Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monaghan v Galway

• 07-02-2011 7:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭

I went down to Clones yesterday willing to accept a narrow defeat considering we were blooding 7 new players and only had 5 of last years Ulster Final team. After 15 minutes a narrow defeat seemed a pipe dream as Galway ran through us and only for a smart save by Mark Keogh we could have been cast adrift. But new look team, steadied by the outstanding Dick Clerkin, really got to grips with the game from then on and emerged with a very welcome victory. Kudos to the new management who trusted these new players and took a few risks, Kieran Duffy was great at full back but plays all his club football in the half line.
    Anyway, in my opinion our best league result since beating Cork in 2009.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

This is the worst Galway team in 20 years. We went 27 minutes without scoring yesterday so that sums us up in a nutshell.

I would agree it was a vital win for Monaghan as it gives ye a great chance of survival if ye get another win at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 RightHalfBack

Monaghan look to have a couple of lively new Forwards alright, If they beat Arnagh next time they will be in a good position.

For Galway it was disappointing, but a lor of players to return incl Meehan, one or two Joyces hopefully, Conroy, Concannon, a fit Coleman, Bergin (bad an all as he is)
    Fitzgerald didnt look too good in Corner back, Would he be better suited to center back at this stage? Would Bradshaw & Coleman be a decent Midfield?

I wouldnt panic too much even if Galway got relegated. tis a championship run we need (badly)

Monaghan look to have a couple of lively new Forwards alright, If they beat Arnagh next time they will be in a good position.

For Galway it was disappointing, but a lor of players to return incl Meehan, one or two Joyces hopefully, Conroy, Concannon, a fit Coleman, Bergin (bad an all as he is)
    Fitzgerald didnt look too good in Corner back, Would he be better suited to center back at this stage? Would Bradshaw & Coleman be a decent Midfield?

I wouldnt panic too much even if Galway got relegated. tis a championship run we need (badly)

Rather him out of the panel altogether. One of the worst defenders in the country.

Bradshaw should always be a midfielder. The only problem is you have interchangeable partners who are extremely inconsistent in Coleman and Cullinane.

We need this relegation sadly as it would be the kick up the arse we need. Otherwise I see us continuing on this Laois-like fall from greatness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Rather him out of the panel altogether. One of the worst defenders in the country.

Bradshaw should always be a midfielder. The only problem is you have interchangeable partners who are extremely inconsistent in Coleman and Cullinane.

We need this relegation sadly as it would be the kick up the arse we need. Otherwise I see us continuing on this Laois-like fall from greatness.

When were Laois ever great?;)

Leinster winners Flah. And a damn good team until Beano McDonald started to carry them.

Padraig Joyce has been sparing this team from 1st round Qualifiers for the last 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

This is the worst Galway team in 20 years..

Sadly I can't really disagree with that. It's the poorest Galway team sice the early 90s.

They just seem to be going backwards the last few years, and it's disappointing that a few more of the '07 minors haven't come through. Really not too bothered about the league this year though, Galway have done fairly well in the league over the last decade but it hasn't led to anything much in the championship.

We'd be as well getting relegated as we're not one of the top 8 teams right now, and the standard in division 2 is pretty decent anyway, in fact I'm not sure Galway would even be a good division 2 team right now. Meehan and Joyce can't come back soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Sadly I can't really disagree with that. It's the poorest Galway team sice the early 90s.

They just seem to be going backwards the last few years, and it's disappointing that a few more of the '07 minors haven't come through. Really not too bothered about the league this year though, Galway have done fairly well in the league over the last decade but it hasn't led to anything much in the championship.

We'd be as well getting relegated as we're not one of the top 8 teams right now, and the standard in division 2 is pretty decent anyway, in fact I'm not sure Galway would even be a good division 2 team right now. Meehan and Joyce can't come back soon enough.

And they won't be back soon enough either. Anyway, after next Saturday night, barring a draw or injury, Conroy and Concannon should be back, and promising defender Jonathan Duane should get a call-up as well. I agree though, many on the team are now well past their sell-by date.

Off the top of my head, from that 07 Minor team, Conroy is there, Michael Martin got a few runs but his head wasn't in it, ditto Tomas Fahy, Colin Forde has suffered badly from injury but is now back and on the panel, Jonathan Ryan too (but he's too like Matt Clancy for my liking), Jo Jo Greaney got a few runs but wasn't (yet) good enough, Damien Reddington didn't progress sufficiently, Toto Griffin was there last year but harshly treated by Kernan and dropped out, not sure about the rest.

MfMan wrote: »
    And they won't be back soon enough either. Anyway, after next Saturday night, barring a draw or injury, Conroy and Concannon should be back, and promising defender Jonathan Duane should get a call-up as well. I agree though, many on the team are now well past their sell-by date.

There's no doubt a few of them are past it. Kieran Fitzgerald's best days are well behind him, and Bergin hasn't been much good for a few years now. While the likes of Barry Cullinane and Gary O'Donnell are not of county standard in my opinion.

Off the top of my head, from that 07 Minor team, Conroy is there, Michael Martin got a few runs but his head wasn't in it, ditto Tomas Fahy, Colin Forde has suffered badly from injury but is now back and on the panel, Jonathan Ryan too (but he's too like Matt Clancy for my liking), Jo Jo Greaney got a few runs but wasn't (yet) good enough, Damien Reddington didn't progress sufficiently, Toto Griffin was there last year but harshly treated by Kernan and dropped out, not sure about the rest.

