Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the coolest way your parent/s stood up for you?

• 05-02-2011 9:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭

Following on (and nicking the idea) from a thread I saw on Reddit, I ask this question to AH. What is the coolest or most badass way your parent(s) have ever stood up for you?

Not the coolest story ever, but my own was when I was 12 and got the **** kicked out of me at the back of my estate for looking sideways at someone (at least thats what I'm guessing, he didnt say much in between hitting me). Guards were called and nothing came of it. I could describe three of the guys perfectly, but their mammies denied ****ing everything. My own mother was distraught at the thought of one of them having a knife etc but my dad stayed quiet. Normally he wouldn't get involved in anything but he asked me to describe the three lads to him. Said nothing more and left it at that.
    A week later I'm walking home from school and I see one of the guys who hadnt done much beating and tried to avoid him. He runs towards me and I'm bricking it and trying to speed up without looking obvious. Stops right in front of me and then proceeds to apologise about everything that happened. I went home not knowing wtf had just happened.
    Mam told me a few years later that dad had gone up to the pub after I gave him descriptions, asked around to see if anyone knew them or their dads. He found all three dads, two of which were pissed off and tore their sons a new one. One dad told my dad to **** off, so my dad went looking for the guy himself, found him, grabbed him by the scruff and threatened to hide his body down the back of the estate if he ever laid a finger on me again. WOO!

inb4 "Cool Story Bro!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

My dad is bigger than your dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Friends of mine were caught smoking something they shouldnt have been in the school field, I was in the area as well... not par-taking

So reefed out of class in the afternoon the head dribbling on with the usual gash drugs are bad etc, he then just flipped and started sayin how mummy didnt raise me right!!!

My mum heard that we were pulled in so i got a bollockin when i got home i told my step dad what he said and he was straight down the school,

Not sure what was said but i got an apology of the pr1ck on monday morning..

Just as a sweetner he was arrested a few years ago for embezzling funds from the school into his own business hahahaa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

My father was an ex commando, who eats green berets for breakfast and some of his old mates from the force had turned into mercenaries. They kidnapped me and held me on an island but my da took on all the mercenaries single handedly. He killed everyone except one guy called Bennett. Bennett was a creepy fecker, needed to let of some steam but my da threw a pipe through him and then we flew off the island on a water plane. True story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

They sometimes opted to administer my beatings with softer plimsolls instead of a high-heeled shoe, boot or poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

So far, I think one of these stories may be untrue. My guess is Stovelid's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Back when I was in school I used to go out of my way to avoid fighting with anyone but there was this one kid who always started on me...probably because he knew I wouldn't fight back.

One day after he hit me on the way home from school my dad gave me the talk about how I should stick up for myself and fight back. So I waited for the next time he started on me and before he could do anything I punched him in the mouth. As soon as I did it I was running away but after a few seconds I realised he wasn't chasing me. I turned back around and he was on the ground crying and saying I knocked his tooth out, I Left him there and walked home.

I was only in the door and didn't even have a chance to tell my dad what had happened when the guy's parents were banging down the door saying I had attacked their kid. I stood there waiting for my dad to stick up for me and explain how for ages their son had been beating me up on the way home from school. I nearly died when he said don't worry he won't be doing it to anyone again, he's grounded for a long time'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Following on (and nicking the idea) from a thread I saw on Reddit, I ask this question to AH. What is the coolest or most badass way your parent(s) have ever stood up for you?

Not the coolest story ever, but my own was when I was 12 and got the **** kicked out of me at the back of my estate for looking sideways at someone (at least thats what I'm guessing, he didnt say much in between hitting me). Guards were called and nothing came of it. I could describe three of the guys perfectly, but their mammies denied ****ing everything. My own mother was distraught at the thought of one of them having a knife etc but my dad stayed quiet. Normally he wouldn't get involved in anything but he asked me to describe the three lads to him. Said nothing more and left it at that.
    A week later I'm walking home from school and I see one of the guys who hadnt done much beating and tried to avoid him. He runs towards me and I'm bricking it and trying to speed up without looking obvious. Stops right in front of me and then proceeds to apologise about everything that happened. I went home not knowing wtf had just happened.
    Mam told me a few years later that dad had gone up to the pub after I gave him descriptions, asked around to see if anyone knew them or their dads. He found all three dads, two of which were pissed off and tore their sons a new one. One dad told my dad to **** off, so my dad went looking for the guy himself, found him, grabbed him by the scruff and threatened to hide his body down the back of the estate if he ever laid a finger on me again. WOO!

inb4 "Cool Story Bro!"
    Your dad sounds like a badass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

They took me in as a week old baby, can't get any better than that can you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

When I was young my bicycle was stolen by some scummer, he was about 17 and i was like 12.

Drove around with my dad trying to find it, drove by a Spar and there was yer man standing with the bike chatting to his other scummer friends.

Dad parked up, got out, gave the scummer such a wallop and took the bike back, twas awesome. Said scummer then tried to throw a rock at the car but missed, almost getting run over in the process.

