Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unemployed. Depressed. What to do?

• 02-02-2011 3:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

Long-term unemployed now, and cannot emigrate due to family responsibilities here.

Anyone got any advice on motivational groups for the unemployed in Dublin?

I've searched the web in vain to find any gathering that meets to discuss ways of staying positive in the recession.

Thanks,

Worried Jobseeker :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

Wrong forum OP you might get a better response over here at Personal Issues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

Long-term unemployed now, and cannot emigrate due to family responsibilities here.

I've searched the web in vain to find any gathering that meets to discuss ways of staying positive in the recession.

Thanks,

Go to FAS.ie they have loads and loads of jobs there for taking.And alot you dont need experience for.:) Good luck dont get depressed loads of people right there with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

OP : there are lots of people who are in the same boat as you, sadly.
    This may or may not be of consolation to you but it might help put things in perspective.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Try Work & Jobs forum for advice and support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

Hang in there. Important that you keep your spirits up - both for you and for the family.

Things will improve eventually. This has happened to almost every generation before us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭bah1011

Training always helps me stay positive. Makes you feel that you are achieving somthing every day. Best of luck with everything.

bah1011 wrote: »
    Training always helps me stay positive. Makes you feel that you are achieving somthing every day. Best of luck with everything.

I agree with you,If money is tight OP and you want to go to gym or swimming etc.. some gyms now have pay by day so you dont need membership.I saw the adds on tv.Might help keep you positive.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

I know this may sound easier said than done, but try use this time to learn another skill maybe in another industry or field that interests you. If you work at it like you would work at a job and treat this as an opportunity for self improvement your whole outlook will improve and the moments of self doubt and negativity will lessen.

Good luck and remember that you can do something special for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭blacksmith105

In the same boat , go and see your gp and tell him how you feel he might give you something to help with the anxiety
    Then look at your skills and where you think you might need to improve so take on a training course to upskill
    Look at your day to day expenses and try to cut out what you dont need such as sky tv , shop around for cheaper insurance shop in lidl
    my best advise is to try and exercise every day get out and walk or run it will make you feel a lot better.
    Keep in there something will turn up ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Limerick Bandit

caseyann wrote: »
    Go to FAS.ie they have loads and loads of jobs there for taking.

:rolleyes: you have no idea what your talking about :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Go to FAS.ie they have loads and loads of jobs there for taking.

Yeah, if you enjoy working for no salary :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭grungepants

I guess im not the same age as you but i feel really depressed aswell.Im now trying really hard to get work and its not helping.I always thought i could stay on top of depression but it just creeps in and now i feel like i cant breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I'm not saying you're hanging around the house OP.
    But people in these situations often get into bad habits, getting up at lunch, watching junk TV, drinking too much of dirt cheap lager and so on.
    Getting drunk in front of the TV to distract themselves

All I can say is get out there running, it'll help your mood.
    And the thing about running is you'll steadily build yourself up and get better and you can set goals

It's a stress buster, hope that helps
    But long walks are good too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭grungepants

I'm not saying you're hanging around the house OP.
    But people in these situations often get into bad habits, getting up at lunch, watching junk TV, drinking too much of dirt cheap lager and so on.
    Getting drunk in front of the TV to distract themselves

All I can say is get out there running, it'll help your mood.
    And the thing about running is you'll steadily build yourself up and get better and you can set goals

It's a stress buster, hope that helps
    But long walks are good too

thats true i god damn swear by it couch to 5k will save your life.
    I just started it this last week.Jog every day or at least three times a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Jonniealan

Try and get out go for a run in the morning seriuosly even if you think your unfit, even more reason to do it. Do some kind of course during the day. Before I found my current job I was on the scratcher for a few months. There was an IT course I wanted to do that cost over 2 grand, I thought i'd chance my arm and ask the social welfare for assistance with this and they agreed to to pay 80% of the fee.

The point is there are things you can do to better your chances of finding work.

AVOID DAYTIME TV AT ALL COSTS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 CMD Training

Worried Jobseeker

Sorry to hear the job search is not going too well for you at the moment. I have been their myself and I certaintly know the feeling. My name is Olivia and I am a course developer at CMD Training Institute, a training company in Sligo. I have been working for the past two years with job seekers and I will tell you what I tell them.

Don't loose heart and don't ever think that you are alone because you are most certaintly not. We all have those down feelings when we are job seeking and no one likes the uncertainty of it.

