Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stalking Let for Next Year

• 05-02-2011 12:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭

Hi guys, I'll be looking for a stalking let, preferably within an hour or so of home, for next year. I'm based in Blessington in West Wicklow. I know I'll have to get the HCAP done beforehand but will look into that. I won't have too much to spend on it but am open to all offers and I'll decide when I have more information what I can afford. Obviously guys may not want to give out locations or prices and such details about their lets or those they know of, so feel free to PM me. All my private ground is getting shot at night under the lamp and I've seen one deer on it so far this year, so looking for something a bit more worthwhile. If you could let me know when contacting me things like the size of the lease, what sort of area it is (woods/mountains/farmland etc.) the sort of cull numbers to anticipate, how many I'd be sharing with, the number of animals and what sort of deer to anticipate, that'd be great. Thanks in advance lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

I am in the same boat as you, I am going to look for a lease in the Slieve Blooms as all my shooting has dried up, putting to down to poaching also as I have never met anyone while out on the land and there was decent number of deer up to Christmas, since the bad weather I have seen nothing despite several trips. I am assuming they have been shot at night. Whats the average price of a let? Good luck, hope you get a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

Lots of people think this every year around this time,if you look back I even posted a thread about it last year!

After Christmas of the last stalking season I could find no deer around, yet this season they have been all over the place!! But again they have dried up and are alot harder to find, deer this time of year spend most of the night eating so stay in cover all day..

Fair enough if you want a lease and all the best with it but don't be overly worried about a decline in deer numbers...unless there is poaching going on! Then make it your business to put a stop to it if possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

patsat wrote: »
    Lots of people think this every year around this time,if you look back I even posted a thread about it last year!

After Christmas of the last stalking season I could find no deer around, yet this season they have been all over the place!! But again they have dried up and are alot harder to find, deer this time of year spend most of the night eating so stay in cover all day..

Fair enough if you want a lease and all the best with it but don't be overly worried about a decline in deer numbers...unless there is poaching going on! Then make it your business to put a stop to it if possible!

The only deer I saw was back in mid-September and he was just jumping the fence on my permission at the time, getting out. Where I am looks like Beirut some nights, so unfortunately, I think a decent let is my best hope of getting some proper stalking next year.

Ah didn't realise it was that bad! Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭seoirse1980

Just out of curiosity, did you ring the guards or the ranger at any stage to let them know about the poachers? I assume they were firing from the road and/or vehicle? Don't let they're gain be your loss!! I think it's time for a commercial poacher cull!!!!

I've never seen anyone in the act, but you'd see lamps out on the hill all over that area, and you'd hear plenty of shots at night, despite it not being too full of foxes. If I see it in action, I'll definitely be making a phone call though.

Hi guys, I'll be looking for a stalking let, preferably within an hour or so of home, for next year. I'm based in Blessington in West Wicklow. I know I'll have to get the HCAP done beforehand but will look into that. I won't have too much to spend on it but am open to all offers and I'll decide when I have more information what I can afford. Obviously guys may not want to give out locations or prices and such details about their lets or those they know of, so feel free to PM me. All my private ground is getting shot at night under the lamp and I've seen one deer on it so far this year, so looking for something a bit more worthwhile. If you could let me know when contacting me things like the size of the lease, what sort of area it is (woods/mountains/farmland etc.) the sort of cull numbers to anticipate, how many I'd be sharing with, the number of animals and what sort of deer to anticipate, that'd be great. Thanks in advance lads.
    any luck?

Not so far. I'm gathering options at the moment, waiting for offers. I expect it'll be more apparent which lets have a free space for a gun when they come to tender in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭E. Fudd

I too am in the same situation as IWM, therefor i'm on the look out for a let for the next season. I'm based in Kill, Co. Kildare. Would we get anough lads off here to form a sindicate??

E. Fudd wrote: »
    I too am in the same situation as IWM, therefor i'm on the look out for a let for the next season. I'm based in Kill, Co. Kildare. Would we get anough lads off here to form a sindicate??

Not a bad idea actually, could maybe get a decent patch between us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

How many did you shoot on your permissions last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

wether its a lease or not they will still lamp the **** out of it
    a friend has land up there for shooting and there driving it at night with jeeps

the slieve bloom is been hit hard this year like everywhere
    by both poachers at night
    and legit hunters by day that have time on there hands due to the recession

i noticed the deer been scarce to since christmas but they always do be this time of year the change there habits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭widespread

A coillte let is not the answer, I have a let on Keeper Hill in Co. Tipp. On a good few mornings i was heading in there. I met lads coming out against me walking with rifles. Stop up to talk to them and they'll nearly have a fight with you.I told one lad one morning very politely that myself and another couple of lads had the lease, and he became very aggrsssive and siad "who the f%^K are you".