Aaah the 90's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭grungepants

I was accused of writing graphity in the toilets with no proof except for the doodles in my notebook.My mum was outraged her youg man was being wrongly accused of this crime.She arranged to see the principle and it turned out that i was guilty of the graphity....stupid mom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

Two older boys put my hat in the mud and stamped all over it when i got off the school bus but they carried on to their stop on the bus. I walked up to my house crying (I must have been only like 7-8) and pointing at the my favorite newly destroyed hat and trying to say who did it. dad jumped in the car, quickly followed the bus and when the two boys got off, met their mother my dad gave her a piece of his mind for raising two boys that would pick on little girls. Never had a bother again.

When he sped off like that I was afraid he'd clobber them because he's over protective but thankfully he did it the right way. The vile things that have come out of his mouth when I had a bad break up though, yikes....

:) He's a great dad really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Your dad sounds like a badass.

Yeah a real badass,threatening a child.If the OP had any balls he would of stood up to the lads himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Yeah a real badass,threatening a child.If the OP had any balls he would of stood up to the lads himself.
    These guys were like 16 and 17.....I was 12, pudgy and wore oversized jackets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

While my father was unemployed for the majority of my childhood my mother worked two and sometimes three jobs.

We never wanted for anything.

If I'm ever to look for a role model in my life, its my mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

While my father was unemployed for the majority of my childhood my mother worked two and sometimes three jobs.

We never wanted for anything.

If I'm ever to look for a role model in my life, its my mother.

If you ask me thats my definition of hardcore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭RussellTuring

When I was about 17, i was walking across the road to my house when two lads who'd been standing at the chipper started following me and one grabbed me from behind, shouting at the other to take my mobile. I managed to trip up the one holding me and ran for the 10 seconds or so it took to get to my house.

I told my mam what had happened and she and two of her friends who happened to be there jumped up and ran out, the friends carrying knives from the kitchen and my mam, bless her, picked up a rake from the garden.

The lads who tried to rob me had just walked back over to the chipper so were still standing there. They got some shock when they saw the mini mob coming after them and legged it. I'll never forget the looks on their faces when they saw my mam wielding a rusty rake. I dread to think what she would have done had she caught them. She's a scary woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

If you ask me thats my definition of hardcore

Yeah, not having to work for years would be deadly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭mandyarms

Mine never stood up for me:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

My da once killed a man at my request

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

My parents supplied condoms to the Christian brothers when I was in detention. And my Dad gave me a lift every day to and from the redress board enquiry 18 years later. My hero!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

When I was born, I had hearing problems, which while was fixed, meant I was lagging behind peers my own age mentally by the time it was fixed. So much so, the authorities actually recommended to my parents that I be placed in a special school.

Now one of my uncles, who my father grew up with, was mentally handicapped. Obviously, being around someone like that, my father knew the difference between that and someone who was just lagging behind people his own through no fault of his own but could play catch up fast.

As a result ( and probably a bunch of other factors ) my parents said NO and I was placed in a normal school, hence with a lot of extra aid initially ( until about 2nd class ) believing that I would snap into it eventually. I did. Trust me, while the extra attention was nice, the want to be treated like the rest of my peers by my teacher was a very powerful motivation.

I shudder to think how I would have turned out if they'd just gone with what the authorities recommended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

a ate of mine had items robbed from his house by two ads pretending to be his friends, games etc...

he told his dad who then proceeded to pick up the two young lads and bring them up the wicklow mountains and threaten them, abduction yes, but it seemed to have worked. all the items were given back the next day and nothing more said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Keyboard warriors... laughable really :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

My da was a tough bastard and not someone id look up to but me mam was a saint who raised us all on her own and put up with hell from him for our sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Keyboard warriors... laughable really :rolleyes:

They sure are buddy,they sure are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

The lads who tried to rob me had just walked back over to the chipper so were still standing there. They got some shock when they saw the mini mob coming after them and legged it. I'll never forget the looks on their faces when they saw my mam wielding a rusty rake. I dread to think what she would have done had she caught them. She's a scary woman.

I like to see a picture of your mothers rusty rake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

I went into foster care with my aunt and uncle when I was really young. My step brother would always bully me and I knew that the whole family liked my step brother a lot more than they liked me. I never really considered myself part of the family actually.

Anyway, I was always curious about my biological parents growing up, but my foster family were very vague about it.
    It wasn't until my eleventh birthday - the year I started boarding school when I found out how awesome my biological parents were.

They died to save me. Turns out they were murdered by some guy called Voldemort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Well for me I can't remember much really, guess I didn't get in much trouble (quiet little angel I was :rolleyes:), but my sister was a different story..

Not too long ago, less than a year, my sister and a girl in her class weren't getting on. They're 13 so it was just a stupid little fight. Then one day my sister was in the village we live by and the mother of this little brat she was fighting with comes up to her in the middle of the street and starts screaming at my sister telling her she's going to kill her if she ever speaks to her again! No joke, the grown woman threatened to kill a 13 year old girl. My sister just stood there and didn't know what to say, she came home in tears.
    By god was my father ready to kill someone, he rang up that b*tch of a woman and spent a good half an hour explaining what would happen if she spoke to his daughter like that again. Didn't hear much from her again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

When my girl friend left me my dad went around and smashed her gaff up... classic my da..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Fuck all. My parents were rats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Fuck all. My parents were rats.