Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

visa/record question

• 02-02-2011 3:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13

hi all, sorry im sure ye're sick of these questions but sure ill throw it out there and see anyway.

i have a criminal record. 2 for theft 10 years ago, not in my home county. small rediculous stuff (an electric razor and an alarm clock), as i said, dumb stuff. i was fined 25 and 50 pounds, respectively.

i was also caught in my home county for no licence/insurance/tax, but i got away with it, because a friend knew a friend.... etc. sometimes the law in Ireland can be nice.

Anyways, this is all when i was a dumb kid 10 years ago. ive since grown up, educated myself and been a solid citizen.

now. im interested in emigrating. the option of the US or Oz would be nice.

i went to the local Garda station and asked them what info they had on me. he said all he could find was a traffic incident, - now i didnt push this dlicate point as you can imagine, the less said about it the better. -but i dont believe i was ever charged for that. he had nothing about the 2 thefts (i didnt rob anyones house or property btw, 1 was a supermarket and the other im not going into cos it was too dumb)

sooo. ive been reading on the Garda vetting FAQ page. so far as i can make out, when you apply for residency or a visa your local Garda station is contacted. if they only have a traffic incident on record, am i sweet?!

probably not, but hell its worth asking.

thanks for reading and plz dont ask about the crimes. cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

They are going to want to know about stuff in your own country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Croc

To the best of my knowledge its a Police Certificate of Character that you will require for a Visa and you will require one from each country you ever lived in and thats where your problems will start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 ned209

hi, im afraid ye misread, county, not country.

i was living on the east coast of Ireland for the theft misadventures, and on the west coast for the no licence foolishness.

now the Guards on the east coast only seem to have info on the no licence affair, which is a traffic offence and minor?

kind regards,
    ned .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Were the convictions for theft actual convictions? Were you a juvenile a the time?

The information available on Pulse may not include information from before it was set up. A proper check will include your paper file.

You attitude seems somewhat flippant about it and if immigration get a whiff of that, you may be in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Croc

ned209 wrote: »
    hi, im afraid ye misread, county, not country.

i was living on the east coast of Ireland for the theft misadventures, and on the west coast for the no licence foolishness.

now the Guards on the east coast only seem to have info on the no licence affair, which is a traffic offence and minor?

kind regards,
    ned .

Sorry about that :), but as Victor says they will do a trawl though Paper Records as well when they are processing the Police Cert of Character.

cheers, yeah, they were actually convictions, i was 20 at the time. i guess ill send off for a police report and see what comes back.

flippant, perhaps... i thought it was odd/though maybe i was lucky when they didnt seem aware of them. we'll see i guess.

thanks for the info
    ned .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Do you have the skills (hence option)to migrate to Oz or the US because without them this exercise is piontless.

well i have a degree in graphic design... not a lot of experience though.