Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Broken Nose Process

• 29-01-2011 4:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭

Can anyone give me some idea on how to go about having my nose reset back into place?

I broke it around a week or so ago and the swelling is gone down.

How long does the process of setting up appointments with ENT etc generally take? and how much will it cost me as i've no insurance or medical card unfortunately :(

Hoping someone here can give me some info as i'm feeling very self consious about it, serious lack of self esteem whenever i think about it.

Thanks lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

I will leave this thread open provided it stays on the subject queried ie how long to get appointments,costs involved etc.As always,any medical advice replies will be deleted.Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭djd80

How do you know it is definetly broken and not just badly bruised...

Seen plenty of guys break them during matches...Sometimes nothing is done about them but your best bet is pop to A+E, tell them you hurt your nose and get an x-ray to confirm it.

They will then give you your options and set things in motion to get it sorted..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

I think yeh need (minor) surgery to correct it, my friend had to get it anyways, and if so, I presume the cost would be at least a few grand.

And btw, if yeh can in anyway afford it, IMO it's mad not to have health insurance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Erm.... go to a doctor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Rycn

Erm.... go to a doctor?
    Post of the year 2011.
    THFC wrote: »
    I think yeh need (minor) surgery to correct it, my friend had to get it anyways, and if so, I presume the cost would be at least a few grand.

And btw, if yeh can in anyway afford it, IMO it's mad not to have health insurance.

I rang the doctor and he said wait for the swelling to go down and then make an appointment with an ENT doctor in tallaght hospital. Friends have had it done covered on their medical card, so i'm just asking about the process of making appointment (how long it takes to be seen) and how much the bill will be from a public hospital. I'm not looking for plastic surgery.

Thanks to anyone who can help.

djd80 wrote: »
    How do you know it is definetly broken and not just badly bruised...

Seen plenty of guys break them during matches...Sometimes nothing is done about them but your best bet is pop to A+E, tell them you hurt your nose and get an x-ray to confirm it.

They will then give you your options and set things in motion to get it sorted..

It's broken, swelling is gone and it's cocked sideways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭chprt

wait till the swelling goes down and then you can get a better look at it.

Is it bent to the side like a boxers nose, or squashed in with 2 black eyes to go with it...

If you have to get an op, the stick a metal rod in your nose and slap it with a hammer to realign the nose :) nice

when the swelling goes you might find it doesnt look too bad

IS it sore n bleeding or just sore, how did you break it

thans paddy

www.onlinemathsgrinds.ie

wait till the swelling goes down and then you can get a better look at it.

Is it bent to the side like a boxers nose, or squashed in with 2 black eyes to go with it...

If you have to get an op, the stick a metal rod in your nose and slap it with a hammer to realign the nose :) nice

when the swelling goes you might find it doesnt look too bad

IS it sore n bleeding or just sore, how did you break it

thans paddy
    Yea swellings gone, bridge is turned up and to the left while the bottom is turned out to the right!

How long does it take to be seen do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

Broke mine the first time when i was 16, got a knee into the face in a ruck, the bridge of my nose was smashed into my face... wish i took a photo! Went to casualty that day, waited about 5 hours, saw a doctor and he said "ya its definitely broken anyways":rolleyes: didnt need an xray he just said come back in a week for surgery! The surgery was quick i was in and out the same day, had to wear a stupid cast thingy on my nose for a bit... my mate broke his and he got his set the same day, so i think the surgery depends on how swollen it is.

The second time i broke it, i waited ages to go to hospital(maybe a month), when i finally went they said it had reseted itself so they couldnt do anything with it. Best thing to do is to go to your doctor and see what he says!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Took over 3 years for me to see the ENT guy on a medical card for him to pinch my nose and say "yes, it is broken."
    Be very clear about what you want because I assumed they'd be fixing my nose from the top down but they only did the septum and didn't straighten it as such, it's probably more bent now and I still suffer the problem I had before I got the operation done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭dceire

I broke mine a few years back playing football. An innocuous stray hand caught me in the face. I played the remainder of the game and then realised my nose was at a very weird angle :eek:

I went into A&E, had a x-ray taken and was told to go to ENT a few days later. I waited a few hours to get into ENT where the doctor stuck a light up my nose and then told me I needed surgery to fix it. I went in for surgery a few weeks later. All in all I think it cost a couple of hundred euro but nothing too ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭francie81

I got a wrap on the face playing football the other night went to minor injury's clinic yesterday and the Doctor referred me for an ENT at Our Lady's in Drogheda he never said if it was broke or not but it definately is angled to the left which I want fixed as am abit self concious, just by what am saying what should I expect will I be in and out and will I still be priority because I want this done before I go on holidays at the end of july?

Thanks,
    Francie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭francie81

Oops sorry mod I should have known I just happened to find this when google search wasn't my intent to try bending policy rules of seeking advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I broke mine when I was 16, never went to the doctor and to this day my septum is twisted, tend to breath through mouth as a consequence. Wish I had of sorted it at the time, stupid youth.

I am told that I could still get in done, but no idea what can of an ordeal it would to get it done, twenty years after it occurred. Although had a mate get a twisted septum straightened in St Thomas's in London and he said they used heat or something instead of breaking it, no idea what that was, but sounds somewhat better than some of the stories I've heard about septum repositioning.

Anyway, good luck OP :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭abcdef1

Sorry for bringing this dead thread up again...:) anyways got a bang on the nose in an assault the last night, went to hospital got glue ect..they reckoned my nose was broken and said to go in Wednesday to ENT ? Now after a few days my eyes are black with bruises but i dont think my nose is broke,,,there is not much pain at all ?? Now my question is my nose was very noticaly crooked before the assault...could they fix this now as I have medical car or will I have to get it done privately...?? :)

Also im a student studying media and spend most of my time in front of a camera...I have no confidence in myself at all and this would be a dream for me,,,in fact when I got assaulted I was happy that (I thought) they broke my nose ?? :) Any help tips appreciated, Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Mod

Just to repeat what the previous mod said about this-

I will leave this thread open provided it stays on the subject queried ie how long to get appointments,costs involved etc.As always,any medical advice replies will be deleted.Cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Sauve wrote: »
    Mod

Just to repeat what the previous mod said about this-

Sure what would that bollox know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Sure what would that bollox know.

Sure someone has to give the daft eejit a small bit of credit for something around here ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Mutley2009

In trying to figure out the best course of action I read this thread yesterday.

My 2 year old's held collided with my nose 4 days ago, no bleeding, or visible crookedness, just swelling and bruising and the bridge seems a bit bumpy.

2 days after the injury I noticed that if if I gently pushed on the bridge of my nose I heard a feint clicking sound.

Yesterday AM I attended the VHI clinic, no need for xray they told me as such injuries are diagnosed clinically.
    The doctor I met there confirmed it was broken and referred me to a Maxillofacial surgeon who attends the VHI clinics,
    amongst other private hospitals.

I met with Mr Beirne in the afternoon, very nice man. He examined my nose, very gently and told me that it was fractured in two places but that I need to wait two weeks for the swelling to have subsided then re-attend him to arrange for surgery (under general anaesthetic in SSC Santry)

VHI will cover the costs as the injury occurred due to an accident.

Hope this helps.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Glad it worked out, but closing zombie thread from years ago.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.