument about whether they can actually produce the jobs, but the OP objected on the grounds I just outlined, which is silly.

And for the record I think the greens get far more than their share of the blame for the state of the country. They didn't have a lot of power, the main thing they did wrong was not pulling out of government earlier. You can't blame them too much for not implementing all of their policies because they weren't the majority in government and had to convince FF to agree before they got anything through.

Having said that, I agree that they are a useless bunch of incompetent idiots, I just think we should hate them for the right reasons.

I made the point of using a Turbine as it is a pointless and costly endevior,there is no Turbine as of yet but if idiots vote for these rats there maybe one in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I made the point of using a Turbine as it is a pointless and costly endevior,there is no Turbine as of yet but if idiots vote for these rats there maybe one in the future.

Sure didn't the Sunday Turbine just close down there last week?

How are they expecting us to believe that the Windsday Turbine would fare any better?

Yes, the Turbine may be useless, but that doesn't change the fact that it creates employment. You should object to it on grounds of their energy/finance policies being wrong not their employment policies. Although the two are related.

The major difference is that using the mish mash of arguments like that means you can make anyone look incompetent, which is what politics has been about recently. Using the better way of arguing we can root out who has the best policies with respect to each issue more clearly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the only thing green about that party is the colour of their shite

Ok man you are going to have to drop your G and add two L's on the end,there will be no 100,000 jobs just as there were no new teaching posts, hospital beds and no Bertie Bowl,politicans lie,they need our votes now more than ever before,if you believe this open your wardrobe door and go off to Narnia while you are at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I agree, but to dismiss 100,000 jobs based on the fact that they're jobs building something you don't want is sillyness.

It isn't sillyness when they're paying for those jobs with my money.

I can hate the Greens for as many reasons as I like, thanks. :pac:

Lumen wrote: »
    It isn't sillyness when they're paying for those jobs with my money.

I can hate the Greens for as many reasons as I like, thanks. :pac:

Ha, fair enough, I just prefer the other reasons. I also don't like their face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Can not wait to watch them disappear from existance :D

Ironic that they're ridiculous policies they've actually managed to make themselves extinct! Lucky escape for mother earth when you think about it really :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

I know Easter is late this year, is April Fool's Day early?

It would have been jobs for 100,000 hamsters on tread-mills powering the emigrants' lightbulb up in The Park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

If they didn't spend all those billions helping their mates in Anglo they coulda built those lovely hydro-wind projects we wanted. We could soon be a huge exported of energy in Europe, with loads of jobs for the masses.

But no, they chose to squander billions on a hopeless cause, and are now trying to raise a pittance through ''carbon taxes''. Scumbags TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Darwin is disappointed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

The Greens have promised to create 100,000 new jobs

Last time they primised to keep Fianna Fail in check if we voted them in.
    Pinch of salt is what comes to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

This is what their 100,000 jobs will be - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zVhT7P0lDfI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

They're not going to exist in a few months, they can promise anything they want!

Good riddance to the bunch of crony, smug, scientifically and economically illiterate a$$holes.

Here in Galway the Green logo on their posters are so small they put FF efforts to shame!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

Coming out with idiotic grand wooly statements to the effect that 100K jobs can be just thrown out there, is an affront to every unemployed person on this island. How are they doing to provide these jobs??? UNEXPLAINED! How are they going to capitalise the start-up businesses that will create these jobs, UNEXPLAINED! How are they going to capitalise new business start-ups in an economy that hasn't got a pot to p*ss into??? Unexplained!

Loud mouthed smug sh*thead statements from the likes of Gormley about 100K imaginary jobs is just taking the absolute p*ss out of the unemployed, it's a disgrace upon the rest of us that the likes of Gormley feels sufficiently at ease in this country at the present time to make such a rediculous statement...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Wish I could thank this twice!

I thanked him on your behalf!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

In related news, FF came out today with their own jobs creation policy, which according to Minister Lenihan was a massive investment in Steorn to mass produce a rainbow making machine for every household, which will lead to an endless supply of pots of gold.

"We'll never need to work again, it will be just like the good old days," said a cheerful Mr Lenihan, "and the yoke makes bubbles too!"

Critics have admitted that this policy does have the benefit of being an improvement on the previous FF policy of hoping the ECB gets confused by the number of zeroes the country owes and forgets half of them.