Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ins & outs of starting to shoot dear

• 06-02-2011 11:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭

well lads

im thinking about going dear shootin next season what would be the run of the mill to do

im going to get a 243 rfd says cant get one untill i have my licence of the dear i need to produce it with the gun licence when picking up the rifle is this right

is it hard to get the dear licence in the first place and what should i do first

what criteria would i need to meet

what is the best time of year to apply

also i should prob get experiance in what to do after i shoot one or is hire a butcher the best thing to do

ive deen tryin to get out with some one to get some experiance and see the goings on first but im never happened for me for one reason or another

any more advice that any one deem neccesary please leave it as it would be greatly welcome ans needed

thanks again in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

well lads

im thinking about going dear shootin next season what would be the run of the mill to do

im going to get a 243 rfd says cant get one untill i have my licence of the dear i need to produce it with the gun licence when picking up the rifle is this right
    You won't get licence off Gardaí until you produce deer permit
    The dealer requires licence for rifle,but you can't get 1 without the other.

is it hard to get the dear licence in the first place and what should i do first

1. You will need land with plentiful supply of deer on it, a road sign with deer hazard is a good indication of this!2562097733_cebab1b3f4.jpg?v=0
      If you are not familiar with the area keep an eye out for signs as you drive around and ask Farmers in Deer hotspots
    2. You need WRITTEN permission and exact details of land (folio numbers etc)
    3. You hae to re-apply every year.

also i should prob get experiance in what to do after i shoot one or is hire a butcher the best thing to do
    Best thing to do is go to a butcher that kills his own sheep and volunteer to work for free ! Either that or buddy up with a stalker
    ive deen tryin to get out with some one to get some experiance and see the goings on first but im never happened for me for one reason or another
    Very few let strangers stalk with them. You will have to prove yourself to them by bringing them out on your permissions

any more advice that any one deem neccesary please leave it as it would be greatly welcome ans needed

thanks again in advance

Deer stalking is hard work.
    Easiest part is squeezing the trigger
    The Real work starts then!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Good advice from tack there, for once. And your at the right time to start. First pick out your calibre as the difference between cal. makes little difference in gun price. (be a man and go for the bigger cal's).

That's the easy part, getting the permissions is hard or go the Collite route if you can find it for cheap $$$$$. Deer licenses won't be issued until you get/have a permission.

After that you can aplly for your rifle license in the usual way

AFAIK a butcher cannot take in a deer if he does not have a game license and if found to have one he can be shut down, cross comnamination and traceablity and all that, so your hardly find a butcher to help you with the golloch or cuting up afterwards. Get yourself some good DVD's and books on the subject.

[QUOTE=clivej;70494647]Good advice from tack there again. And your at the right time to start. First pick out your calibre as the difference between cal. makes little difference in gun price. (be a man and go for the bigger cal's).

That's the easy part, getting the permissions is hard or go the Collite route if you can find it for cheap $$$$$. Deer licenses won't be issued until you get/have a permission.

After that you can aplly for your rifle license in the usual way[/QUOTE]

If you apply now for deer permit (considering season ends end of month)
    If you are really lucky you may get licence back in time to apply for .243

If you get the .243 spend the summer on the range and be confident with her come Sept.

Leases can be very costly and you need a HCAP to even be considered for one, Farmland is always the best route as sound farmers may even let you use their tractor and transport box to retrieve them

This is also handy!
    http://media.photobucket.com/image/deer%20in%20transport%20box/mollyfroud/Buckfromhorseshoe12thmay07.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

try and source an old coke/drinks fridge now for hanging a carcass. do this sooner rather than later, as these bad boys can be hard to find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭jay.b

well lads

thanks again in advance

im in the very same boat as you one shot! im looking for a 243 at the mo. but the land permit is the biggie for me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

