Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

changing shotgun

• 03-02-2011 7:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭

i was shooting clays yesterday and seen a lovely semi-automatic lanber shotgun in the gun room.it fits like a glove is light and i want it:( i have a shotgun allready and was wondering could i buy it and trade my one in against it then just change over lience so when i leave mine in i could take other one home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

I'm not sure but the local Garda will tell you in no time.
    I think that you just fill a form,either FCA1 or FCA2(one is to substitute a firearm and the other is to cancel a licence but I can't remember which is which).All the Garda stations will have them or you might be able to download it from the Garda website.
    As far as i remember there is no charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

Vizzy wrote: »
    I'm not sure but the local Garda will tell you in no time.
    I think that you just fill a form,either FCA1 or FCA2(one is to substitute a firearm and the other is to cancel a licence but I can't remember which is which).All the Garda stations will have them or you might be able to download it from the Garda website.
    As far as i remember there is no charge.

Its a FCA1 substitution, you wont be able to take the lanber straight away. You should get the licence in 14 days. What ever you do dont fill in a FCA2 to cancel no matter what they tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

does anybody know does it take long to take catridges out of a semi-auto(like when crossing gates ditches) and is it hard

also if you happen to get dirt in barrell is it hard to disassemble it to look through the barrell???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Dupont wrote: »
    does anybody know does it take long to take catridges out of a semi-auto(like when crossing gates ditches) and is it hard

also if you happen to get dirt in barrell is it hard to disassemble it to look through the barrell???

All I do is cycle the bolt three times and the cartridges are out. It does become a pain as with a double barrel all you have to do is break it.
    Barrel will fly out once you open the nut at the top of the stock, slide off the wood part and then the barrel is next to go.

dev would you be able to open nut to get barrell out in the field???

Ye with no problem at all. They are only hand tight. Check out youtube.

looks easy enough. do you use one of those snake bores to clean or just take it apart and clean like an o/u

I use a bore snake for inside the barrel but I rip it apart so every piece is taken off, cleaned and oiled and put back together again.
    A semi auto shotgun needs to be kept very clean or it will start to jam.

you mind me asking what make yours is?does it handle 28gr catridges ok.do you have to use the ones with a high brass neck in them

It's a yildiz. I have put 28-36 gram through mine. No I haven't noticed anything about the brass.

i was looking at a lanber ,you know anything about them

it was around 700 2nd hand but near new condition but i heard that they are cheaper to buy new than an o/u so thaught it might have been a bit dear

I wouldn't be able give you advice on a lanber but I'm sure there is someone on here that will be along soon and will be able help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

I think every auto I have used had some way of removing the cart in the barrel and locking the mechanism in the open position, while leaving the 2 in the tube underneath.

There was on the Fabarm, Beretta and Benelli anyway.No experience of lanber though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Hey Dupont,

I've owned a Lanber Victoria semi automatic shotgun, I'm nearly 100% certain thats the one your talking about. I got mine for €600 2nd hand practically new condition. I think in the current climate €700 is a bit steep for one of these guns. I also bought a Lanber over and under for €600 new back in 2003.

I don't know what your shooting with at the moment but I found the Lanbers to be anything but light. I found the semi automatic useless at cycling 28gram shells, so its of no use clay shooting or pigeon shooting as it will jam frequently.

You'ld be better off putting your money toward a second hand Berreta Ulrika or a Browning Fusion.

Vegeta wrote: »

There was on the Fabarm, Beretta and Benelli anyway.No experience of lanber though

You can press a button on the side of them, that allows you to remove the cartridge in the breech when crossing ditches etc..

i have a lumar at the minute but have used a lanber sporting before and mine is quite a bit lighter than it and the semi auto was a small bit lighter than mine
    looking on google and yeah i think it was a victoria.
    i dont shoot many clays but use 28gr for snipe, but can you use 32s for clays or can you get 30s

i have a lumar at the minute but have used a lanber sporting before and mine is quite a bit lighter than it and the semi auto was a small bit lighter than mine
    i dont shoot many clays but use 28gr for snipe, but can you use 32s for clays or can you get 30s

Will it be informal clay shooting with your own trap or at registered shoots? Don't know where I got this but I thought that 28 gram was biggest allowable cart for clays in some comps

Vegeta wrote: »
    Will it be informal clay shooting with your own trap or at registered shoots?

couple of mates throwing clays few times a year and at a proper clay shooting ground a couple or 3 times a year

edited my above post about cartridge weight and the 28 gram rule

My experience of Lanbers is that they are heavy clunks of yokes.

Sure you can use any size of shell for busting clays but its going to be expensive using game loads out clay shooting

started shooting with the uncles lanber sporter,such a weight to be lugging around rough shooting,youd want wide wellies going into a bog,handled a beretta silver pigeon (i think) one day couldnt believe they made guns that light,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭declan1980

are semi auto's allowed on clay grounds? i thought they were a no no

declan1980 wrote: »
    are semi auto's allowed on clay grounds? i thought they were a no no

Ye I think they are allowed just frowned upon.

bought the lanber today and traded my own in. have to collect it friday :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭kemen

Hey Dupont,

I've owned a Lanber Victoria semi automatic shotgun, I'm nearly 100% certain thats the one your talking about. I got mine for €600 2nd hand practically new condition. I think in the current climate €700 is a bit steep for one of these guns. I also bought a Lanber over and under for €600 new back in 2003.

I don't know what your shooting with at the moment but I found the Lanbers to be anything but light. I found the semi automatic useless at cycling 28gram shells, so its of no use clay shooting or pigeon shooting as it will jam frequently.

You'ld be better off putting your money toward a second hand Berreta Ulrika or a Browning Fusion.

defo cant go wrong with beretta, browning or benelli in semi auto's, i shoot with guys with the 3 of them 100% trouble free but then again they are stripped and cleaned after every outting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭raff e30

bought the lanber today and traded my own in. have to collect it friday :D

i had a u/o shotgun traded it in for a semi,everithing went well untill the guards rang and said because its my second substition and not like for like ill have to apply for a new licence:mad::mad:.
    been a week now and no sign of my licence,rang the cops today, "its on its way" and on top of that have to pay the €80 again now:mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Dai John

Have owned quite a few different shotguns over the years. I found that some autos will jam with short brass. Have a Lanber O/U sporting, it is heavy but good ( 30" barrels). But horses for courses, out of choice I always found the side by side best in the field (double trigger) as you can use 2 different cartidges, gives you a choice for different game ,faster than single selective. Have a plastic pump, very light and robust excellent for wood pigeons. Would not buy an auto again. They are accepted for clays but slower than O/U but have lower recoil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭brianfrancis45

Sure you can use any size of shell for busting clays but its going to be expensive using game loads out clay shooting

I'd have to agree with you there Deeks. The older Lanbers ,although very reliable and strong enough to jack up the car , are a pain to be carrying on a long day out.:(

Having said that I popped into Jeffers last year and handled the new Lanber 2077 Grey Stone Light, 12 G o/u, 3 inch chambers, 6.5 lbs. multichokes. A lovely well balanced light gun . If I remember correctly they were asking about E 1250 new but I had a very tight budget of E 1000 . They wouldn't take it and they were only willing to drop the price by 50 quid , so I had to let it go. Still hankering after one to be honest as I was well impressed with it. Nice write up about it on www.americanhunter.org
    They say :
    The Lanber Grey Stone is about the nicest bird gun you’ve never heard of—light to carry, easy on your pocketbook and hard on the birds.