Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

4 in a row

• 30-01-2011 10:56am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭

Great stalk this morning.
    My self and 4gun headed out for a stalk out on the Kerry mountains.
    We came across a fox first and we took it as a good omen as we have always gotten deer after seeing a fox.
    Anyway. I took a shot at the fox to give us our first kill.
    Good so far
    Then when we stopped for a scan on the crest of a ridge.
    I scanned the ground which looked ideal for sika and it wasn't long before I spotted 4 nice sika hinds.

At this stage thy were about 600y away so we had to stalk into them across the mountain side using the cover as we went. Every now and then we stopped to access the situation.
    They were moving across to our right. And were unaware of us when we found a suitable spot around 220y. We settled onto a nice firm bank and readied ourselves.
    Then we counted 3,2,1.. BANG
    Both together. 2 down.
    Then the other kind of bolted one twards us and 4gun nailed her. And the last one ran firt away then back around to present a hart shot which I took.
    It was all over in seconds.

957e4f53.jpg
    4afadbca.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

what a way to spend a sunday mornin! fair play lads and great pics.

what knife is that???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭clivej

Fair play and good shooting Paulo and 4Gun. It's after the shooting that the real work starts.

Paulo did you get a new hat???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Fantastic stuff lads,

Must be those hats, you'll have lads PM'ing you asking where you got em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

Great shooting lads! Fantastic way to spend a Sunday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭patsat

Nice shooting there lads!

Looks like sika deer are going to escape me for another year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Would u field dress there and then i.e take the meat of the carcass or would you bring the carcass home and do it then? Hope the car wasn't to far:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

what a way to spend a sunday mornin! fair play lads and great pics.

what knife is that

is the knife you are asking about.

f2cfee35.jpg

Clive I forgot my hat so 4gun donated his for the sake of the pic.
    Don't worry I still have it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭tiny-nioclas

Great work lads, looks like you made the most out of the season poulo, your right too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭Feidhlim Dignan

Why did you shoot 4 hinds wont that drop the population buy a good bit next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭clivej

Why did you shoot 4 hinds wont that drop the population buy a good bit next year

Because one Stag could cover a heard there's no point in shooting the Stags and Bucks to reduce the deer population. This is why the does and hinds are culled back as it's the only way to make any impact on the deer numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

nice shooting, was a lovely mornin to be out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

thats the one lad, lovely knife!

It's a Nieto handcrafted Spain 440c stainless. Well that's what is stamped on the blade.
    I bought it years ago I can't remember where but it just felt good in my hand and it holds an edge really well.
    It flies threw the deer and you could chop a branch with it if you wanted.
    The blade is 7" long

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Hell of a morning there lads! Much of a drag? Would put a fair sweat on you doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,869 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

Premier haul:cool:;)

Spunk84 wrote: »
    Would u field dress there and then i.e take the meat of the carcass or would you bring the carcass home and do it then? Hope the car wasn't to far:D

no we dont field dress them, they come rapped in their very own cling wrap that keeps them nice and clean until you get it home.
    its easier to do it when you have it hanging at home and it can be broken down into meal size chunks and then frozen or eaten fresh.

we had to drag them about 700-800m to a farm near the road. then walk back a mile or 2 to the jeep at another farm.
    it was grand cos it was a lovely morning, and we stopped for a chat to one of the farmers along the way all told it was a lovely way to spend a sunday morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

Poulo is trying to save my blushes..I suggested we take both cars this morning and park mine up the other side of the mountain from where we were to set off from..that way we could keep going in the one direction and check out a high mountain of heather where I have often seen a good herd of hinds ..good job we only got half way there as I realised as we were dragging our spoils closer to the road I had left my keys back in poulos van for safe keeping,:o in case I lost them on the mountain.:rolleyes:.
    but all thas end well because we met a chap on the way who gave us more permission to shoot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Nice one lads. Good old chunk of work you're doing. :)

4gun wrote: »
    Poulo is trying to save my blushes..I suggested we take both cars this morning and park mine up the other side of the mountain from where we were to set off from..that way we could keep going in the one direction and check out a high mountain of heather where I have often seen a good herd of hinds ..good job we only got half way there as I realised as we were dragging our spoils closer to the road I had left my keys back in poulos van for safe keeping,:o in case I lost them on the mountain.:rolleyes:.
    but all thas end well because we met a chap on the way who gave us more permission to shoot

i didnt want to embarrass you. it worked out for the best anyway ;)

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    i didnt want to embarrass you. it worked out for the best anyway ;)

us Kerrymen have thick skin...we have to :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭sean raff

well done there guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭fallowbuck

tought the killkenny boy's could only do four in a row

fallowbuck wrote: »
    tought the killkenny boy's could only do four in a row

kerry footballers have done it twice ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭fallowbuck

ya got me there ha................:o

fallowbuck wrote: »
    ya got me there ha................:o

Come on lads this is a hnting forum.
    Leave your balls alone.

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    Come on lads this is a hnting forum.
    Leave your balls alone.

when you go about the countryside with a loaded wea...wrifle..you have to get 'em out sometimes :D