I found getting my first deer licence the hard part, I put in with two permissions as per the form and they wrote back after a good while and some phone calls from me saying they couldn't verify this bit or that bit of land, some was commonage and then siad I hadn't enough land as I need 100 acres in an area. So off I went again and found sevral more permissions sent them in and got my licence through finally! The rifle licence was easy it took less than two weeks:D I did however spend two seasons out with some friends learning the ropes and as tack says pulling the trigger is the easy part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

thanks for all the advice guys

did i hear before that you need insurance for it also

any one want to give a lAd some experience before the session. is out a bit tight for time askin now i know but if i dont chance my arm i wont break a leg

im responsible person and im not lookin for a free shot or free meat as the e perience would be more important to me

any one want to give a lAd some experience before the session. is out a bit tight for time askin now i know but if i dont chance my arm i wont break a leg

im responsible person and im not lookin for a free shot or free meat as the e perience would be more important to me

To be honest.
    You want insurance for all shooting sports.
    €65 a year is a small amount if god forbid something went wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭FOXHUNTER1

well lads

thanks again in advance

You will get plenty of that in Ireland :D:D (sorry couldn't resist)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭FOXHUNTER1

Some people have been issued .243's and 22/250's for fox shooting but it depends on your local super I suppose.
    If you could get it for that then it would be handy enough to apply for the stalking licence before next season.
    Try talking to your super and see what he says worst case is he says no.
    This can definitely be done I know a lad that collected his .243 last week for foxing.
    Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

il bring ya if your willing to travel that is
    and ya can go through the whole process

and whatever we shoot il let ya grollach it and carry it
    and hang it and skin it

and then yal have a good understanding of what it involves lol

also heres a good dvd
    i wrote about a while back if ya want it pm me and il send ya his email to get it from him
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056139298

well worth the money as ya sonnd clueless as to what your looking to get into

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

If you go on YouTube, you'll get all you need to know. Don't bother with a butcher. When you do it yourself you'll learn more about gralloching and butchering than imaginable.

When I was young, I volunteered as a sort of caddy or gopher. Anyhow, it turned out that the auld fellas on guns were more than happy to let me have a shot.

Also, I think my stalking skills and sense of game are attributed to learning the game first, then shooting.

Shooting really is the easy part.

I think if you volunteer to walk the land and stalk with someone, they would be more than willing to oblige.

Also, watch a lot of YouTube clips, there's a lot of great information out there.

plenty of videos in the tips section here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,161 ✭✭✭crackcrack30

Keep asking questions...& respect your quarry

Try some trecking and hill walking (with weight & binos) over the summer. nice way to spend a sunday morning in some of the national parks, then imagine it is -6 on a dark winters morning, make a list of what u need ect.

I left my bolt at home one morning two weeks ago didn't realise until I needed to load up ...fnuckkkk.... but I had tought of all the odd bits like camera, disposable gloves, good socks ect ect..

daithi55 wrote: »
    il bring ya if your willing to travel that is
    and ya can go through the whole process

and whatever we shoot il let ya grollach it and carry it
    and hang it and skin it

and then yal have a good understanding of what it involves lol

also heres a good dvd
    i wrote about a while back if ya want it pm me and il send ya his email to get it from him
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056139298

well worth the money as ya sonnd clueless as to what your looking to get into

your right i would befairly clueless but willing to learn id love to lug a deer of a hill for you where abouts are you i might send you a pm if your still interested in been a teacher for a few hours

i dont mean clueless in a bad way
    but tackling a deer when its dead on the ground
    and not known where to start is mind boggling if ya dont no where to sart
    is like trying to clean up a crime scene without been caught :)

im outside birr if it suits

The first deer I shot on my own was 4 fields and 2 drains away from the car.

