Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seeing a game live - Underwhelming ?

• 03-02-2011 10:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭

Hi

The talk of a regular season game in Croke Park got me thinking about this.

Have anyother fans here got the oppurtunity to go to a real NFL regualr season game and found the experience totally underwhelming.

I was at two Patriots regluar season game in 1997.

The first was Monday night v Green Bay, a repeat of the previous Superbowl. Brett Farve lead 96 yard drive, after the Pats were stopped at the GB 4, for a TD.

The other was the Patriots v Indy the same season, it was pre Payton Manning and the Pats won it handy.

On both occasions I found the game pretty boring (I am a knowledgeable fan btw) and not something I would be rushing back to.

It may have been the fact that the old Foxboro was a freezing concrete cauldron, and the seats were close to the back at the corner of the end zone, but they were still $60.

Overall I was left thinking that football is much better on TV.
    On TV during a break in play there is at least a reply, some analysis or at least the opportunity to get up and put on the kettle.

With the live game there is noting to do during a break in play, expect watch another someone or other be presented with something on the field or some marketing ploy.

Has anyone else though the same after being to a game ?

If there is a regular season game, College or NFL in ireland I will try to go, seeing as it's on my doorstep, but my expectations will not be huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,252 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I enjoyed it. Not so much for the game itself but for the spectacle. I went to two games in London. There was a great atmosphere outside the stadium before the game and the atmosphere in the stadium was like no other sport I've been too.

It was such a fun event to be at. Watching the game itself is ok, it's very difficult to know what's going on when a flag is thrown in until the ref says it. So your like what just happened!!?

I think if you pay for really good seats it would be much better...I didn't though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Wompa1 wrote: »
    I enjoyed it. Not so much for the game itself but for the spectacle. I went to two games in London. There was a great atmosphere outside the stadium before the game and the atmosphere in the stadium was like no other sport I've been too.

It was such a fun event to be at. Watching the game itself is ok, it's very difficult to know what's going on when a flag is thrown in until the ref says it. So your like what just happened!!?

I think if you pay for really good seats it would be much better...I didn't though.

Well there may be more of a 'big game' atmosphere generated by the organisers in Wembley rather than on a normal Sunday in Foxboro,

Your point about the flags is a good one.
    Watching on TV I often jump up a shout 'neutral zone infraction' or 'off side' if I see a line-man move, and then the flag comes.
    That is something you will not see a a live game unless you are paying for seats in the first 10 rows

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

tbh i prefer to watch it in person, mainly because the ads really annoy me. Yes you miss somethings but overall i prefer it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,252 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I like Pro Wrestling which obviously isn't a sport but I thought the atmosphere was very similar in ways...possibly not as loud as some of the wrestlemanias I've been at but it's like the crowd is there to wait to pop...like waiting for the ref to make his call...or measuring for a first down. If there's a turnover the place goes nuts.

I wasn't underwhelmed by it but I found it a bit strange watching the game in person because you miss more than if watching it on TV. But any fan should go just to experience it.

Patriots...1997...Foxboro...

Attendance and atmosphere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Attendance and atmosphere?

Full house

Lots of 'Pumped and Jacked' (to quote then head coach Pete Carroll) fans.

That Patriots team were coming off a Superbowl appearance and went 10-6 that season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭davetherave

I was over in Soldier Field back in 06 for a game against the 49ers. The game was pretty much a blow out, somewhere around 46-10. But the atmosphere was amazing.
    Proper tailgate, none of that commercialistic shi!te that happens over in Wembley. If you are watching on TV you just don't get the emotion that is running through the crowd if there is a pick or sack or the chains have to come out to measure after going for it on fourth down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

didnt get to see a regular season game but saw the first pre season game this year between the patriots and the saints

it wasnt as cut throat as i was expecting but then it was pre season but other then that i had a great time and would love to see a regular season game

id rather see it in the states with the real fans then here in croke park though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

Was at the Cowboys v Eagles regular season game and then the first playoff game they had last season. Stadium is amazing albeit way too pricy and traffic a nightmare. Cowboys fans are lol retarded and eagles fans were driving me nuts before the game. Both wins were blowouts so while there was a feel good factor to them it wasnt that atmospheric

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Went to the Pats opener against the Bengals this season, it was an easy victory, no atomsphere so i would have prefered to watch that one at home.

