Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday Night Show 5th February 2011

• 04-02-2011 3:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭

These threads get earlier every week ...
    This week we have Olympic medallist Kenny Egan, Raw actress Charlene McKenna & Singer/songwriter Shay Healy on his battle with Parkinson's..
    Decent enough line up, better than you would see on a Friday night on RTE1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

SkidMark wrote: »
    These threads get earlier every week ...

Decent enough line up, better than you would see on a Friday night on RTE1.

thats a crap line up, kenny egan p1ss off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Shane10 wrote: »
    thats a crap line up, kennETH egan p1ss off.

Way to piss him off right from the start..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

& Singer/songwriter Shay Healy on his battle with Parkinson's..

Perfect fodder for DLB I would have thought...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Who remembers "Nighthawks"?

one of the best talkshows RTE ever made, dropped under mysterious circustances to do with phone tapping if I recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Poly wrote: »

one of the best talkshows RTE ever made, dropped under mysterious circustances to do with phone tapping if I recall.

Was that the show where everyone was sitting in a smokie room drinking while he was interviewing people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,011 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Extract Egan and not a bad line up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

Poly wrote: »

well not quite. the phone tapping story broke on nighthawks (Sean Doherty). it was a nice format has to be said, but the started messing with it far as i remember

Might flick over from Angel Heart on 3e, but not a fan of o'Connor.

Evening lads.. Good interview with Egan... Very honest and frank..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Dilynnio

Fair play to him.

I really admire his honesty and how open he has been.

That takes guts and courage.

Well done Kenny................keep it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,730 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I hate the way the prizes are in €5 notes, I'd want €50's if I was going to Paris :D

It's way too soon for her to be back on an RTE talk show again.

M

It's way too soon for her to be back on an RTE talk show again.

Yes she was only on Tuberellis less than a month ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

her accent really annoys me

She always plays the same character........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

I never really liked Egan but actually thought he was good tonight

I actually like her as an actress but I wouldn't say she'd get much work outside of Ireland as her accent is very strong.

She always plays the same character........
    she's a one trick pony that one :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

and he's a lecherous git as well. opps - back to Angel Heart

God....he's really not looking to good. He's lost alot of weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

God....he's really not looking to good. He's lost alot of weight.
    He's certainly got a face for radio. One of the most sickening sights on national TV. :eek:

bren.jpg

Orange pilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

=

There really is a huge difference between Brendan and DLB's interviewing style. DLB's interviews are so staggered and from the card where as Brendan's interviews are free flowing as if he's having a genuine conversation with them. He seems to really enjoy presenting the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭ForeverYoung90

I thought Kenny came across as a real decent bloke.He's clearly a dedicated athlete and Im sure he'l have the willpower to keep off the binge dinking.Showed he has a big heart when telling the story about his mother taking him to the graveyard he was close to tears.Id say he'd be some laugh on a night on the gatt!A known womaniser he really is the definition of the phrase "work hard,play harder".A bit of an idol in fairess!

That Shay Healy song wasnt good... I heard at least two well known 60s songs in there.. He always strikes me as having a chip on his shoulder, sarcastic and cynical at every opportunity..

I missed a bit who is this lad talking about Catherine Nevin?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Cant believe they haven't made a movie about this yet.

Is this fella for real. Nobody forced them to eat the extra steaks and drink the free wine. If they really wanted to pay they should have left the money on the bar and walked out.

They dropped in a painting worth €200 the week after as payment. This story stinks!

casio4 wrote: »
    I missed a bit who is this lad talking about Catherine Nevin?

Yeah.. He's waffling on about how she plamás-ed the guards and judiciary... gave them dinner for free, name dropped, sent them presents... but of course this lad was above all that, and insisted on paying.. typical boring oul guard, the sort that would do you for not having tax on the car but wouldnt touch a real criminal..

M

Bore fest central, he should try to mention some action in his career like a shootout he was at or a diesel laundering plant stakeout or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭bobsoice23

I got lost half way through that dudes drawn out story..Everytime's these are on weather it's the late late or this I always have this cautious optimism that someone worth listening to will be on but there never is!No money=no fun:(

Ah......the book, I must of missed that at the start. That explains alot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

el diablo wrote: »
    He's certainly got a face for radio. One of the most sickening sights on national TV. :eek:

bren.jpg
    Ever notice when he smiles his face scrunches up and his jaw meets the tip of his nose. His face almost's caves in when smiling.

Ah......the book, I must of missed that at the start. That explains alot.

Absolutely, what a load of rubbish... A book about how he "didnt like" Catherine Nevin... Must be boring when you retire on a full pension so early in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭bobsoice23

Ever notice when he smiles his face scrunches up and his jaw meets the tip of his nose. His face almost's caves in when smiling.
    He is the bird man!cawww!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Is this fella for real. Nobody forced them to eat the extra steaks and drink the free wine. If they really wanted to pay they should have left the money on the bar and walked out.

They dropped in a painting worth €200 the week after as payment. This story stinks!

Totally agree, that Garda comes across really badly in that interview.

By his own admission he accepted free food on several occasions from Catherine Nevin - Hardly appropriate for a senior Garda who would have regular dealings with the pub for licencing applications, public order and such like.

Boring auld monotone voice too.

The show started off with a terrific interview (Ken Egan) and gradually got worse.

Still reckon Brendan O'Connor gets better interviews out of his guests than Tubridy. He is far more likely to ask the question you would ak the guest yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I thought the gardai said there was 4 or 5 friends easting in the pub. £200 was a hell of a lot of cash to spend on 4 or 5 pub meals in 1986. you would get 4 or 5 meals in a decent restaurant today for that kind of figure.

mickdw wrote: »
    I thought the gardai said there was 4 or 5 friends easting in the pub. £200 was a hell of a lot of cash to spend on 4 or 5 pub meals in 1986. you would get 4 or 5 meals in a decent restaurant today for that kind of figure.

Yeah Mick it would be a lot ... but this guard fella said that she sent them out two steaks each, the best wine, two or three desserts which they hadnt ordered... she was "looking after them" so to speak..... This Garda lad then said that he tried to pay and she wouldnt accept any money, and that him and his guard friends calculated what she had given them was worth about £200 themselves...

The thing I didnt understand was... If he was uncomfortable with her trying to essentially curry favour with them.. why would he go back there to eat again :confused::confused: