Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, I had Fianna Fail call to my door yesterday

• 07-02-2011 5:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭

I had a not so nice experience yesterday. I had two fianna fail canvassers call to my door. Well what I didn't say is no man's business! I was very surprised at how abrasive the man was. It got quite heated and I have to say I felt intimidated by the actions of the man. The lady who was with him raised her eyes to heaven a few times and then proceeded to fumble with her phone. My neighbour was away and when they left my house they went up to his, rang the doorbell and then proceeded to look into his letter box.

I saw this happening and went out to confront them both. I told them that they were being intrusive at which they told me to mind my own business! So I told them to fúck off out of my estate! I live in an estate in galway which has quite a a lot of dormant houses as the developer is in nama. I thought it was extremely bad of them to even show their faces in the estate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

dclane wrote: »
    I saw this happening and went out to confront them both. I told them that they were being intrusive at which they told me to mind my own business! So I told them to fúck off out of my estate! I live in an estate in galway which has quite a a lot of dormant houses as the developer is in nama. I thought it was extremely bad of them to even show their faces in the estate!

Not much point in having a democracy or having free elections if all candidates don;t have equal opportunity to press their case. I can't wait for FF to come a knocking, I've been bulding up to a verbal tongue lashing for ages now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

I had a not so nice experience yesterday. I had two fianna fail canvassers call to my door. Well what I didn't say is no man's business! I was very surprised at how abrasive the man was. It got quite heated and I have to say I felt intimidated by the actions of the man. The lady who was with him raised her eyes to heaven a few times and then proceeded to fumble with her phone. My neighbour was away and when they left my house they went up to his, rang the doorbell and then proceeded to look into his letter box.

You should have called the cops and tell them you saw some suspicious white collar types casing your neighbours house :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

If I was a FF candidate I wouldn't feel too safe out canvassing.

Been waiting for the shaggers to come for a while now... :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Well what I didn't say is no man's business! I was very surprised at how abrasive the man was. It got quite heated

Who escalated it?
    If it was you then not all canvassers will stand there and just take it. They are volunteers, everyone deserves respect

It seems you didn't hold back and got stuck in. But ah bless, felt intimidated when they spoke back
    So I told them to fúck off out of my estate!

And you wonder why they were abrasive to you?

Seems you able to give it but can't take it in return ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

And you wonder why they were abrasive to you?

Seems you able to give it but can't take it in return ;)

might as well tell them to get off your estate while it's still yours.

under their manifesto you'll be paying them 'site value tax' every year in order to be allowed hold on to it, so you'll effectively be renting your own property from the government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

so you expect to fjuck somebody out of it and nobody will give you any resistance either verbally or otherwise ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

Good on ya, we've had to listen to them for years and years so its about time they got a fraction of it back. the more abuse they get the more disheartened their volunteers will get.
    Considering the stunts fianna fail have pulled they're lucky the electorate dont employ harsher methods to deal with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Well good for you... I hope you gave them a taste of how the country is feeling right now! Mores the pity they were only canvassers and not the candidate him/herself. That would have been more worthy of your rant and anger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Eliot Rosewater

I know people dislike FF a lot, but could we at least be a little respectful when putting forth our views? Bear in mind that any general "supporters of <insert party> are <insert insult>" remarks can be considered personal abuse towards other Boards.ie members, given that every party has supporters here.

/mod.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Martin 2

That FF canvasser was extremely stupid. One of the first rules of canvassing is that you don't get argumentative or aggressive with the canvassee no matter what the provocation, and secondly you don't get stuck at one location for too long. The canvasser should have listened to what the canvassee was saying, responded politely and moved on if the canvassee was a lost cause. In this case all he succeeded in doing was annoying the canvassee who in turn came to boards.ie to complain and has probably also complained to friends and family.

Btw, I was a canvasser for one of the civil society groups on the Yes side of the second Lisbon referendum so I have some experience.

I know people dislike FF a lot, but could we at least be a little respectful when putting forth our views? Bear in mind that any general "supporters of <insert party> are <insert insult>" remarks can be considered personal abuse towards other Boards.ie members, given that every party has supporters here.