I live practically beside keeper hill and the attitude is "f&*k you". I spoke to the guards and WLO about it, it didn't seem to bother them. All the WLO is worried about are snails and grass and the like. I spoke to the Gardai, and said to them that this was a safety concern. These guy's going in there with high powered rifles and nobody knows there in there. Me and lads go in and someone could get hurt, they said they'd try and keep an eye on it.

We were coming out one morn and there was 8 lads with 4 jeeps pretty much sitting there waiting for us to leave.

The problem here is that, farmers with deer on they're land want to get rid of them. So you go and get permission to shoot it. His giving permission to anyone who comes along. I know a local farmer that has 40 arce's and has giving out 10 letters that I know of to lads in the area to get rifles.

This is the kind of stuff your up against. The playing pitch is not level either. Your playing by the rules, but a lot of these lads are in these places and gone about an hour before you turn up. So deer are well lamped and gone for cover before you arrive.

Thats what your up against. I live in an area of high deer numbers and more jeep's full of lads pass my house at night then you would see on a Saturday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

I had a let in Slieve Blooms last year and it was a total waste of time, on numerous occasions I found evidence of very fresh grallochs, saw jeeps driving around it that shouldnt be there etc. Got onto Coilte as the barriers were never closed, they did nothing, in my opinion they dont care as long as the deer are getting shot !!

Rang guards they said ring the ranger, ranger said theyd look into it and to ring the guards :rolleyes:

Needless to say I didnt bother with the lease this year :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

when you think about it in general, we live in a society that rewards greatly those that lie, cheat and steal.. the honest man gets trampled or often left waiting in line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭fathersymes

Same here, I had a lease not far from Killoscully and on a few occasions met lads on the way in and out. They seem to feel they have right to enter Coillte land and some of them are ignorant of the fact that they are poaching, either way they operate with impunity because there is nobody to stop them.

Was thinking of getting one of those infra red cameras you strap to a tree which snaps anything that moves, the poachers down there always parked in the same spot, so you'd get photos of their number plates and themselves!

http://www.bushwear.co.uk/nostyles.php?ProductID=314245&ClassID=249
    widespread wrote: »
    A coillte let is not the answer, I have a let on Keeper Hill in Co. Tipp. On a good few mornings i was heading in there. I met lads coming out against me walking with rifles. Stop up to talk to them and they'll nearly have a fight with you.I told one lad one morning very politely that myself and another couple of lads had the lease, and he became very aggrsssive and siad "who the f%^K are you".

I live practically beside keeper hill and the attitude is "f&*k you". I spoke to the guards and WLO about it, it didn't seem to bother them. All the WLO is worried about are snails and grass and the like. I spoke to the Gardai, and said to them that this was a safety concern. These guy's going in there with high powered rifles and nobody knows there in there. Me and lads go in and someone could get hurt, they said they'd try and keep an eye on it.

We were coming out one morn and there was 8 lads with 4 jeeps pretty much sitting there waiting for us to leave.

The problem here is that, farmers with deer on they're land want to get rid of them. So you go and get permission to shoot it. His giving permission to anyone who comes along. I know a local farmer that has 40 arce's and has giving out 10 letters that I know of to lads in the area to get rifles.

This is the kind of stuff your up against. The playing pitch is not level either. Your playing by the rules, but a lot of these lads are in these places and gone about an hour before you turn up. So deer are well lamped and gone for cover before you arrive.

Thats what your up against. I live in an area of high deer numbers and more jeep's full of lads pass my house at night then you would see on a Saturday morning.

where in killoscully did you have the lease, there's a guy out there now and he has nearly all the lease's bought up. My lease is actually keeper hill. All around Ballyhourigan to toor.

I have the same experience as yourself. They park in the same spot and don't give a sh#t about anybody.

The WLO out there is rubbish. from west limerick and only comes there now and again. There used to be a guy from rearcross and he was great but since he retired. They have gone nut's.

I met a guy one morning and he told me he had the shooting rights off a local farmer which was grand. But he said he was sitting in the car one morning in a gateway waiting for sunrise, drinking a cup of tea. A jeep pulled up beside him shone the lamp out the window of the jeep over the roof of his car.He said he saw 2 eye's in the field they drove down a small bit rifle out the window drop the deer and drove off. He said he could do nothing only go home. that was it.

Thats what you are up against, a lot of lads that have lease's on this forum may live a good distance away from them. I know there are lads from Wexford have the lease next to us. They drive up on a Saturday morning for what. I know that local's out my way don't care. neither do coillte and the cop's don't want to know.