I also went to the Ravens game this year and the atomsphere was electric, i loved it, watching it at home wouldnt have been the same.

So its a gamble.

Although i went to Pats Vs Steelers two seasons ago when Cassel was QB, that was the worst experience of my life. Pissing rain, just above freezing, so you are colder than freezing and a blowout for the Steelers...that sucked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭TITAN #1

Try an IAFL game.
    Schedule just posted on the site.

No hype or ads, just good honest football from Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 RightHalfBack

Was at the Patriots game in London last year, wasnt great at all i thought. But i really only like to watch the highlights. the Live games are a bit drawn out fo rme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

This will sound slightly strange but I got more appreciation for punters from watching the game live.
    They get amazing height and hangtime on the ball. Yeah you can talk about it and see it on TV but to see it live is something different

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Been to four game. 2 Wembley games, Giants -v- Eagles @ Giants Stadium in 08 and a Rutgers game too.

Have enjoyed all of them much more than watching a game on tv. It's all about the experience. You need to have a few drinks and just relax. Love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭cheesehead

Fr. Tod, the NFL shares your concerns. Earlier this year, I posted a New York Times article about the absolute dominance of NFL games in regards to TV ratings. Based on the numbers from September 2010 to the present, 18 of the 20 highest rated TV programs in the US (all TV programming, not just TV sports programming) were NFL football games.

While these ratings numbers are wonderful in regards to attracting advertising dollars, the NFL is quite concerned the improved TV viewing experience (hi-def TV, soon 3-D TV, surround sound, enhanced graphics, running stat lines to show how your fantasy players are doing, etc...) will keep fans from actually attending games. Thus, the NFL is working hard to improve the overall "game-day experience". For instance, here in Green Bay, you can attend "tailgate parties" pre-game with former Packer Greats and the Lambeau Field Atrium is really a destination itself, with the Packers Hall of Fame, Packers ProShop and various bars and restaurants within the Atrium. Heck, look at Jerry Jones Stadium (Cowboys Stadium) in Dallas. It's like something out of Vegas. They're charging $200 for the right to watch the SuperBowl on Large-Screen TVs outside the Stadium in the East Plaza.

So while the regular season NFL game may not hold your attention throughout, the NFL is working hard to improve that overall experience.

That said, in my humble opinion, it's very difficult to top the experience of watching a beloved team top a bitter rival in a hard-fought battle - live and in-person!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,620 ✭✭✭Rick_

If anyone wants to buy me a ticket to the Superbowl or any home game at Lambeau, I'd be happy to report on whether I thought the experience of seeing a live NFL game was underwhelming or not. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Slates

I was at Dolphin stadium the see the eventual Superbowl champs, Saints take on the Dolphins in Oct 09.

I had a ball, the 4 hours flew by and if I lived in the states I would be a seson ticket holder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

Slates wrote: »
    I was at Dolphin stadium the see the eventual Superbowl champs, Saints take on the Dolphins in Oct 09.

I had a ball, the 4 hours flew by and if I lived in the states I would be a seson ticket holder.

i think id be the same, id also root for the saints until an la team becomes a reality but i dont think ill ever live in new orleans so a season ticket there wont happen but maybe for gillette stadium as id be living in new england. just gotta hope this green card comes through :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Mulcahy

Was at the Jets v Bills game during Xmas. Although the Jets were already through to play-off, Sanchez jus ran the ball and the Bills just being rubbish I still thought the experence was class.

Expected all the stoppages in play would drag the game on a bit but surprisingly it didnt, the game flew. Plus all the stoppages in play gives you plenty of time to get more beer from the bar without missing anything.