/mod.

Thats all fine and dandy if fianna fail were treating the electorate with even a little respect but they are'nt and never have. They're too busy lining their own and their friends pockets with our money and lying through their smug grins. just look at callelly, biffo the clown, bertie, lawlor, haughey, ray burke etc etc

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Would that be the same law that re instated callelly and decided he should be paid 17k for a couple of days work that he didnt do.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Martin 2 wrote: »
    That FF canvasser was extremely stupid. One of the first rules of canvassing is that you don't get argumentative or aggressive with the canvassee no matter what the provocation,

If someone curses you out of it and then tells you
    you just stand there and take it? Let yourself be a punching bag?

All they did was react and the OP comes here crying the big bad canvassers were intimidating, the poor lamb. Feelings hurt?

There's a way to engage to with canvassers and it's not like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

everyone deserves respect

Respect is earned. If you choose to associate yourself with those who have done serious damage then you can - or should - expect people's opinion of you to drop accordingly.

Would you suggest that anyone calling round representing, say, the local drug dealer or the local dodgy priest or the local moneylender would automatically "deserve respect" ?

You conveniently missed my point. You say that fianna fail canvessers shouldnt be abused, as doing so may incur the wrath of the law.
    Its interesting that you suggest that the law may be used to punish ordinary people for expressing their displeasure against a systemically corrupt politically party

Do you really think people are going to be threatened by your suggestion when most realise the law is never applied against these crooks, as was the case with callelly. instead it compensated the crook

And you are glossing over the fact that they did more than approach his neighbours, they rang the doorbell, when no one answered they looked in the letter box. perfectly legimate to tell them to f off after they have done something like that, no matter how much you try to excuse them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

Yes but if some calls to your door step its slightly different. If some one calls unsolicited to my house, I'd feel within my rights to tell them to f*** up out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

I'm going to dress up in the filthiest looking clothes when they come around my way and start begging at them for some money.

Maybe they'll get the message then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

M three wrote: »
    Its interesting that you suggest that the law may be used to punish ordinary people for expressing their displeasure against a systemically corrupt politically party

The law does protect your right to express your displeasure against a systemically corrupt politically party.

It is called voting.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

Well by your strange logic the majority of egyptian people are acting wrongly then.
    And so what if a bunch of people did want to storm the dail, you obviously think the bunch of fianna fail crooks who've been running it for so long havent debased it one bit, and left it open to storming.

But then you're out in new orleans so this affects you less than the rest of us here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

Fair play to you op. Hope they report the mood back to hq. FF still seem oblivious to the problems they have caused. Should really just disband the party in shame imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

Is permabear, donegalfella?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

Nope

Permabear ate Donegalfella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

If someone curses you out of it and then tells you

you just stand there and take it? Let yourself be a punching bag?

All they did was react and the OP comes here crying the big bad canvassers were intimidating, the poor lamb. Feelings hurt?

There's a way to engage to with canvassers and it's not like this
    i engage with labour, fine gael, sinn fein, indipendents, but not on my life will i engage in conversation with ff and greens, i have been listning to lies all these years from thise two, and i hate liards cant stand dishonesty

This post had been deleted.?

One wonders...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭swampgas

I think it is fine to say that you are angry, disgusted, etc., and express your feelings that way - but to actually shout and roar at canvassers is completely wrong. It simply turns the debate into a shouting match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

I'm actually doing a bit of canvassing for Labour. The actions of the FF canvassers, as you describe them, are quite disgraceful. Who do they think they are "putting their eyes up to heaven" when offered a differing opinion! If they want to get any vote the least they should do is show the utmost respect when knocking on someones front door and try to address an issue that a constituent raises in a respectful manner (no matter how angry he/she/they are) - after all they're on someone else's property. If the owners start to get very very argumentative or even shows signs that they may get violent, just leave. If the owner clearly doesn't want to talk to you (body language, tone of voice, etc..) just hand them a leaflet and leave, the last thing they want is a canvasser who is 'in their face' and makes them feel uncomfortable on their own doorstep (definitely not a way to win votes IMO).