I know locals with land beside our lease that are given keys to the barriers for access. The forest manager I know lives near me and give's out keys to the barrier on the qt. So just because there are barriers that means nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭sixpointfive

how long have you had keeper hill?

over 15 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭sixpointfive

its a very big area, i was on a lease on keeper hill for a few years, we lost it last year, tender. Only had one incident with local a-holes touring around with guns out the window, most of the time the gates were kept locked, for all the good that does, i still have the keys and what would be to stop me if i was that way inclined, every lease, without exception has its own share of poaching, but in the last 18 months it has seriously gotten out of hand, i have noticed a huge decline in deer this season, i have shot a third of what i would normally take in a season this time round and was out more days than last year, when the arse falls out of venison and there is no demand for it the quick-buck crews will move on to the next handy dollar and the real stalkers will be left to sweep up the dust, because that is all that will be left.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

Same here, I had a lease not far from Killoscully and on a few occasions met lads on the way in and out. They seem to feel they have right to enter Coillte land and some of them are ignorant of the fact that they are poaching, either way they operate with impunity because there is nobody to stop them.

Was thinking of getting one of those infra red cameras you strap to a tree which snaps anything that moves, the poachers down there always parked in the same spot, so you'd get photos of their number plates and themselves!

http://www.bushwear.co.uk/nostyles.php?ProductID=314245&ClassID=249

that is all very well but stills from a camera will not stand up in court, it may show people in the area but it will not show them doing an illegal act.

where in killoscully did you have the lease, there's a guy out there now and he has nearly all the lease's bought up. My lease is actually keeper hill. All around Ballyhourigan to toor.

I have the same experience as yourself. They park in the same spot and don't give a sh#t about anybody.

The WLO out there is rubbish. from west limerick and only comes there now and again. There used to be a guy from rearcross and he was great but since he retired. They have gone nut's.

I met a guy one morning and he told me he had the shooting rights off a local farmer which was grand. But he said he was sitting in the car one morning in a gateway waiting for sunrise, drinking a cup of tea. A jeep pulled up beside him shone the lamp out the window of the jeep over the roof of his car.He said he saw 2 eye's in the field they drove down a small bit rifle out the window drop the deer and drove off. He said he could do nothing only go home. that was it.

Thats what you are up against, a lot of lads that have lease's on this forum may live a good distance away from them. I know there are lads from Wexford have the lease next to us. They drive up on a Saturday morning for what. I know that local's out my way don't care. neither do coillte and the cop's don't want to know.

I know locals with land beside our lease that are given keys to the barriers for access. The forest manager I know lives near me and give's out keys to the barrier on the qt. So just because there are barriers that means nothing.

the guy in rear cross was an ass h..e, he had his own cronies:mad:

I know there are lads from Wexford have the lease next to us. They drive up on a Saturday morning for what..

They are there alot earlier than daybreak saturday morning tho according to some of the local farmers, i.e. they have plenty shot with a lamp early saturday morning and then hunt for the day.

And this came from a farmers mouth praising them and not a selfish local who wants the shooting to himself!!

Not saying this about all people who have leases but just these in particular.

They are there alot earlier than daybreak saturday morning tho according to some of the local farmers, i.e. they have plenty shot with a lamp early saturday morning and then hunt for the day.

And this came from a farmers mouth praising them and not a selfish local who wants the shooting to himself!!

yep, seen it for myself. My mate was out last week, arrived at this farm, farmer came up to him and said, ha your a bit late, them boys were here earlier from wexford got three, my mate said when, farmer said about 0700, but it was dark said my mate, ya said the farmer but the lamp on top of the jeep was fuc-ing powerful. :eek:

Not a bad idea actually, could maybe get a decent patch between us.
    Sounds good to me, I am based in Westmeath near Mullingar. We had all best knuckle down and do the HCAP asap.:)

If anyone is seriously interested in looking into forming a syndicate for the 2011/12 season throw me a pm and we'll attempt to form some sort of a commitee if there is enough interest. What do ye reckon?

deerhunter and patsat, thanks for that heads up. I know a lot of local farmers over there love lads with lamps. I met one farmer there one morning, he told me to go away and come back later with a lamp.

I'm not saying that the locals are trying to keep the shooting for themselves as I am a local and know lots of lads shooting round about. my issue is with the attitude of lads you meet how know you have the lease and the make a point of treating you like sh&t and trust me most of them lads are not local's

4gun wrote: »
    when you think about it in general, we live in a society that rewards greatly those that lie, cheat and steal.. the honest man gets trampled or often left waiting in line
    But what is the answer, do we all throw our hat in the ring and start palying their game. Trust me I am tempted, but its not the answer. If nothing is done on a large scale then very shortly we will all be handning our deer calibre rifles back as there will be no need for them. Lets be honest if there was a will to stop deer lamping then target the game deelers. I have asked many questions on numbers of deer shot per hunter each year and my experience says anyone with more than 30 or 40 deer as an individual is either in an excellent piece of land or maybe stalking full time. Above that number say 50 + then the ranger should talk to them and see that everything stacks up. I wait to be proved wrong but after 50+ deer a season there may be an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

One of my Permissions owner rang me today

12 Deer on his land every day this week between ~8am and 3pm

Surely there is free Shooting in wickla :D

One of my Permissions owner rang me today

12 Deer on his land every day this week between ~8am and 3pm

Surely there is free Shooting in wickla :D

Go get em Tack ;). Good for you......

