Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Indoor 24 hour race - Kuusakoski **New Irish Record from Magnet**

• 30-01-2011 9:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭

For those who may have missed it, there are a number of Irish runners participating in this indoor 24 hour endurance race in Finland, including a couple of posters from this parish. After 23 hours, Magnet (Val), lies in 6th position overall (2nd female) with an astounding 210k completed, with an hour to go. Incredible performance.

Go Val!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

The only female ahead of her, Sumie Inagaki of Japan has just set a new Indoor World Record for 24hrs in this race, running 240+km. That puts Vals 2nd place in its enormous context- a suberb achievement Magnet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Any sign of the final results?

Can't see anything yet beyond 23hour mark, where she was at 210k. That puts her beyond the minimum distance required before a performance is accepted as a national record / best.

So, subject to confirmation of course, it looks like Val has set a new Irish Record for womens 24hr running! Awesome!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Around 217km for Val.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Subject to confirmation of course, it looks like Val has set a new Irish Record for womens 24hr running! Awesome!

That page only lists the women's 24h road record - Magnet was running indoors. I have no idea what the national 24h indoors record is for women, but my guess is that Magnet now has it. Absolutely outstanding performance! :eek:

Does anyone know what happened to Mick Rice? Between 20 hours and 22.5 hours he only moved from 155 to 161 km and I know he was aiming for much, much more.

Just waiting for the 2 of them to update their totals in the 1000 mile challenge now! :D

That page only lists the women's 24h road record - Magnet was running indoors. I have no idea what the national 24h indoors record is for women, but my guess is that Magnet now has it. Absolutely outstanding performance! :eek:

It specifies on the page: "For example, women's track and indoor 24 hours would require a standard of 200km in line with Grade B international selection criteria for outdoor championships. The event must also be an IAU-labelled race or otherwise approved by UltraRunning Ireland for record-setting purposes."- presumably no Irish woman has run further than 200km indoors (until today)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Well done Magnet. And a brilliant run also from the other Athenry lady in the race.

Say, did Athenry have their club meeting in Finland this year? There were 4 of them in that race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Wow. Bravo Val. Hearty congratulations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

Just to confirm, Valerie did indeed set a new Irish record. We've got it up on ultrarunning Ireland in both the news and record section.

It was a truely fantastic performance. World class.

It was also a brilliant performance from Ruthann with 188km. That's also super debut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

Valerie Glavin 2nd woman 217.80km

Ruthanne Sheehan 7th " 188.71km

Mick Rice 30th man 165.54

Ray O Connor 58th " 122.08

Seriously awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Wow! What more can you say. That's an incredible result Val!

Enduro wrote: »
    Just to confirm, Valerie did indeed set a new Irish record. We've got it up on ultrarunning Ireland in both the news and record section.

Don't you have to wait until it is officially certified? I'm sure it's just a formality, but still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Well done Val - how many miles are you running tomorrow ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Magic performance Val...Just shows was hard work and serious talent can achieve ........

Well done to Ruthanne, Mick and Ray... Im sure all your club members and families are v proud of your achievements......

Don't you have to wait until it is officially certified? I'm sure it's just a formality, but still.

Technically, I think the 24hr distance is considered a "world best" rather than a "world record" (in that the IAAF only recognize the 100k as a record for distances greater than marathon). The world governing body for Ultrarunning is IAU, who are the official record keepers for Ultra events (designated by the IAAF). IAU have designated UltraRunningIreland as the official record keepers in Ireland for Ultra events, and Enduro is secretary of same, so I'd imagine URI's recognition of Val's new Irish record is as official a certification as you could get (bearing in mind it was held under strict IAU rules).

That's my layman's take on it, I stand to be corrected though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KentuckyPete

Seriously awesome.

FANTASTIC

Mighty performance Magnet!!! Well done to all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

Incredible performances, makes the mind boggle. Kudos to the entire Irish gang that were involved in this madness :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

(bearing in mind it was held under strict IAU rules).

That's it in a nutshell. It was an IAU bronze labelled race, so results from the race are eligible to be recognised as records. They've posted the results online. There is nothing cryptic about the matter, in the same way that results are cited as records after eligible track events. There wasn't much waiting around to declare Bolt's Beijing runs as WRs.

Hopefully this thread can now return to being about congratulating the athletes on their achievements...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

Well done all round with special mention to Magnet of course, phenomenal performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

Val ran more today than I've run in January. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭Foxx92

Val ran more today than I've run in January. :o
    She ran half of what I ran the whole of last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Mac Cormaic

Seriously awesome.

They are unbelievable distances. Fair play to those who took part. Am I right in saying that the task was to run as far as they could for 24 hours? Were they allowed breaks?? Did Valerie run a 135 miles solid so within 24 hours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

Seriously awesome.

well done to all who competed, a fantastic acheivement to even get to the start line
    and an extra special well done to record holder Val

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

SUNGOD wrote: »
    well done to all who competed, a fantastic acheivement to even get to the start line
    and an extra special well done to record holder Val

+1+1+1+1

Brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

Amazing achievement.

I had never heard of this race so I looked at the website to get an idea of the rules. My favourite line in the list of instructions for athletes is the following

"Vomiting is also possible during the race – please use toilets, litter baskets or plastic bags."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

That really is incredible stuff! I can't begin to imagine the range of emotions you'd feel during those 24 hrs. A mighty achievement!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Wow i cant even imagine doign anything along those lines! Congrats to all who completed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Amazing Run, well done all to all !

Just thinking about the shoes:-

New Runners... One Race... Runners Wreaked... Ditch Them... New pair...:confused:

With mileage like that , you would expect the shoe manufacturers to be queueing up looking to sponsor them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Just wanted to add a huge congrats to all 4 Irish runners. each of them showed amazing guts and determination both when things were going well and when the going was tough. it was an absolute honour to stand at the side of that track on Saturday/Sunday and hang out with the amazing Athenry runners for the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

fantastic , absolutely amazing stuff , fair play guys , ye are some group of tough guys and girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

+1 to all above. Out this evening for a run - 'Could I do this for 24hrs?' - not a snowballs chance:eek: Great stuff Magnet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

WOW Thanks everyone!!
    A whole thread dedicated to "ME" :eek:
    My head will soon be more swelled than my feet...:o
    I`ll get started on a race report so and stick it in my training log section, so any questions, just ask and I`ll try and cover it - it`s good to be back xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

Magnet wrote: »
    WOW Thanks everyone!!
    A whole thread dedicated to "ME" :eek:
    My head will soon be more swelled than my feet...:o
    I`ll get started on a race report so and stick it in my training log section, so any questions, just ask and I`ll try and cover it - it`s good to be back xx

You deserve it. Congratulations again.

I am really interested in your race report.

I assume you will cover how often you rested / slept over the 24 hours and how much time you were on your feet. Also how you paced yourself. What was your pace in hour 24 compared to hour 1 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

I`m gonna put up a report soon, just got very busy with everything but here`s a little vid Seb put together, the crew`s "training" at the end is priceless!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Y5BwrITBXI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KentuckyPete

Great stuff Magnet. Well done to ye all

Brill. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ray lanigan

crazy running magnet,well done.