I assume they were looking for literature from other political parties when they were looking through the neighbour's mailbox? I can understand how it might be tempting to do this, especially if it's lying on someone's doorstep. Some houses have a canopy with a sliding door and you have to open it to press the doorbell and sometimes there's mail, including political leaflets, right under your feet (quite unsafe actually - PEOPLE GET PROPER POSTBOXES TO KEEP YOUR MAIL SAFE). I joked with some people I was canvassing with about removing such literature to get one over on FF or FG but we never dared to go ahead with it - it's just downright intrusive, up there with thief IMO. The fact that the FF canvassers actually went ahead with it just shows you how utterly desperate they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Tragedy

I'm actually doing a bit of canvassing for Labour. The actions of the FF canvassers, as you describe them, are quite disgraceful. Who do they think they are "putting their eyes up to heaven" when offered a differing opinion! If they want to get any vote the least they should do is show the utmost respect when knocking on someones front door and try to address an issue that a constituent raises in a respectful manner (no matter how angry he/she/they are) - after all they're on someone else's property. If the owners start to get very very argumentative or even shows signs that they may get violent, just leave. If the owner clearly doesn't want to talk to you (body language, tone of voice, etc..) just hand them a leaflet and leave, the last thing they want is a canvasser who is 'in their face' and makes them feel uncomfortable on their own doorstep (definitely not a way to win votes IMO).
    A canvasser rolling their eyes at a person at a doorstep telling them to **** off and that they shouldn't be allowed on the street is disgraceful?
    You have an axe to grind, at least grind it and don't dress it up as high horse crap.
    I assume they were looking for literature from other political parties when they were looking through the neighbour's mailbox? I can understand how it might be tempting to do this, especially if it's lying on someone's doorstep. Some houses have a canopy with a sliding door and you have to open it to press the doorbell and sometimes there's mail, including political leaflets, right under your feet (quite unsafe actually - PEOPLE GET PROPER POSTBOXES TO KEEP YOUR MAIL SAFE). I joked with some people I was canvassing with about removing such literature to get one over on FF or FG but we never dared to go ahead with it - it's just downright intrusive, up there with thief IMO. The fact that the FF canvassers actually went ahead with it just shows you how utterly desperate they are.
    I bolded the two important bits.
    Just because you're sad enough to look through peoples letterboxes to see who's been out canvassing and have thought of stealing their mail - doesn't mean these canvassers had. More than likely they were seeing if anyone was home, or even just dropping their own leaflets in the letterbox.

Biased much? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭91011

I. Well what I didn't say is no man's business! I was very surprised at how abrasive the man was. It got quite heated and I have to say I felt intimidated by the actions of the man.

You seem to be a typical playground bully with your actions. Love to give the crap, but once someone challenges you, you start crying and whingeing.

Then you claim ownership of the whole estate!:D:D:D - Unless you own all the houses, it aint your estate and possibly when you're not acting the schoolboy bully, others living around you may actually have a different view to you.

But maybe shouting at a canvasser made you feel like a big man for a few minutes.

Tragedy wrote: »
    A canvasser rolling their eyes at a person at a doorstep telling them to **** off and that they shouldn't be allowed on the street is disgraceful?
    You have an axe to grind, at least grind it and don't dress it up as high horse crap.

You're twisting things.
    The OP states the following;
    I was very surprised at how abrasive the man was. It got quite heated and I have to say I felt intimidated by the actions of the man. The lady who was with him raised her eyes to heaven a few times and then proceeded to fumble with her phone.