You need to regain your confidence and realise that you have a worth, someone which makes you 'YOU'. Start making some plans about what you want to do, set some job seeking goals, prioritise them and start to put them into action.

Try doing some of the following:
    • Walk for 20 minutes a day. It will help you to clear your mind and renew your energy level.
    • Talk to someone if your feelings get the best of you.
    • Plan at least one and a half hours a day for job searching.
    • Get involved in a volunteer or community help program as you will get a feeling of worth when you assist others and accomplish something. It can also be used on your CV and help you to build a network of contacts and references.
    • Spend quality time with your family.
    Why not try to do a course to help pass your time and build up some skills. There is loads of courses for jobseekers <snip> 'The 'Not So Dumb' Irish Jobseekers Guide and there is loads of great resources online:

Job Search By Title:
    For comprehensive information on job titles in Ireland, you can check:
    http://www.simplyhired.ie/job-search/title-a/
    http://www.careerdirections.ie/CD/Start.html

Job Search By Job Type or Location:
    http://www.irishjobs.ie/
    http://www.monster.ie/
    http://www.jobs.ie/
    http://www.thejob.ie/
    http://www.irelandjobs.ie/
    http://www.employireland.com/
    http://www.careerjet.ie/
    http://www.indeed.ie/
    http://www.summerjobs.com/
    http://www.jobsearch.ie/
    http://www.loadzajobs.ie/
    http://www.jobisjob.ie

Dont forget to promote yourself using free tools like Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn especially. I got offered two jobs in the past month from companies who saw my profile on LinkedIn which would be brill if I needed a Job! It definately works. You could even try creating an online cv on something like www.slideshare.net where you can upload your cv as a powerpoint presentation. Check out this one at http://www.slideshare.net/FitzMaro/visrespdf This can make you stand out for all the right reasons!

The perfect job is out there waiting for you. Just remember that good things come to those who wait [and those who never give up].

Good Luck and Kindest Regards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭City Boi

Thanks,

You could look to further your skills, there are some good places where you could get new job skills and learn on your own time. It would pass some time in, plus you would get something out of it at the end.

Hope that's some help, best of luck:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Use the time to upskill OP. Evidentally you have an internet connection, so there are a wealth of free resources available to you. Learn a programming language perhaps?

Just google "C++ tutorial" or "java tutorial"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭hairyman

Look up www.yourwealthisyourhealth.com

It may help with part or even full time employment.

No experiance needed.

:rolleyes: you have no idea what your talking about :rolleyes:

Yes i do i work with them all the time and he if unemployed keeps his weekly welfare and can work twenty hours a week.And there is loads of jobs.
    How much you want to get paid for working part time hours and alot have a view to carry on in that job.NTM they also advertise jobs that arent on schemes.

Job Reference Number: 583708
    Number of Jobs: 1
    Contract Type: Other
    Days per Week: NA
    Hours per Week: 19.5
    Daily Hours: NA
    Working Time: NA
    Start Date: Immediate
    Experience Required: No Experience Required
    Minimum Experience: NA Years

Duties include advertise IT centre for courses, taking bookings, responsible for cash intake, general office duties eg accounts books. Applicants must be registered with FÁS and meet specific eligibility criteria for these posts (see CE Eligibility link above). Eligibility will be checked by FAS prior to any referral for CE Schemes. Ineligible applicants will not be able to access these CE positions.

Job Reference Number: 569262
    Number of Jobs: 1
    Contract Type: To Be Advised
    Days per Week: NA
    Hours per Week: 35
    Daily Hours: NA
    Working Time: NA
    Start Date: To be Advised
    Experience Required: NA
    Job Type: WPP1

Area of activity in which placement is offered: Web development/web design dept. Experience gained in web development, multimedia, animation, programming and CMS database systems. Participants will gain experience in: Experience will be gained throughthe use of PHP/MySql coding. Experience gained in Wordpress and other CMS Systems. Experience gained working in Flash and Multimedia Animation Experience gained in E-commerce and M-commerce website. Person specification: We are looking for an enthusiastic team player to join our Limerick based web design department. Knowledge of HTML/XHTML, CSS, basic Photoshop, Dreamweaver (or equivalent) and web standards are a must. Experience of Content Management Systems, PHP, JavaScript, Fireworks and SEO would be great but arent essential. Please send on your CV along with URLs of your amazing work to the email address provided.

