Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone Know Where I Can Find Footage of Ted Attacking Ray On The Den??

• 29-01-2011 1:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭

Looking for footage of Ray being attacked by Ted on the Den.

There's one from 2008 that D'Arcy did for Today FM, looking for some real footage.

My girlfriend doesn't remember the Ted moments.... :(

Cheers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

Jaysus, that Ted was some violent individual wasn't he....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

who is Ted. I think you mean Socky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

poisonated wrote: »
    who is Ted. I think you mean Socky.

You have much to learn young padawan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Hank_Jones wrote: »

There's one from 2008 that D'Arcy did for Today FM, looking for some real footage.

Cheers.

Jesus you just gave me a flashback there man. :D I vaguely remember Ted alright, wasn't he in one of the Xmas specials where they went to lapland as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

Aw, I loved The Den back in the day. I thought Ray was gorgeous back then :)

Remember the Ted Free Zone stickers? I sent in a drawing to The Den and they sent me back some stuff including those stickers. Must try and dig them out at home.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Would love to see that myself! Looked (not hard mind you) but I couldnt ever find it!
    Bet I would laugh as much now as I did those many years ago :)

The funniest thing was when Ray was visibly tired and the producers kept throwing Ted back in for a laugh. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭pegasus1

Cheers.

Is this it here Ted?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_IDi87W9IG8

pegasus1 wrote: »

That's just a rehash they did on the Ray D'Arcy Show in 2008.
    Think it was them celebrating the end of The Den or something.

I think the one in 2008 was a overly large stuffed Kung Fu Panda, not Ted.

Going to bump this in the hope that somebody knows.

Ted, the forgotten bear.

Dangerous too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I remember Ted! I know we used to tape The Den sometimes, if i can find the videos i'll go through them and see is there any Ted on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭bloopy

alwaysadub wrote: »
    I remember Ted! I know we used to tape The Den sometimes, if i can find the videos i'll go through them and see is there any Ted on them.

Seriously hope you find something.

Spent a couple of hours here one night trying to find some footage.
    I seem to remember at one stage it got a bit out of control and a lot of fluff was pulled out of Ted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Ah the oul days. Yup i remember that pesky Ted launching himself on ray without any warning or provocation. An angry, unpredictable fecker he was.

Thats back when Ray Darcy was probably the best presenter rte had at the time. He was a very funny, unassuming sort of guy. he looked like he was genuinely having a great laugh in the studio. The arrival of podge was hilarious, probably my favourite den character. When ever he hatched a sneaky plan there was always creepy sort of music in the background.:D

Can't stand podge n rodge now though. Its knuckle-dragger gutter humour. Couple of slang references to male/female genitalia & the drunk audience goes wild.:rolleyes:

Thats back when Ray Darcy was probably the best presenter rte had at the time. He was a very funny, unassuming sort of guy. he looked like he was genuinely having a great laugh in the studio.

Yeah... whatever happened to him? As unfair as it may sound, I think his voice sounds too "nice", and maybe he's too nice overall. This could be partly why he's got nothing on for example Brendan O' Connor. I feel a bit sorry for him. Apparently though his show on Today FM has quite a strong following, so maybe that's what suits him now.

You know he said on The Saturday Night Show he would leave the country if Enda Kenny became Taoiseach? That's ridiculous.... I hope he's good for his word though.
    Can't stand podge n rodge now though. Its knuckle-dragger gutter humour. Couple of slang references to male/female genitalia & the drunk audience goes wild.:rolleyes:

A Scare at Bedtime was awesome though I thought. Sometimes their show can still be genuinely funny, like the one with Roxanne Pallett on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Squaredude

It'd surely be on the zig and zag dvd.i'll dig it out 2moro and have a look.

Yeah... whatever happened to him? As unfair as it may sound, I think his voice sounds too "nice", and maybe he's too nice overall. This could be partly why he's got nothing on for example Brendan O' Connor. I feel a bit sorry for him. Apparently though his show on Today FM has quite a strong following, so maybe that's what suits him now.

You can't compare D'Arcy to Brendan O'Connor, D'Arcy isn't a "comedian".
    Pretty sure D'Arcy was in the running for all the big RTE presenting jobs, would imagine he was way ahead of that twat on the lists as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Shane10

i used to love when ted was thrown in, brilliant. ray would be laughing his head of fighting him on the ground. then hed be thrown back in again, zig and zag would be shouting rayyyoooo rayyoooooo, aaaah they were the days. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

ah back in the day before D'arcy was such an arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Are you pressing charges before the statute of limitation expires?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

D'arcy used to be a great on the Den back in the 90's. Pity he's an opinionated eejit now who likes to likes spread his own views on politics, the economy, religion, social matters, education even though he knows very little about many of those things.
    However you can't fault the Den back in the 90s. The bits with Ted were hilarious especially when Ray as out of breath and the studio crew kept throwing him back as someone said there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

D'arcy used to be a great on the Den back in the 90's. Pity he's an opinionated eejit now who likes to likes spread his own views on politics, the economy, religion, social matters, education even though he knows very little about many of those things.
    Erm, thats his job (on a privately funded station unlike say Joe " go on" Duffy) Just because he may not be an expert does not preclude him from expressing an opinion on a subject, we can't all be polymaths like your good self.
    However you can't fault the Den back in the 90s. The bits with Ted were hilarious especially when Ray as out of breath and the studio crew kept throwing him back as someone said there.
    Apparently the crew used to keep throwing Ted in if they knew D'arcy was on the batter the night before and feeling a bit rough, evil b@stards:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Erm, thats his job (on a privately funded station unlike say Joe " go on" Duffy) Just because he may not be an expert does not preclude him from expressing an opinion on a subject, we can't all be polymaths like your good self.