The OP didn't say that she/he said "F*ck off" as noted above. Obviously the OP and the FF cavasser had a heated argument and clearly the OP suggests that the cavassers were intimidating and making him/her feel uncomfortable. You have to have a remain steadfast and respectful otherwise you'll lose a vote.
    Just because you're sad enough to look through peoples letterboxes to see who's been out canvassing and have thought of stealing their mail

Read back on what I said, I didn't say I looked through their letterbox (I wouldn't have the audacity to do that). I said;
    Some houses have a canopy with a sliding door and you have to open it to press the doorbell and sometimes there's mail, including political leaflets, right under your feet

I didn't say I fumbled through their mail, I said I simply noticed political leaflets lying on the doorstep. I didn't and would never inspect their mailbox. Also simply noticing a FF or FG leaflet lying on a doorstep does not suggest intent on inspecting people's mail. Also, simply joking about trying to get one over on FG or FF by removing such literature from their doorstep, doesn't actually reflect any sort of serious contemplation or intent. Again, please stop twisting what I said.

However, the OP did say;
    My neighbour was away and when they left my house they went up to his, rang the doorbell and then proceeded to look into his letter box. I saw this happening and went out to confront them both. I told them that they were being intrusive at which they told me to mind my own business!

I wouldn't be supprised if FF canvassers were actually seeing there was any other political leaflets - but yes it is only an assumption although FF are desperate and desperate times call for desperate measures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,189 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Who escalated it?
    If it was you then not all canvassers will stand there and just take it. They are volunteers, everyone deserves respect

No people earn respect. !!!
    I do not respect anybody that supports and is a member of a party that has sucked this country dry in order to further the cause of their members and supporters.

They are volunteers of the worse kind, they have volunteered to condone, defend and canvass for traitors.
    20Cent wrote: »
    Is permabear, donegalfella?

What the feck is it with all the recent name changes for the mods (not just mods on here BTW) ?

I am not allowed discuss …

You're twisting things.
    I'm the one twisting things? Who turned an assumption based on nothing into
    The fact that the FF canvassers actually went ahead with it just shows you how utterly desperate they are.
    And I'm twisting things?
    Last I knew, assumption and presumption doesn't equal fact, but you twisted your assumption into a fact.

Glass houses m8

The OP didn't say that she/he said "F*ck off" as noted above.
    OP wrote:
    Sure he said it after she'd rolled his eyes at him, but it's not a giant leap to assume he wasn't using similar language in his heated argument where "Well what I didn't say is no man's business!" is it?
    Unlike your giant leap at the start of this post.
    Obviously the OP and the FF cavasser had a heated argument and clearly the OP suggests that the cavassers were intimidating and making him/her feel uncomfortable. You have to have a remain steadfast and respectful otherwise you'll lose a vote.
    What does that have to do with your comment:
    Who do they think they are "putting their eyes up to heaven" when offered a differing opinion!
    ?
    The OP stated he got into a heated argument with the man, that "Well what I didn't say is no man's business!" and that the woman with the man rolled her eyes occasionally. That has absolutely NOTHING to do with your
    Who do they think they are "putting their eyes up to heaven" when offered a differing opinion!

Read back on what I said, I didn't say I looked through their letterbox (I wouldn't have the audacity to do that). I said;
    My mistake.

I didn't say I fumbled through their mail
    I didn't say you said you fumbled through their mail.
    Also, simply joking about trying to get one over on FG or FF by removing such literature from their doorstep, doesn't actually reflect any sort of serious contemplation or intent. Again, please stop twisting what I said.
    I said you had thought of stealing their mail(Should I call it correspondence or something as it is directly addressed to them and may not technically be mail? Either way it's their property, regardless of porch, doorstep, letterbox or hall floor). You had thought of stealing their mail.
    I joked with some people I was canvassing with about removing such literature to get one over on FF or FG but we never dared to go ahead with it
    However, the OP did say;
    Which led you to claim that it was a fact the canvassers were trying to steal the neighbours mail.

I wouldn't be supprised if FF canvassers were actually seeing there was any other political leaflets - but yes it is only an assumption although FF are desperate and desperate times call for desperate measures.
    That's fantastic, you still said it was a fact that the FF canvassers were stealing peoples correspondence.

That's a lie, that's something you made up and created based on nothing more than thoughts you've already admitted have gone through your own head canvassing for Labour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

Interestingly enough I was listening to Newstalk yesterday and a man in Wicklow is going to jail for 5 days for not paying a fine of €150. His defence was why should he have to pay if the bankers get away scot free.