The ticket prices are ridiculous expensive tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

How much were your tickets out of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 jagerluvinliamo

Was at the Pats Buccs at wembley last and I know the game well enough not to judge the general game experience on that day. Remember sporting events here can flatter to deceive aswell.

From what i hear Gillete stadium isnt the best place to judge things by either.
    Everyone knows based on what we are told the best places to go to when the home team is playing well and its a big game are
    Qwest Field
    Arrowhead
    Lambeau
    Oakland
    Soldier Field
    Heinz Field
    Superdome
    Metrodome
    Mile High
    Fed Ex Field

and notable mentions are given to georgia dome, new meadownland, the linc and M&T Bank. So until I get to one of those (if ever) I ll make a judgement then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭ac20

Have been lucky enough to attend 13 games , regular and pre season, stretching back to 1992, majority very good but a couple of stinkers thrown in. I am the point were if Im going to spend money on flights,accom and match tickets, Im only going to do it to watch my own team (The Chargers) and no one else. Nothing like seeing your own team live. However if a game took place right on my doorstep in Dublin, I would certainly support it.

116dollars
    prob around 100e i think and that was for the second cheapest seating zone tickets. Was sitting on the top tier, corner of stadium, a few rows off the highest point of the new meadowlands stadium

Bottom tier prices i think were 500dollar plus

Has anyone attended a college football game. Any difference in atmosphere between that and an NFL game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

Mulcahy wrote: »
    Has anyone attended a college football game. Any difference in atmosphere between that and an NFL game

Yeah I have. Although I can only compare it to the Wembley games because I haven't attended any NFL games in the States.

The Wembley games are ok but a bit dead especially if you get a stinker like the Pats v Bucs a couple of years ago. San Diego v New Orleans was my first Wembley game and it was brilliant because the game was a cracker and I'd never been to Wembley before.

But college football is a completely different experience. I did a semester abroad at West Virginia University and the atmosphere at the college games was immense. I presume the difference is similar to going to a premiership game now as opposed to before all seater stadiums came in and everything became a bit sanitised.

I was in the all standing student section of Mountaineer Field and you would not believe how electric the atmosphere was. Just crazy intense rivalries with the likes on Virginia Tech or Pitt and I remember the riot police surrounding the student section during one game against Pitt.

Plus the whole town and university were buzzing for the whole week of the game and mental after it with burning couches and crazy house parties. I remember walking around after that Pitt game with tears running down my face because of the amount of pepper spray in the air as the police tried to stop the students burning down the whole town. And WVU had won. :pac:

It was those experiences that made me a fan of American Football so I really wasn't too focused what was going on in the field because I was still learning the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Blut2

I've been to regular season games in Lambeau field and Qualcomm stadium and found the length of the game a bit of an issue in both. The last quarters of both games were enjoyable as the game tends to speed up but on both occasions around halftime I found myself half-thinking "when is this going to end". I dont generally find myself thinking that on TV probably thanks to replays etc. Atmosphere wise I felt the crowd at both games was sort of restrained (I know - in Lambeau of all places!). I think the price of tickets puts off a lot of young people, I saw far less groups of young lads than you'd see at a rugby game here. The tailgating experience in Lambeau was something else though, very very cool.

I've also been to college football games at the U of Minnesota and Madison (Wisconsin). I found the college games MUCH more enjoyable to watch. Tens of thousands of drunk students going nuts really added to the atmosphere and made it feel less sterile. There was also less marketing/promotional stuff during timeouts and it just felt more, I dont know, real I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Shiroki

It's my dream to see the Packers live :) Too bad I'm only 17 and don't have any money haha I'm hoping to do a J1, if that works out I will definitely go to a game :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

I have been at tonnes of games. I was a regular attender at the Giants Stadium from 1995-2000 before I moved here. Then I moved back and caught most of the 2007 season. Including the 600th win against Atlanta. I also went to the Superbowl in Glendale which took me 40 hours to drive to, some craic as they say over here :). First NFC Wildcard to win the Superbowl too :D. That was some day.