I ripped my trousers on barbed wire (again)
    I cut myself to bits with blackthorn
    and I was soaked to teh skin crossing smelly land drainage

Moral of the story.
    Try and get someone to help you with the drag.
    Shoot teh Smallest animal if you are on your own.
    If you are on your own you will discover how fool hardy it is to shoot 2 :eek:

Deer are much lighter with their innards out, but you will get soaked in blood if not done right.
    Get a jacket with sleeves that can roll up so you can wipe your arms off after cleaning them out.
    A wheel barrow
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/FOLDABLE-GARDEN-WASTE-LARGE-WHEELBARROW/dp/B0030CAN5C/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1297186739&sr=8-1

Can be a masterful yoke if you are on yer own.
    The Late JWshooter used to tie off a harness and drag them, but he was a much fitter man than me.

If you have a car, make sure you can wash out the blood as blood will stink and rot it.

The first deer I..................

................If you have a car, make sure you can wash out the blood as blood will stink and rot it.

Or from the tips section
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=60182886&postcount=28

from this

223001.jpg

to this - but get the slimmer Butt or it won't fit between the wheel arches. You will 2 from one butt.
    05082010155.jpg

clivej wrote: »
    Or from the tips section

to this - but get the slimmer Butt or it won't fit between the wheel arches. You will 2 from one butt.
    [MG]

I have a pick up, that I powerhose out
    attachment.php?attachmentid=147231&d=1297217686

I used to have an ordinary jeep, I used to throw the deer in teh back.

Blood had spilled on the carpet floor, I had used many carpet cleaners but blood is very hard to shift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭No6

The lad who taught me how to shoot deer was always telling me to shoot the little ones and leave the donkeys, it was grand shooting the donkeys when they were reasonably close to the road and transport but when you have to drag one miles across loads of fields and hedges and gates.... It will be the last big one you shoot!!! You also need someone to show you how to gralloch a deer its messy but has to be done and done right.

No6 wrote: »
    The lad who taught me how to shoot deer was always telling me to shoot the little ones and leave the donkeys, it was grand shooting the donkeys when they were reasonably close to the road and transport but when you have to drag one miles across loads of fields and hedges and gates.... It will be the last big one you shoot!!! You also need someone to show you how to gralloch a deer its messy but has to be done and done right.

I always leave the Donkeys too!

The main reason most turn their nose up at venison is that they were fed Donkeys

clivej wrote: »
    Or from the tips section
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=60182886&postcount=28

from this

223001.jpg

05082010155.jpg

i actually have one of them drums out the back i might give it the snip for the back of the van closer to the time

what would the weight of a deer be i know there not all the same before some gets funny but an estimate any where , from , to

all depending on the breed but after been gutted about 30 kg for a fallow doe
    but it can range on age

but ya wont be long finding out when we sort a date for our stalk together :)

Fallow buck headless and grolloched in the cooler @75lb
    Fallow doe, pricket, knobler headless and grolloched in the cooler @60lb
    and you will loose about 25lb/30lb off that weight after butching.

nice bit of weight to be luggin around so

lookin forward to the stalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

Red stag 250+ lbs :eek: Believe me you want to have your extraction route well planned before you down one of them :rolleyes:
    Image0076.jpg

This helps too though
    Image0080.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭iwsf

Shot my first big red stag this winter , my back is still sore !
    the car is still stained with blood so are all my hunting clothes.
    I also frozed to death during the approach , but then got soaked and hot when dragging it (piece by piece) accross bogs and rivers.
    but these are the days that make stalking worthwhile and so fascinating, will for sure remember this day for many years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

tfox wrote: »
    Red stag 250+ lbs :eek: Believe me you want to have your extraction route well planned before you down one of them :rolleyes:

Wonderful animal T. There is something in its mouth, was that its last meal, or picked up by accident during the drag? I imagine you need to be careful bleeding one of them bad boys. If they decided to get back up ud be in trouble.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

Mauser 308 wrote: »
    tfox wrote: »

Wonderful animal T. There is something in its mouth, was that its last meal, or picked up by accident during the drag? I imagine you need to be careful bleeding one of them bad boys. If they decided to get back up ud be in trouble.....:D

It's some ragwort I picked while waiting for them to come back with the trailer, my cousin put it in his mouth for the photo :)