Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motor tax out of date on used car.

• 31-01-2011 9:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23

I bought a used car last week from a Nissan main dealer in Mayo. Just got the motor tax renewal form and it tells me the tax disc will start from the first day of June 2010. As it is now Jan 2011 that means I'll only get 6 months tax for the price of a year. does anyone know what can be done to sort this as there is obviously 6 months arrears since I bought it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

You're not obliged to pay back tax for a newly purchased car in someone else's name. You need to sign and send the VRC to Shannon and wait for your name to be registered as the owner, then tax the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 surferseamey

Confab wrote: »
    You're not obliged to pay back tax for a newly purchased car is someone else's name. You need to sign and send the VRC to Shannon and wait for your name to be registered as the owner, then tax the car.

The new log book in my name has been sent out to me and the motor tax renewal form (RF 100B) has been sent with my PIN for renewing on line, however the form is telling me the tax disc will commence on the first day of June 2010.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

What date does the logbook list the change of ownership as?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

theres a form in your motor tax office for new motor tax, bring it to the guards and get them to stamp it for you explaining you just bought the car. Bring it to the motor tax office aand all will be rosy

stevenmu wrote: »
    What date does the logbook list the change of ownership as?

Logbook says new owner, ie. me, was 21st Jan 2011. I'll try filling in the new tax form and getting the gaurds to stamp it this afternoon. Hopefully all should be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Don't do it today. Wait until tomorrow for the new month.

wyndham wrote: »
    Don't do it today. Wait until tomorrow for the new month.

+1 and let them know you haven't driven it yet too.

padma wrote: »
    +1 and let them know you haven't driven it yet too.
    Only back from holidays in france yesterday so have tickets to proove I was out the country. Don't even have to tell any porkies!!!

The guards are grand about it, they don't ask, one time a guard just told me to come back tomorrow as it was a first of the month coming up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

the gards are only witnessing your signature...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

+1 The guards never ask questions!

The first time I had to do this I was bricking it going into the Garda Station and had my story all rehersed of what I was going to say if they asked me questions...... they signed the form and commented on the good weather we were having at the time :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭si_guru

dlambirl wrote: »
    they signed the form and commented on the good weather we were having at the time :rolleyes:

Jayz..... a detective!