Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pretty alarming

• 02-02-2011 1:52am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭

put in your email address at this site and just watch how much of your stuff is online..
    www.spokeo.com

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

That thing couldnt be more shit if it tried. Could not find one thing about me. Which is great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Sure jaysus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I found more just googling it than using that thing :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 405 ✭✭Econoline Van

It gives me a wrong name and says I live in North Carolina :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

It found that "apparently" my email address is a genuine email address. Such insight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

It's not really finding much for me either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

And it's now harvesting all your e-mail addresses, and more if you were silly enough to put in anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Wow, only $35 to see my own data? What a bargain - cheers OP.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

i got every social network i'm part of, photos and how much my house was worth..wtf???

god yis are a really friendly bunch:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

has me down for sites i know i dont use i declare shenanigans on that site

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

david75 wrote: »
    put in your email address at this harvester
    www.spokeo.com

Fixed your post.

Christ, some people will fall for anything.

I fell for it :(:mad::(:mad::eek::(:mad::(:mad:
    What happens now???

Buceph wrote: »
    And it's now harvesting all your e-mail addresses, and more if you were silly enough to put in anything else.

Cool. I put in my wheat, and some corn. Will it seperate the chaff do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Seems I'm on 40 plus social networks

Zazzle? Disqus? Jango?

Hell I never heard of most of these

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I fell for it :(:mad::(:mad::eek::(:mad::(:mad:
    What happens now???

you get aids.

mikom wrote: »
    Christ, some people will fall for anything.

Maybe I want cheap [EMAIL="V1@gra"]V1@gra[/EMAIL]...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Einhard wrote: »
    Cool. I put in my wheat, and some corn. Will it seperate the chaff do you think?

Nope. You'd need a thresher for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

lol you fools

Yakult wrote: »
    you get aids.
    not the good kind either I'm guessing?

What really happens?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

It does allow you to delete your entry but if someone pays you're still on view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭macquarie

You'd wanna be a serious f**king gobsh1te to type your email address into that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Put in an address that i just use for spam and stupid sign up things. The site just crashed.

:(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Has my name as a fake name I gave when starting the email account or that.

Never put real information into worthless sites.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Handy. Found 3 pics I forgot about. Now just add crap to spam and its grand again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

Buceph wrote: »

**** sake

Normally I don't fall for this shite but in a moment of pure stupidity I typed in my main gmail account.

Nothing came up and I didn't even think about it again until 2 mins ago I started getting messages from a friend on gmail (beeped on my android phone) as this guy messages me on gmail chat the odd time I didnt instantly cop on but it was obvious a min later it was a chat bot or something.

Then I remembered this thread.

**** sake, kept that e-mail clean for so long.

Advice?

Oh yeah and cheers op :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

I typed in an old e-mail address, it came up with my mother's name and showed a book she bought on Amazon!

However, apparently she is on one social network site : rubbish, she died 6 years ago before social networking sites were known about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

ban for op? cnut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Always remember to ask a parent before you go on line. The interweb can be a scary place.