I'm the one twisting things? Who turned an assumption based on nothing into

And I'm twisting things?
    Last I knew, assumption and presumption doesn't equal fact, but you twisted your assumption into a fact.

Glass houses m8

Sure he said it after she'd rolled his eyes at him, but it's not a giant leap to assume he wasn't using similar language in his heated argument where "Well what I didn't say is no man's business!" is it?
    Unlike your giant leap at the start of this post.

What does that have to do with your comment:

?
    The OP stated he got into a heated argument with the man, that "Well what I didn't say is no man's business!" and that the woman with the man rolled her eyes occasionally. That has absolutely NOTHING to do with your

My mistake.

I didn't say you said you fumbled through their mail.

I said you had thought of stealing their mail(Should I call it correspondence or something as it is directly addressed to them and may not technically be mail? Either way it's their property, regardless of porch, doorstep, letterbox or hall floor). You had thought of stealing their mail.

Which led you to claim that it was a fact the canvassers were trying to steal the neighbours mail.

That's fantastic, you still said it was a fact that the FF canvassers were stealing peoples correspondence.

That's a lie, that's something you made up and created based on nothing more than thoughts you've already admitted have gone through your own head canvassing for Labour.

There are varying degrees of "thinking about something". On the lower end there's a trivial 'joke', in which one makes a hypothetic suggestion about removing FF or FG literature for someone's doorstep and how amusing it would be to 'get one over' on another political party - but with no honest or serious intent. I clearly said I joked about it, a trivial conversation to quell boredom after a long day of canvassing. On the higher end of the scale there's seriously contemplation of dastardly plans about the systematic removal of political material from someone's doorstep but not actually going ahead with it out of dear of getting caught. You're just painting me as someone with serious intent of thief.

Also when the OP states that "Well what I didn't say is no man's business!" it doesn't immediately suggest that he/she was swearing at him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

In fairness, I did not verbally abuse or use offensive language to the canvassers when they first came to my door. I gave my opinion (whilst being interrupted several times) and went through what I felt were the pertinent points and where, I felt, the issues lay with Fianna Fail. I don't like the way people refer to me as being a bully in a playground! I was taken aback by the abrasiveness of the canvassers however. I did feel they were rich in their robust reply to my issues at my door.

There are varying degrees of "thinking about something". On the lower end there's a trivial 'joke', in which one makes a hypothetic suggestion about removing FF or FG literature for someone's doorstep and how amusing it would be to 'get one over' on another political party - but with no honest or serious intent. I clearly said I joked about it, a trivial conversation to quell boredom after a long day of canvassing. On the higher end of the scale there's seriously contemplation of dastardly plans about the systematic removal of political material from someone's doorstep but not actually going ahead with it out of dear of getting caught. You're just painting me as someone with serious intent of thief.
    So you conveniently ignore your assumption becoming a fact, because it suits your political leanings to tar the competition?

I said you thought about it. You posted that you thought about it. Write an essay about how 'While you may have in fact written that, you didn't in fact write that' so you can conveniently ignore your constant baseless assumptions to suit the fact you're quite obviously biased and incapable of posting on this forum without the bias seeping through all you want, it doesn't change the facts. You wrote what you did.
    Also when the OP states that "Well what I didn't say is no man's business!" it doesn't immediately suggest that he/she was swearing at him.
    True.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

I have no political allegiance, but you assaulted a caller to your door rather than saying no thanks goodbye. You continued this assault when they left your property.

FFS you deserved a full and frank reply. Do you expect someone to stand there and take abuse. IF you don't agree don't vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Snazzy_Chazzy

Just saw Bertie was out canvassing today on the RTE news a few minutes ago..
    He has some NECK. If he called to my house I would have to get out the camcorder lol. Dream like sequence.
    I am sure he must be getting some hostile treatment from the electorate. I dont think i would have the kahunas he does ! I would be hiding out !