Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Headfort Golf club

• 01-02-2011 1:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭

thinking of playing Headfort golf club sometime soon ( the new course) going by the strokesaver it looks really nice . has anyone played it . is it any good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

It's a great course, with great facilities, and the green fees are some of the best value you'll ever get.

I've only played it off the front tees, which (as long as you are aren't one of those players who freezes at the sight of water) makes it a relatively easy course.

There is water everywhere on the front 9.

I found that most of the par 3s are pretty much the same length - plus 3 of them are to island-y greens; have a look at the card and work out what club you need to make the distance and get your mind right for that.

The greens (when I played them) were a tad slow, but very true. You can attack most putts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

Its a fantastic course (as is the old one). There is an awful lot of water on it, but if you can blank that out and concentrate on your normal lines, it shouldn't come into play too much. It'll be playing long at this time of year though, even from forward tees.

Enjoy it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Its a brilliant course. The best parkland course ive played and my favourite also. No weak hole and the front nine in particular is as good as parkland golf gets. It can be tough but I guarantee you will enjoy it nomatter what you score. The green fee for such a fine course is terrific aswell. The old course there is good too but its the new course you want to play. Let us know how you get on and what you think of the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Tin_Cup

Defo worth a trip out. One of my favourites. Try and get out here at least 4/5 times a year. If your up for it they do a great two course deal during the summer (new / old on same day).

Just thinking about the place has be wanting to head down for a round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭deko43

ThunderCat wrote: »
    Its a brilliant course. The best parkland course ive played and my favourite also. No weak hole and the front nine in particular is as good as parkland golf gets. It can be tough but I guarantee you will enjoy it nomatter what you score. The green fee for such a fine course is terrific aswell. The old course there is good too but its the new course you want to play. Let us know how you get on and what you think of the place.

Agree that the new course is great but I still prefer the old one.
    I won a couple of society outings on the old so playing well tends to
    colour your opinion.

As recommended by another poster, play both.. you will have a great day. Grub in clubhouse is good too....

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Played the new course once around this time of year... enjoyed it & would like to have a crack at it in the summer when it's leafy.
    Clubhouse looked good and the breakfast was good I remember.. friendly staff, which is more than can be said about the couple of disinterested 'yokes' I remember from the pro-shop. Funny how a small, simple, 2 minute encounter like paying a green-fee can leave such an impression and colour your opinion of a place.

Licksy wrote: »
    Played the new course once around this time of year... enjoyed it & would like to have a crack at it in the summer when it's leafy.
    Clubhouse looked good and the breakfast was good I remember.. friendly staff, which is more than can be said about the couple of disinterested 'yokes' I remember from the pro-shop. Funny how a small, simple, 2 minute encounter like paying a green-fee can leave such an impression and colour your opinion of a place.

Have to say I agree with Licksy. Have been well looked after in the clubhouse but same cant be said for the pro shop. If the course wasn't so good I wouldn't head back at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

+1 re the pro-shop.

Staff seem very uninterested and, while not quite rude, would give the impression that if you got knocked over on the road on your way to the first tee that there'd be an argument over who would have to ring an ambulance, if at all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

Have to agree with the last few posts about the pro-shop. There is no need for it and at a lesser course it might be enough to put you off ever going back, but luckily for Headfort their golf courses are worth putting up with that akward couple of minutes, although it shouldnt be the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭cackhanded

Just noticed on my teetimes.ie e-mail today that Headfort New can be had for E16 - can't get much better value than that for a wonderful course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭TheGrump

cackhanded wrote: »
    Just noticed on my teetimes.ie e-mail today that Headfort New can be had for E16 - can't get much better value than that for a wonderful course.

I'm not sure if it is a mistake or not but if you go onto Headforts website you can book a 2, 3 or 4 ball for €20 on the old course (that's total price, not per person). If that is correct then it's bargain of the century :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭johntommy

TheGrump wrote: »
    I'm not sure if it is a mistake or not but if you go onto Headforts website you can book a 2, 3 or 4 ball for €20 on the old course (that's total price, not per person). If that is correct then it's bargain of the century :cool:

Its 20 euro per person. Still an absolute steal. Played new course last saturday. Greens excellent for time of year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭seanmc1980

just booked here for sat, 20 euro, cant beat that! , really looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭dnjoyce

booked for Sunday morning - savage deal if the frost stays away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭brianthomas

Never played it. Seems I've been missin out.

Clondalkin in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭golfbgud

There's a special running for month of Feb.
    • €15 to play with a member.
    • €20 any day any course.

Good value lads (yes I am biased being a member)......

Interesting feedback on the Proshop. Not the first time either......

I will find a way to report that back to the Club as this sort of press doesn't help the Club in the current times.

Luckily, the players see the courses as valuable and let the rest go over their heads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭goodgolfer64

HOLD ON....lets not get carried away....headfort a top designed course..when first opened the greens the best ive ever seen.layout possibly best parkland in country...recently played them and oh dear...greens gone to hell considering all usga greens....had heard talk of the club in weee trouble from meath members....but dont know how true that is....yeah mcgovern a total ignoramus in pro shop!!!!