Y'See, what I dont know is this:

The various "deer societies" that are out there seem to be doing plenty of shouting about poaching, but what are they doing apart from that? Are they doing night patrols and liasing with the NPWS and Gardai? Are thry activly trying to educate farmers regarding the legalities of deer shooing with regards tio the use of lamps? This is not a rhetorical question in any shape - I genuinely do not know if they are.

I'm so so frustrated with the poaching end of things now. They've destroyed the few perissions I have, regardless of me trying to explain to landowners that lads lamping deer is illegal, it always seems to end up with me looking like the b*llox. All farmers are interested in is that these lads are doing a great job getting rid of the problematic deer.

I'm going to give my attempt at deer shooting another year, and unless things seriously pick up and there's something done about the poaching im going to have to seriously look at packing it in. I just wish I could do something about it. I've reported poaching to both the gardai and the NPWS and absolutely nothing has been done aboutn it.

Sorry about the rant lads, my bloods just boiling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Mauser 308 wrote: »
    Go get em Tack ;). Good for you......

Time is my Enemy

Finished work @7am today n(now yesterday)

Wake up tomorrow (today)

Tax Jeep, do research on college project (blink day over)
    Following day College Lecture and conference call on project with College project supervisor.

Following day back in work for 3 nights.

Fingers crossed get a bit of stalking sat afternoon

I need to retire :D

Time is my Enemy

Finished work @7am today n(now yesterday)

Wake up tomorrow (today)

Tax Jeep, do research on college project (blink day over)
    Following day College Lecture and conference call on project with College project supervisor.

Following day back in work for 3 nights.

Fingers crossed get a bit of stalking sat afternoon

I need to retire :D

What u need, like me is to win the Loto.:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭meathshooter1

was out on Saturday morning on one of my private permissions got there just before first light walked about a mile got into position ready for shot,the land I have is beside coillte land and a seldom used road runs parallel to it. spot 14 deer in the coillte land they are slowly munching there way across to my permission they get about six yards away from my land and I hear the hum of a jeep coming up the track two fellas in it one glassing the area with binos and spot the deer which by now are well alerted. passenger gets out with rifle rested on bonnet of jeep no shot.deer are gone as soon as it stopped,now these two Muppet's have the lease of coillte and are always complaining of no deer which doesn't surprise me the way they go about stalking to lazy to even walk the land the likes of these Muppet's boil my blood.stayed in my position they didn't see me and off they went same thing drive 100 yards stop glass area off again pure Muppet's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

donkeys, what sport is in that, why pay for a lease and not enjoy it,
    you cant beat gettin down and finding new nooks and crannys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭meathshooter1

I must admit that not all lease holders are like that some run there leases very well and have a genuine interest,you will find these are the hardest to get a place with.but you could also start your own syndicate but be prepared to pay big money for wicklow to keep lease numbers low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

i agree, the majority of lease holders are genuine deer stalkers,
    however we know all to well there is some cowboys out there unfortunatly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭steyrprohunter

Look no further lad! Ive a lovely lease on the carlow/wicklow border and im looking for lads to join. Some of the guys from last year have gon to sweden to work and Id like to keep the lease. Theres a few lads who viewed it last weekend and have to get back to me. I had a lad there yesterday and he counted 15 deer on one block alone.Half hour drive from blessington,past baltinglass and hacketstown. send me a private message in interested with ur number.not expensive!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭podge.243
    Paul Murphy

Pm sent there steyprohunter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭eoin4789

i also Pm'd sir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 shooter j

[hhhucarlow/wicklow border and im looking for lads to join. Some of the guys from last year have gon to sweden to work and Id like to keep the lease. Theres a few lads who viewed it last weekend and have to get back to me. I had a lad there yesterday and he counted 15 deer on one block alone.Half hour drive from blessington,past baltinglass and hacketstown. send me a private message in interested with ur number.not expensive!![/QUOTE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭steyrprohunter

Theres still vacancies in the lease as no one has got back to me who viewed it or inquired. A deposit will hold a place and Im looking for 4-5 honest and reliable deerstalkers with Hcaps. Send me a Pm if interested.