Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long will Taoiseach Enda last ?

• 30-01-2011 9:46pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10

Well we all know now that Enda kenny will be taoiseach in 6/7 weeks time, but how long do you think he will last in the job? I give him about 12-18 untill FG get rid off him. He will be just as unpopular with the public as brian cowen because things wont be better anytime soon there is still more taxes and welfare cuts to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭yosemite_sam

No guarantee Enda will make it, his own party are not sure of him never mind the people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Kabbary wrote: »
    He will be just as unpopular with the public as brian cowen because things wont be better anytime soon there is still more taxes and welfare cuts to come.

He won't have been the cause, though, so I would hope that the electorate would have more cop-on than that.

If FG manage to start building a ladder out of the massive hole that FF dug for us, I would pray that at least some of the Irish voters have the cop on to recognise that.

However (a) there's no guarantee that there's enough drive for real change in FG and (b) even if there is, there's no guarantee that they'll manage it, given the depths of the crisis, and (c) there's no underestimating the short-sightedness of some sectors of the electorate either.

We can only hope, and keep the ticket to Oz or Canada or some other ethical country on standby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

He'll last long enough to get the country working again. He'll have to have that as his top priority. If he dose'nt, then the FF f**kers will be back to finish off the demise of this great little country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Right up until the enda?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Right up until the enda?

So the enda the Irish state is in sight? This sounds bad.

Vote No to Enda!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    We can only hope, and keep the ticket to Oz or Canada or some other ethical country on standby.
    Ethical country?! I presume you're adding Australia because they haven't suffered yet? Why?

Australia is a champion of light touch regulation and high private debt and with its property bubble is following Ireland down the same doomed path, their recession just hasn't happened yet. However when it does happen I am sure you will add to the ''they should have seen it coming'' chorus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

he last until Labour & FF and/or SF form a coalition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

He's on The week in politics now in an interview with Sean O Rourke.

Obviously been to media classes this past week but can't say it's done him any good. Lots of deliberate pauses and strange intakes of breath. Sounds like he ran into the studio 30 seconds before the off.

later10 wrote: »
    Ethical country?! I presume you're adding Australia because they haven't suffered yet?.

You presume wrong. Whether or not a country has suffered isn't a reflection on whether or not its ethos is ethical and fair.

The goings-on at the banks and FF forcing us to fit the bill are my issue; not whether or not there's a boom and bust cycle per se.

If Oz doesn't manage it correctly, I will raise an eyebrow, yes. However if they manage it fairly, allocating blame and pain appropriately, I will have much less of an objection.......there's a difference between mistakes (which should, of course, be minimised) and condoning / rewarding corruption.

If Oz is shown to be the latter, I'll treat like with like.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

later10 wrote: »
    Australia is a champion of light touch regulation and high private debt and with its property bubble is following Ireland down the same doomed path, their recession just hasn't happened yet. However when it does happen I am sure you will add to the ''they should have seen it coming'' chorus.

Australia is probably heading for a crash alright but they have raised interest rates numerous times to cool the property sector. Could you have seen Ireland do that...?

By the way their crash will not bankrupt the country and 25% of their GDP is NOT reliant on the consturction sector.
    So I make it OZ 3 Ireland 0 if you are keeping score on running a country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭selfobsessed

Back on topic I predict Enda will last six months until there will be a confidence vote in him, then Bruton will take over. It won't look good for Ireland, having a newly elected prime minister of a new government being removed from office so quickly :rolleyes:

jank wrote: »
    Australia is probably heading for a crash alright but they have raised interest rates numerous times to cool the property sector. Could you have seen Ireland do that...?

To be fair, Ireland couldn't actually do that part.
    By the way their crash will not bankrupt the country and 25% of their GDP is NOT reliant on the consturction sector.

So given that the first wasn't an option, Oz is still ahead 2-0 by my reckoning.

But anyway.....as selfobsessed said.....back on topic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    To be fair, Ireland couldn't actually do that part.

So given that the first wasn't an option, Oz is still ahead 2-0 by my reckoning.

But anyway.....as selfobsessed said.....back on topic.

That is true but even if Ireland had control over interest rates could you see the Central Bank bumping up interest rates in the times of Bertie? Nothing would surprise me of that man. Keep in mind all the tax breaks, section 35 and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Oasis_Dublin

To be fair, our overlords.. sorry I mean friends in Frankfurt controlled the interest rates in the Eurozone. Thank God we have our mates in Germany looking out for us all the time, they're swell.

On the issue of this topic. Enda will last a few years, all the while with FF badgering him with their populist, "national (party) interest" BS. The moronic electorate will buy it, as they always do (FG have never led back to back governments) and Micheál Martin will lead the following government with a landslide GE victory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭petroltimer

If the British public are anything to go by, then enda may have a very short honeymoon, the coalition in Britain is already seen as the bad guys for trying to dig Britain out of Labours hole.

Off note our very own labour could make our hole a lot bigger, so here is hoping for a one sided FG coalition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

*From my limited knowledge*
    If I were an Aussie I would be more worried about the countries dependence on exports to China. The Chinese are busy blowing a massive bubble at the moment and if they don't manage it correctly it will blow up in their faces taking everyone with them.
    If the British public are anything to go by, then enda may have a very short honeymoon, the coalition in Britain is already seen as the bad guys for trying to dig Britain out of Labours hole.

Off note our very own labour could make our hole a lot bigger, so here is hoping for a one sided FG coalition.

The British public see the coalition (particularly the Lib Dems) as the bad guys because they are breaking promises they made during the election. I would also feel aggrieved if someone said one thing in order to get my vote and then turned around and gave me the finger once they got into power.

They are also steamrolling ahead with massive cuts that while necessary perhaps could be carried out over a longer time period to allow for adjustment and not cause excessive shocks to the economy. That being said, their still light years ahead of FF and the Greenies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

Kabbary wrote: »
    Well we all know now that Enda kenny will be taoiseach in 6/7 weeks time, but how long do you think he will last in the job? I give him about 12-18 untill FG get rid off him. He will be just as unpopular with the public as brian cowen because things wont be better anytime soon there is still more taxes and welfare cuts to come.

Unpopular isn't necessarily a bad thing. The media in Ireland is of very poor standard. Bertie the King was very popular and look where he brought us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,687 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I think enda will last 10 to 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

God help us with Taoiseach Enda but I suppose unlike his predecessor, at least his suits will look like they fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭sanbrafyffe

i reckon the government shud plea to canadian and aussie governments to up the visa for the irish refugees lol.id laff if enda proved ye all wrong and there was good signs of recovery.then there will be less people on here with no work blowing their trumpets about him every day.never judge a book by its cover