Have to say I agree with the above on the greens. When we played both courses last year the old greens where rolling amazing but was a very different story on the New. Looked like there was some kind of disease or that in them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭strokes1

Heading up to play Headfort New in the morning- whats the chances they would close it due to bad weather?

Its bucketing down rain at the minute but I think its a full time sheet (money wise for the club)!

Have they closed the course much in the last few weeks due to bad weather?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭dnjoyce

Played the new course today, very wet in places but given the amount of rain that had fallen it actually took it pretty well. 3 temps in play but for 20 quid that's fine, other greens were rolling pretty well. Excellent value IMHO.
    I'd also add that the welcome in the pro shop was very polite and enthusiastic - not sure if the earlier posts here had been relayed to those involved!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭strokes1

Played Saturday! Nice track! Pitty about the temp greens! Otherwise very well layed out! Well worth a visit during the summer!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

For any Headfort members on here does anyone know which course will be used for the Senior Cup later in the year? New or Old?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rafared

Would agree with the comments on the pro shop and the Pro himself in particular. I found them to be very disinterested and even go as far to say they were arrogant and rude.
    On another occasion I was paying a green fee and asked for a price on a Powacaddy electric trolley I was shopping around for at the time. Basically the Pro's attitude was if I wasnt a member he wasnt interested in selling it to me. He wouldnt even give me a price! He said "go to Mcguirks, they'll look after you". :eek:

AGC wrote: »
    For any Headfort members on here does anyone know which course will be used for the Senior Cup later in the year? New or Old?

Cheers

Senior Cup is on the New Course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭GetInTheHole!

rafared wrote: »
    Would agree with the comments on the pro shop and the Pro himself in particular. I found them to be very disinterested and even go as far to say they were arrogant and rude.
    On another occasion I was paying a green fee and asked for a price on a Powacaddy electric trolley I was shopping around for at the time. Basically the Pro's attitude was if I wasnt a member he wasnt interested in selling it to me. He wouldnt even give me a price! He said "go to Mcguirks, they'll look after you". :eek:

The ironic thing about that is that you'd probably get the same attitutude in McGuirks as well!!

I've actually come across a few apes in certain pro shops around the country - although the vast majority are very helpful.

Its a shame as all it takes for one idiot to give a place a bad name..

In this day and age - its the last things some courses need to be doing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rafared

The ironic thing about that is that you'd probably get the same attitutude in McGuirks as well!!

I've actually come across a few apes in certain pro shops around the country - although the vast majority are very helpful.

Its a shame as all it takes for one idiot to give a place a bad name..

In this day and age - its the last things some courses need to be doing..

Ended up buying it in McGuirks in Blanchardstown. It was 4 years ao so I cant remember the salesmans name but he was top class. He gave me a great deal and also a discount off a new powacaddy bag which I was well chuffed with. Its been a while since Ive bought anything else from them so maybe their standards have slipped?
    By the way I heard recently on a visitor who went into the Pro in Headfort to buy a ball marker with the course logo on it (he collects them when he plays a course for the first time) He came out empty handed because yer man was so ignorant he just told him to keep it and walked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 reflog rehtona

Agree 100% regarding the pro-shop staff, well certainly the one person I dealt with. Completely arrogant and unfriendly. It does leave a sour taste and if the course wasn't as good as it is and such good value I certainly wouldn't be returning. Top quality course though, played there last summer. Have the greens improved any since some of the above posts? Would definitely head back there in February at that price if all the greens are in use and in decent condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭goodgolfer64

Agree 100% regarding the pro-shop staff, well certainly the one person I dealt with. Completely arrogant and unfriendly. It does leave a sour taste and if the course wasn't as good as it is and such good value I certainly wouldn't be returning. Top quality course though, played there last summer. Have the greens improved any since some of the above posts? Would definitely head back there in February at that price if all the greens are in use and in decent condition.

lets not beat around the bush here, :) its one guy the head pro let me make it easy 4 ya....a complete ignoramus!!!!tho a top golfer... once buyin a bar of chocolate...went up to counter..he was reading the paper on counter....i was about a metre away from him...i remember actually laughing at the situation n threw the change on the paper...and walked out...maybe he wanted to finish before lifting his head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭whocares86

Played here a few days ago . and what a class course it is. definitley up there with the best parkland courses in the country. will be back for sure . also no problem in the pro shop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Sandwlch

whocares86 wrote: »
    also no problem in the pro shop

Are there usually ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Fursttimer

Headfort New

Anyone played there within the last week? How is the course condition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭neeb03

Played it this morning. Incredible. The BEST Parkland course by far. Far better value than the others and in great condition. Greens could be a bit faster and the bunkers could be better, but stunning golf course.

Playing the New in an open tomorrow, anyone been down the last few days??

Tin_Cup wrote: »
    Playing the New in an open tomorrow, anyone been down the last few days??

Played Sunday - greens slow but course was in good nick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭AdpRo

Played new course last weekend, stunning course but greens are very slow.

Thanks for replies guys. Course was in good nick but as other poster have said greens where on the slow side. Jammers today bout 5hrs for round