Raekwon wrote: »
    Yeah, if you enjoy working for no salary :rolleyes:

Have you viewed the Fas site jobs wise.There is wide variety for those unskilled and skilled.You arent going to be paid ****e money,and people moan about those on labour being paid to do nothing.(Not at you OP as i dont know yoru circumstances and wouldn't judge anyway)
    But when people have no job get their welfare and work 19 and half hours a week they are working for what they get on welfare with the extra bit on wages.So how is that working for no salary?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

There's something called Dublin Jobs Club, which I've heard good things about. Haven't tried it myself, but it was one of the things that inspired the woman who set up West of Ireland Networking in Galway which is very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Have you viewed the Fas site jobs wise.There is wide variety for those unskilled and skilled.You arent going to be paid ****e money,and people moan about those on labour being paid to do nothing.(Not at you OP as i dont know yoru circumstances and wouldn't judge anyway)
    But when people have no job get their welfare and work 19 and half hours a week they are working for what they get on welfare with the extra bit on wages.So how is that working for no salary?

Caseyann, your comments suggest to me that you've looked at the FAS website, but aren't overly familiar with the details of what's on offer there.

People on WPP get to keep their benefit in return for a full-time working week (granted WPP is being changed now, thank goodness). For someone under 25, that can mean working 40 hours for approx e100. And we've seen enough posts here to know that even WPPs aren't easy to get accepted for unless you have relevant experience (which is, of course, exactly what the programme is supposed to GIVE participants rather than REQUIRE of them).

People on regular CE schemes are only required to work for 19.5 hours/week, and do get a small travel allowance. And if they can can find other part-time employment, the income from this doesn't affect their "benefit". But these are which are a lot harder to get into, and there aren't so many of them. And scheme sponsors often have their preferred candidates before the scheme is advertised.

Of the regular jobs posted on FAS.ie, there are a good many which are commission-only sales: this is something which a few people can handle, but many can't. Some advertised jobs there are old (their default appears to be to display jobs for one month). And a few are genuine, current, vacancies. But only a few compared to the number of people who are job-less or under-employed.

<Moderation>

Everyone: there has been a reported post in this thread, because someone considered that it was rude. And IMHO it was bordering on being a little personal. However a number of people have pressed the "thank you" button on it, and (as stated above) I roughly agree with the sentiment.

So I'm not taking any other action other than to remind you all that:
    1. The charter says we need to be civil, and
    2. Threads are expected to stay roughly on topic.
    Any further off-topic posts on this thread will be deleted.

</Moderation>

I did not mean to insult anyone with my earlier post but it is an insult to me for anyone to say that there are loads of jobs out there "just have a look on fas" loads of jobs for the taking? :mad: as someone who spends hours every day going through all the job sites looking for a job I know how hard it is to find any job.

I was in fas on Friday and even the staff i was talking to were saying how hard it is to find any sort of work :( but hey, it can only get better :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

Hey Op, im sorry your feeling so down at the moment. Im not sure what your qualified in as you dont mention it in the post, but have you thought about volunteering for a local charity, it will get you out of the house and you never know it might help you meet someone who can help you find a job. Even something like volunteering to exercise dogs for you local animal shelter would get you out of the house. My bf is starting this week with one local to him and ok its not a paying job, but its getting him out of the house for a few hours a week and gets him some exercise.

I hope you find something soon. Take care of yourself.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

I did not mean to insult anyone with my earlier post but it is an insult to me for anyone to say that there are loads of jobs out there "just have a look on fas" loads of jobs for the taking? :mad: as someone who spends hours every day going through all the job sites looking for a job I know how hard it is to find any job.

I was in fas on Friday and even the staff i was talking to were saying how hard it is to find any sort of work :( but hey, it can only get better :)

I had an interview in Fas and the lady was so despondant,saying that social welfare are sending people down even though the staff in the Fas office was cut and she was worried about her own job.
    Its all paper pushing people!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭zxcvbnm12

i was in fas thurs to apply for an oil boiler servicin g course.the lady said i was the 30 th person in to the office that wk to apply for the same course

zxcvbnm12 wrote: »
    i was in fas thurs to apply for an oil boiler servicin g course.the lady said i was the 30 th person in to the office that wk to apply for the same course

Do you need to be a spark's or fitter to do that course?

I agree with you,If money is tight OP and you want to go to gym or swimming etc.. some gyms now have pay by day so you dont need membership.I saw the adds on tv.Might help keep you positive.:)

Can I ask where?..And how if you're living on a pittance? I prefer to have a hot meal once a day!

