Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What does Root your phone mean?

Options
  • 02-02-2011 5:42pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭

I am new to Android, being looking at this forum for a while and see lots of comments about rooting?
    I just got a HTC Desire HD - should I root it? if so is it easy?

It is with 3 and I need to get it unlocked as going away in a couple of months and want to put local sim in it while away so not charged roaming- do I need to bring it to a shop to get this done?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

Have a quick read of this

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭drumm23

Luckycharm wrote: »
    I am new to Android, being looking at this forum for a while and see lots of comments about rooting?

It is with 3 and I need to get it unlocked as going away in a couple of months and want to put local sim in it while away so not charged roaming- do I need to bring it to a shop to get this done?

I'm new to Android too, got one last week and after a few hours googling here and there figured out how to root it and unlock it, take your time reading up on it and it's not too hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Opinicus

Well son, when a man and a phone love each other...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Rooting and unlocking are not the same thing by the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Rooting only takes a minute. Just visionary and that's it. Definitely works with desire hd

• Advertisement
  • Registered Users Posts: 1,540 ✭✭✭Luckycharm

seanybiker wrote: »