Apparently the crew used to keep throwing Ted in if they knew D'arcy was on the batter the night before and feeling a bit rough, evil b@stards:D

Those Ted fights were amazing. You could see how pissed off Ray was too, when they kept throwng Ted back. Ray would violently through him back looking really really annoyed. :D Great stuff.

I miss my youth. :(

Anyone remember the toy races they used to do on the desk?

I have the "Best Bits Back Den" DVD and don't think there's any Ted scenes on there. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Karsini wrote: »
    I have the "Best Bits Back Den" DVD and don't think there's any Ted scenes on there. :confused:

I think we can agree that its best that the momories of that arch criminal are erased from the public record. He was worse than hitler! We should declare boards a Ted free zone, who's with me?

Are you pressing charges before the statute of limitation expires?

Yes, it's for a libel action against RTE for the stress that D'Arcy suffered at the hands of the villainous Ted.

*I do not represent Ray D'Arcy and have no plans for libel action against RTE, please don't sue me :D*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

Used to love the Ted and Ray fight scenes, they were a classic!!
    Pity the Den is no more:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭coconut5

Thats back when Ray Darcy was probably the best presenter rte had at the time. He was a very funny, unassuming sort of guy. he looked like he was genuinely having a great laugh in the studio. The arrival of podge was hilarious, probably my favourite den character. When ever he hatched a sneaky plan there was always creepy sort of music in the background.:D

I remember ROARING at the TV when Podge disappeared for a while and then came back disguised as a leprechaun for Paddy's Day.

Ray D'Arcy used to laugh his way through the Den. It was brilliant. I loved when Ted attacked him. :D Such a feelgood show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

coconut5 wrote: »
    I remember ROARING at the TV when Podge disappeared for a while and then came back disguised as a leprechaun for Paddy's Day.

Ray D'Arcy used to laugh his way through the Den. It was brilliant. I loved when Ted attacked him. :D Such a feelgood show.
    But all he wanted was a friend and a cuddle:p

The Den must have been a great show to work on, you could often here the crew bursting their holes laughing off screen at some of the stuff that was said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Does anyone else remember "rays rave" where dance music came on and the camera went psychedelic and they were all dancing?

Please dont tell me it is all in my head:D

The Christmas specials were good, Ray, Zig and Zag would go to Lapland or something else, one been that Christmas was cancelled cos Rodge had taken it over, Ray meets Santa but it was Rodge dressed as Santa and the real Santa was tied up and locked in a chest!!
    Ah great memories from my childhood!! :)

One place that would have all that on tape is the RTE archive

I have a vague memory of a Christmas Eve show where they could be seen sleeping in the studio while Santa came in. Zig then farted; which knocked Santa out! :D

Karsini wrote: »
    I have a vague memory of a Christmas Eve show where they could be seen sleeping in the studio while Santa came in. Zig then farted; which knocked Santa out! :D
    Haha, anything was possible with them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

STIG83 wrote: »
    The Christmas specials were good, Ray, Zig and Zag would go to Lapland or something else, one been that Christmas was cancelled cos Rodge had taken it over, Ray meets Santa but it was Rodge dressed as Santa and the real Santa was tied up and locked in a chest!!
    Ah great memories from my childhood!! :)

One place that would have all that on tape is the RTE archive

Dustin would always rip the piss outta Ray for "getting off with some woman when they were supposed to be working". :D

Jayob10 wrote: »
    Dustin would always rip the piss outta Ray for "getting off with some woman when they were supposed to be working". :D

Dustin was hilarious, he would come out with anything!!

my funniest memory of the Den in hindsight (I had no idea what was going on at the time or why they were laughing) was during a segment where the birthday names would come down the screen as a song from the charts played with its video on the same screen as the names.

Bobby Brown's "2 can play that game" was playing on the screen and the bold Bobby was rolling around in the sand with a half naked young one whilst all these kids were watching looking for their name, they cut the video immediately at first sign of an ar.se and we are back into Ray who is pissing himself laughing and looking at the crew to the side of him who are also in hysterics at their blunder.

Brilliant stuff

^ Haha. I remember they used to do that, say out all the birthday people as the song played, think on The Den dvd its a reggae song, i will need to watch it

Alot of the clips are on Youtube i must look through them, it has the Christmas Crisis too :)

does anyone have a link to where ya can buy that best of the den dvd?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

I was at that Den reunion for Today FM. It was like we were all 5 again, it was brilliant! I remember being genuinely scared when we knew Ted was about to attack. Ah, a great day. I have that DVD and as far as I know the original Ted v Ray fights aren't on there. Looked online and no sign yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Ah, used to love Ted's unprovoked attacks. Poor Ray was shattered after destroying the small set by launching himself all over the place!

I remember when they would 1st introduce Podge by randomly peaking his head at the window behind Ray and then wouldn't be seen again for ages. Dustin giving Ray lip for lusting after the women and getting with his co-presenter................and then getting embarrased when he did the flaps :D

Ah.........that was a great kids show where you'd actually prefer to watch them than the shìte cartoons & programmes they'd show. Always looked like they had the craìc.