Do you need to be a spark's or fitter to do that course?
    well im a plumber so i qualify to do it but them 2 cud probably do it aswell.are u lk city or county

ah ya plumber would fit in for that course too :) Im in the city, doing some driver training myself at the moment, got to keep busy :)

To the lads who suggest running..Ita a great thought..but not all long term unemployed..or short term either..are 19 or 20..

Lots of older people there too who cant just take off running..as good as it sounds :pac:

ah ya plumber would fit in for that course too :) Im in the city, doing some driver training myself at the moment, got to keep busy :)
    ya exactly,there isnt too much happenin in my neck of the woods either. ncw.is it a course that u are doin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

chucken1 wrote: »
    To the lads who suggest running..Ita a great thought..but not all long term unemployed..or short term either..are 19 or 20..

Lots of older people there too who cant just take off running..as good as it sounds :pac:
    Im lucky enough to be employed(in a factory)-on nights 2mor.But running aint gonna improve your finances FFS.The countrys fcukd.Thanks to fianna fail..vote otherwise.

ya exactly,there isnt too much happenin in my neck of the woods either. ncw.is it a course that u are doin

Im going for the rigid, artic and forklift licences but i have to do the truck's private because fas has stopped doing the rigid and I think they still do the artic but im sure there will be a long waiting list for it, at lease the local driving school will get 3K by me training with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

the countrys gone to fook basically.If I had a Trade Id emigrate.Theres nothing here.fianna fail-remember berties big, stupid FF head when ye go to vote.:D.I nearly puke every time i see his mug.

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    Im lucky enough to be employed(in a factory)-on nights 2mor.But running aint gonna improve your finances FFS.The countrys fcukd.Thanks to fianna fail..vote otherwise.

My point about running was my age..Im saying running isnt a getaway for all unemployed! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Reactor

JustMary wrote: »
    Caseyann, your comments suggest to me that you've looked at the FAS website, but aren't overly familiar with the details of what's on offer there.

People on WPP get to keep their benefit in return for a full-time working week (granted WPP is being changed now, thank goodness). For someone under 25, that can mean working 40 hours for approx e100. And we've seen enough posts here to know that even WPPs aren't easy to get accepted for unless you have relevant experience (which is, of course, exactly what the programme is supposed to GIVE participants rather than REQUIRE of them).

People on regular CE schemes are only required to work for 19.5 hours/week, and do get a small travel allowance. And if they can can find other part-time employment, the income from this doesn't affect their "benefit". But these are which are a lot harder to get into, and there aren't so many of them. And scheme sponsors often have their preferred candidates before the scheme is advertised.

Of the regular jobs posted on FAS.ie, there are a good many which are commission-only sales: this is something which a few people can handle, but many can't. Some advertised jobs there are old (their default appears to be to display jobs for one month). And a few are genuine, current, vacancies. But only a few compared to the number of people who are job-less or under-employed.

<Moderation>

Everyone: there has been a reported post in this thread, because someone considered that it was rude. And IMHO it was bordering on being a little personal. However a number of people have pressed the "thank you" button on it, and (as stated above) I roughly agree with the sentiment.

</Moderation>
    What do you mean by the WPP being changed now JustMary?

JustMary wrote: »

<Moderation>

</Moderation>

Those jobs i posted are suited for non qualified for ce schemes and for those who are qualified.And yes i do know what they are about and how it works.I wasnt familiar with change in WWP.Why are you even quoting me when i basically said the same thing about ce schemes?:confused:

I am sorry to hear that,but i think better to go through the site and view it for yourself.I have seen a lot of jobs that are still open maybe not down your particular skills but i was trying to help someone else who might have skills they are looking for and is depressed to give them a bit of hope.On top of that alot dont actually even want people with experience and Fás have so many people running in and out of their offices you are better finding it through site and applying not through Fás but go to them on your own back .
    What type are you looking for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

...ways of staying positive in the recession.

Thanks,

Allocated a specific amount of time to job hunting. Once a day or every second day etc. And do it properly, target a specific job, and specific companies. But that's a different topic. Just don't spend all your time on it.

Then switch off, and do something else. Cycle, walk, fix something, paint something. Fix something for a neighbor friend. Basically do something positive, that makes you feel good. Take up a new project, for your off job hunting time. Learn a new skill.