Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This week I've broken...

• 04-02-2011 6:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭

Two chainsaws and a brushcutter :D What's better is they're all belonging to the ould lad, never a lender or borrower be :rolleyes:

Hope to get the Efco chainsaw working again, think it's a spark plug or lead issue. Handle snapped on the Honda brushcutter, if I find a decent bit of pipe or even wood maybe I can bolt it back together. Don't ever buy a lidl/aldi chainsaw, they're made out of butter... cogs to tighten the chain stripped after 90 minutes of use :rolleyes:

So, what've ye broken this week? :pac:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

johngalway wrote: »
    Two chainsaws and a brushcutter :D What's better is they're all belonging to the ould lad, never a lender or borrower be :rolleyes:

Hope to get the Efco chainsaw working again, think it's a spark plug or lead issue. Handle snapped on the Honda brushcutter, if I find a decent bit of pipe or even wood maybe I can bolt it back together. Don't ever buy a lidl/aldi chainsaw, they're made out of butter... cogs to tighten the chain stripped after 90 minutes of use :rolleyes:

My Left wrist and and the odd speed limit..Does That count? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

nothing this week:D but have broken my ankle , dislocated my knee - which was by far the most painful experience in my life, considering i have had 3 kids:o- cracked ribs , dislocated my finger , got 5 stitches over my eye and i am still here to tell the tail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Had you down for a Stihl or Husqy man John...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

whelan1 wrote: »
    nothing this week:D but have broken my ankle , dislocated my knee - which was by far the most painful experience in my life, considering i have had 3 kids:o- cracked ribs , dislocated my finger , got 5 stitches over my eye and i am still here to tell the tail

1 Broken knee not this week though

Also one day in a fit of youthful exuberance I broke the two lower lift arms on our Dexta
    Was cleaning out a shed with a buck rake.
    Took a good run back at the dung and buried the teeth in the wall, both arms snapped at the same point
    Wasn't flavour of the month that day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Had you down for a Stihl or Husqy man John...

I didn't buy either saw, did choose the brushcutter mind you, Honda.

The Efco 132s is a lovely balanced top handle saw, fantastic for getting into the furze and chopping them up. Great saw, first time it's let us down.

The Aldi/Lidl jobbie is a rear handle and I absolutely despise it for that reason. Unwieldy, hard to maneuver, a lot heavier, drinks juice, ill thought out filling design, made out of butter :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭towzer2010

Broke my toe last week and this week managed to break the transport box. Some welding tomorrow for me.:cool:

when you hear of all the farm fatalities , and write down all the injuries you have had , goes to show how dangerous our job is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭stanflt

broke the door on the new holland yesterday-bloody wind

new glass 230+vat

stanflt wrote: »
    broke the door on the new holland yesterday-bloody wind

new glass 230+vat
    can you not claim that on insurance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭stanflt

can you not claim that on insurance

can you claim twice in the one year

dunno , ring them and ask

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭BeeDI

I

The Efco 132s is a lovely balanced top handle saw, fantastic for getting into the furze and chopping them up. Great saw, first time it's let us down.

The Aldi/Lidl jobbie is a rear handle and I absolutely despise it for that reason. Unwieldy, hard to maneuver, a lot heavier, drinks juice, ill thought out filling design, made out of butter :rolleyes:

I too have an efco, for over ten years now. It has an awful lot of timber cut. Ash and spruce. Never once let me down. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

A neighbour was good enough to offer me the lend of his subsoiler last Sept. That was grand, but he also gave me a homemade hydraulic top link that he said would to helpful while using it.

After a few hours, it started to piss oil. Thought it was just a hose or a connection, but when I had a right look at it, I'd actually bend the shaft and cracked the gland:( It wasn't really strong enough for the job.

Cost of straightening the shaft and a new gland would have been around €90, and shaft would still be prone to bend in the same place again. So siad what would I do if it was my own. Opted to buy him a span new one. No comparsion, much bigger ram, but twice the price.

Fair play to neighbour though, he went halves on the price of it.

Broke loads of other stuff too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Hi John,

I think I have the same saw (Aldi/Lidl jobbie) is green and made by greenline??!! It is a sow on juice alright and i brought it into a dealers to get sharpened (€7) and the buck behind the counter laughed as he gave it back to me " here you go, your expensive saw!!" I laughed with him to be fair but he went on to say that they actually a good saw and has had loads of them in except the chains are muck, he advised me to buy a stihl chain ! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Bodacious wrote: »
    I laughed with him to be fair but he went on to say that they actually a good saw and has had loads of them in except the chains are muck, he advised me to buy a stihl chain ! ;)
    I am not a fan of Stihl generally but their chains are very good.
    There are better options though for much less money...

when you hear of all the farm fatalities , and write down all the injuries you have had , goes to show how dangerous our job is
    Dangerous yes, well managed danger No.
    I have seen many farmers doing things that could lead to accidents, cutting trees from a ladder for example.
    I would also say that if jobs were compared with man-hours worked farming and fishing would probably come out a lot better than just accidents per 1000 workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Broke Side door of house yesterday but told herself it was the wind:D

Hi John,

I think I have the same saw (Aldi/Lidl jobbie) is green and made by greenline??!! It is a sow on juice alright and i brought it into a dealers to get sharpened (€7) and the buck behind the counter laughed as he gave it back to me " here you go, your expensive saw!!" I laughed with him to be fair but he went on to say that they actually a good saw and has had loads of them in except the chains are muck, he advised me to buy a stihl chain ! ;)

You know why he laughed? Because you can buy a complete chain from the USA for about $9.