Isn't Reddington studying in England? I think that's why he hasn't been available. It's a pity because he was a brilliant minor. Hopefully young Peadar O'Griofa comes through in the next couple of years aswell, he looks a great prospect. Not a big fan of Jonathan Ryan, I agree with your Matthew Clancy comparison.

And yeah Toto Griffin wasn't the only one mistreated by Kernan, I think he is (or will be) good enough. Cormac Bane was another, why Kernan wouldn't start him I don't know. Some people complain that he doesn't do enough in general play, but when you've a guy that can kick 3 or 4 points from play in any game he has to be on the team.

As for last Sunday, good result for Monaghan with a young and understrength team, but for our lads conceding 0-19 at this time of year is very very poor. That would be like conceding about 0-26 in Summer.

We had a minor last year who is better than any of the current Galway forwards with the exception of Padraig Joyce and Meehan on a good day. Peadar óg O'Gríofa was his name-o.

Peadar óg O'Gríofa was his name-o.

A serious prospect for sure. Is he minor again this year though?
    Or is that the other corner forward from last years team who is minor again this year, cant think of his name but also a prospect.

Bane is worth his place alright, I thought O'Donnell played fairly well the last few times i seen him too..

Anyone know anything about Mullahey? id have him in there instead of Alan Burke

A serious prospect for sure. Is he minor again this year though?
    Or is that the other corner forward from last years team who is minor again this year, cant think of his name but also a prospect.
    He turned 18 in the summer I think. Shane Maughan and Fiontan O'Curraoin were great too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Heard on the grapevine that there is trouble in the Galway camp. I was strongly advised to throw good money on Monaghan to win last sunday. Got them at 11/8 too.

On another note, Laois were never great

Heard on the grapevine that there is trouble in the Galway camp. I was strongly advised to throw good money on Monaghan to win last sunday. Got them at 11/8 too.

Trouble of what nature though?

It was a more recent example in fairness. Hard to remember at team sinking as low from such highs as Galway.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Trouble of what nature though?

Vague details but something to do with the players not getting on and some regular starters not wanting to be there at all. Came from a source who would be privy to such info

It was a more recent example in fairness. Hard to remember at team sinking as low from such highs as Galway.

Galway's brilliant crop just got older and the talent coming through wasnt as good. A more recent example which would be more apt than Laois (who i never really rated even at their peak) would be Armagh.

People can bat on about the ''talent not being there''.

That's true in regard to matching 1998 and 2001, but for a county the size of Galway with the tradition in it, a good bunch of Intermediates/Juniors should be able to keep us around the mid-level(which going on Championship form we're not even as high as).

It doesn't matter what the majority of these lads do for their clubs, it's pretty clear they can't transfer it to county level.
    If you can't find a player who can do it all, you find players to compliment each other, I don't buy for a second that us at our lowest shouldn't still be better then Wexford, Westmeath at their best.

How many different managers need to come in and make the same mistakes picking the same wasters?..... I could have told any of them back in 2005(after the Westmeath loss) that the majority of this squad needed scrapping, and that was after 4 years of mediocrity.

Coleman and Bradshaw wouldn't work as a midfield, both are too small, but at least Gareth has a bit of build to him.
    I'd try himself and Greg Higgins for a while.
    What on earth was he doing in the forward line last weekend, it's been clear as day for 10 years we're weakest in midfield.

Doesn't look like we're ever going to get rid of most of these lads, it's looking like they'll spend their whole careers lining out in the Maroon, we're entering a 6th year from the Westmeath loss and the squad that day was around 90% represented last year.

Galway's brilliant crop just got older and the talent coming through wasnt as good. A more recent example which would be more apt than Laois (who i never really rated even at their peak) would be Armagh.

Not really. Laois were a Provincial final team and normally a qualifier/All-Ireland QF team. Armagh were All-Ireland winners a lot more recently than Galway and they are starting to get out of their rut. Laois are still relatively down and out.

I'd try himself and Greg Higgins for a while.
    Would be good to see Higgins get a game or two in Midfield over the League alright, Not much point in playing him out of position for a couple of games and then dropping him if it doesnt go well.

Anyone agree with me that Mullahey should be a regular starter? Has he ever played a championship game? I know injuries have been a problem for him too though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

Lack of pace is a bit of a problem with him also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

He turned 18 in the summer I think. Shane Maughan and Fiontan O'Curraoin were great too.
    Peadar and Fintan are U-19 this year, neither would be able for senior IMO, maybe give Peadar a few mins but I couldn't see him doing well tbh. Shane Maughan is probably our biggest prospect, monster of a player, still minor this year (smart money is going on the Galway minors this year) and I'd expect him to make the seniors in the next 2-3 years.

Not really. Laois were a Provincial final team and normally a qualifier/All-Ireland QF team. Armagh were All-Ireland winners a lot more recently than Galway and they are starting to get out of their rut. Laois are still relatively down and out.

Laois were a provincial final team in a very poor Leinster at the time. And they still always folded against decent teams. Their great minors never really cut it at the top level. So a fall from grace is too grand a description for Laois.
    Armagh on the other hand won a few Ulsters in a row (cant remember how many off hand) and won the All-Ireland with great players like the McEntees, McGeeney, Marsden, McNulty, McConville, etc. Nowadays Armagh are excited to welcome Billy Joe Padden to their panel which shows the fall from grace as, while a dedicated solid player, Billy Joe never really did it with Mayo. Armagh nowadays would be over the moon with an Ulster whereas ten years ago it would have been the bare minimum. Now thats a fall from grace.

We're more likely to be Armagh than Laois

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Daragh91

23/09/2001 Galway 0-17 Meath 0-8
    22/09/2002 Armagh 1-12 Kerry 0-14

A lot more recently?