I also was in the Meadowlands but don't have good memories as we lost to the Cowgirls and the game was delayed by 15 mins due to a power cut.

I was also at another Superbowl. Pats Rams in Louisiana.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

It all depends on the Stadium really. At the top you have teams like the Packers who always have an atmosphere in their stadiums to teams like the Pat who I hate to admit it have a terrible atmosphere at times over the last decade. Been to a fair few dull games in Gillette but have been to some lively ones also.

From the NFL stadiums I have been Lambeau is at the top. Amazing place to see games.

I will add though if the length of the game got to you you need to be drinking more :D Done many a tailgate from the early hours to late evening with the game in between. I would urge people to give the whole experience a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 deckyoh

nah man ive been to the metrodome in minnesota twice and both times it has been the best experience ever,from tailgating to sheer passion and noise on gameday,not trying to be insulting but patriot fans are widely known in the states for being a bit more subdued than most,maybe thats why u found it underwhelming?im a huge vikings fan of 17years for my sins by the way

deckyoh wrote: »
    nah man ive been to the metrodome in minnesota twice and both times it has been the best experience ever,from tailgating to sheer passion and noise on gameday,

I will say having been to the Metrodome twice they are up and down also. Saw my Pats thump the Vikes there a few years back and the Pats danced on them and by Half time there was only half the crowd left watching the second half. They left in their droves. It shows that sometimes you can get a bad experience. The 2nd time i was there like deckyoh it was a cracking experience.
    not trying to be insulting but patriot fans are widely known in the states for being a bit more subdued than most,maybe thats why u found it underwhelming?im a huge vikings fan of 17years for my sins by the way

I agree with this been to many games where Pats fans have been quiet. And as you all know I am Pats fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

It all depends on the Stadium really. At the top you have teams like the Packers who always have an atmosphere in their stadiums to teams like the Pat who I hate to admit it have a terrible atmosphere at times over the last decade.

I will add though if the length of the game got to you you need to be drinking more :D Done many a tailgate from the early hours to late evening with the game in between. I would urge people to give the whole experience a go.

I'm wondering why this is?

No idea but I have started many an argument with fellow Pats fans when I asked them why they were leaving the game early or giving up on their support when the game isnt going our way. Also annoys when they leave early when we are winning big and they start to leave. Tom Brady lashing out this year was probably a good thing as the crowds actually stayed strong for all the games this season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Desertback

Some stadiums suck while others are good.....It just depends on where your at. If you go to a Miami Dolphins game it might just boring because fans are not really into the game. But if you go to a Jets game the stadium is on fire.

In the states the Patriots are sorta disliked because of thier coach.

Also why fans leave early, there are many reasons why.

1.Beat Traffic
    2.Avoid Drunk Drivers
    3.Avoid really pissed off fans that are very drunk (Reason why this is bad.....ANYTHING can piss them off and some of them pack pistols)

How I know......Im from AZ

Desertback wrote: »

In the states the Patriots are sorta disliked because of thier coach.

Not sure how this relates to why the stadium has no atmosphere but success has most hating the Pats. Add Bill Belichick to the fold and they are undoubtedly the most hated team in the NFL right now.
    Also why fans leave early, there are many reasons why.

1.Beat Traffic
    2.Avoid Drunk Drivers
    3.Avoid really pissed off fans that are very drunk (Reason why this is bad.....ANYTHING can piss them off and some of them pack pistols)

How I know......Im from AZ

Under most circumstance you could add a few more reasons to why people leave. But the guys that leave at half time are hardly leaving for the above things. There are a fair few teams who have Fans who leave the game really early when the game is over in their eyes i.e Heavy loss or heavy win. Nothing worse than fans who give up on their teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 deckyoh

lets see how good my memory is,that game in which the pats thumped the vikes at home was a monday game a few years ago in which ye won 31-7?i remember it vividly as we rarely get beat at home,the way things are going we may not have a bloody home anymore soon