I'll also wager that he conveniently just happens to sell Stihl chains, which I'll also suggest cost significantly more than $9 ;)

This week, I bought 4 16 inch chains, 4 18 inch chains, and two files + guides. Total cost, including shipping from the Land of the Free is €92 :D

Price that from your local guy, see how he compares ;)

You're right about the saw brand, but I disagree on the quality. Took me 90 minutes of use to strip the cogs that tension the chain. On a good saw, that shouldn't happen, those cogs were just like the jubilee rings Lidl/Aldi had, the threads in them melted with use as well.

The reason they're cheap, they put cheap stuff into the machine. The Oregon chains and bar, which I use myself and like, are the selling point IMO.

BeeDI wrote: »
    I

I too have an efco, for over ten years now. It has an awful lot of timber cut. Ash and spruce. Never once let me down. :D

Long shot here but is it a 132s and do you happen to have the booklet?

Brought the saw back to a handy fella today, half the day at it, checking this, that and the other, and a lot of things I'd never heard of :eek: Only halfheartedly fired the once but didn't start at all. Changed everything we could, clean petrol etc, checked the switch, shined up the connections, repaired one minor fuel leak, cleaned air filter, yadda, yadda and so forth.

Nothin doin :(

I did download a users manual, but he's after some kind of technical book for carb settings.

You know why he laughed? Because you can buy a complete chain from the USA for about $9.

I'll also wager that he conveniently just happens to sell Stihl chains, which I'll also suggest cost significantly more than $9 ;)

This week, I bought 4 16 inch chains, 4 18 inch chains, and two files + guides. Total cost, including shipping from the Land of the Free is €92 :D

Price that from your local guy, see how he compares ;)

You're right about the saw brand, but I disagree on the quality. Took me 90 minutes of use to strip the cogs that tension the chain. On a good saw, that shouldn't happen, those cogs were just like the jubilee rings Lidl/Aldi had, the threads in them melted with use as well.

The reason they're cheap, they put cheap stuff into the machine. The Oregon chains and bar, which I use myself and like, are the selling point IMO.

Jesus that is good can you tell me the site PM or whatever suits? Is that the file that shows you the angle to sharpen because i am useless at regular file.

I even thought about getting that chain and bar (~€85) that was at The Ploughin Championships this year that you run chainsaw full throttle for 4 seconds in holder thing to sharpen it! Someone else since said they no good?

Jesus that is good can you tell me the site PM or whatever suits?

http://myworld.ebay.ie/asc_auto_parts/
    Is that the file that shows you the angle to sharpen because i am useless at regular file.

That's the one ;)
    I even thought about getting that chain and bar (~€85) that was at The Ploughin Championships this year that you run chainsaw full throttle for 4 seconds in holder thing to sharpen it! Someone else since said they no good?

I looked into them myself. I decided against going down that road. They knacker the chain too fast for my liking.

http://myworld.ebay.ie/asc_auto_parts/

That's the one ;)

I looked into them myself. I decided against going down that road. They knacker the chain too fast for my liking.

Oh id imagine they'd have a downside to be that handy!

Ill look at site where you got the chains, i took an awful roasting on stuff in from the states this week though through amazon they charged me $41 to import 2 x $14.99 dvds cost €56 euro in the end could have got them here for €40!!:mad: they blaming charges added on in ireland import taxes that didnt show at time of purchase!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Swinefluproof

This week I have Broken.....
    The rear window of my 399, cut the tyre on the sidespreader, pulled the thread on the toplink and the main driving shaft of the disc mower sheared off too! I'm staying in bed next week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

This week I have Broken.....
    The rear window of my 399, cut the tyre on the sidespreader, pulled the thread on the toplink and the main driving shaft of the disc mower sheared off too! I'm staying in bed next week

Carefull now. If you break anything here you could be in trouble:D

I'm staying in bed next week

Sounds cheaper to me :D

Manged to fix the handle bars on the brush cutter - done a lot with that today, happy out now. Found a knackered gate which had smaller than usual bars which conveniently were the exact internal diameter of the original handle bars.

Mind you, I did manage to break a fupping drill bit when drilling out bolt holes :rolleyes: - a cheap week I suppose :pac:

No nearer to fixing the Efco...

had a lad here a year or 2 ago , one friday evening i went to the gym , i had 10 missed calls when i came out , he had ripped the front tyre of tractor when feeding , he decided to use our case with front loader to feed instead but he busted 2 pipes on the loader , he then went to use the digger and he rimmed the front wheel:eek::eek: holy mother of god the yard was like a demolition area when i got back. I dont seem to have much luck with workers

OMG he had his own personal demolition derby at your place at your expense!! Choice words were used i'd say on your return :mad:

i gave him an extended holiday... and i went on the beer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭ihatetractors

One day last summer stupidly ran around a firld topping with out guards down(side pull major). last round doing the ditch side tipped a shale stone, broke side/door and front windows. was flavour of month their

i gave him an extended holiday... and i went on the beer

:) as good a plan as any!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Chicken Run

Mobile phone - was in my pocket when a horse kicked me :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

CJhaughey wrote: »
    I am not a fan of Stihl generally but their chains are very good.
    There are better options though for much less money...

I'm no expert, but do all the lumberjacks on the programme axe men not use stihl saws? If they're good enough for those boys they're the saw to have in my opinion.

Stihl MS660, Husky 372 and 395 and the odd Jonsered.