Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PGA Tour - Farmers Insurance Open

• 27-01-2011 3:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭

Being played at Torrey Pines.

Woods plays his first tournament of the year. He really seems to like this course. He's had seven victories here already. He's got to be the favourite. Hopefully he can back on track and put all the problems of last year behind him.

Me being the stubborn mule I've decided to refrain from backing Woods this week and instead back Dustin Johnson for this one. €10 e/w @ 18/1.

Woods is at 11/4 for those of you interested.

What do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Back TW after his first hole, he doesn't have a great record on the 1st at Torrey Pines, if he Bogey's or Doubles it, he could go out to 5 or 6/1. I like Dustin Johnson but I really think this course could set up for Rickie Fowlers first win, 25/1 last time I looked.

Great to see that Tiger and Rocco are paired together:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

ssbob wrote: »
    Back TW after his first hole, he doesn't have a great record on the 1st at Torrey Pines, if he Bogey's or Doubles it, he could go out to 5 or 6/1. I like Dustin Johnson but I really think this course could set up for Rickie Fowlers first win, 25/1 last time I looked.

no chance he would go anywhere near that big,do you not think the boys(and girls,feck u Andy Gray )who set the markets would be aware of all these stats and more,so you could say if he were to par or birdie it his price will come in
    btw in terms of markets there's a big difference between a bogey and a double
    lets see what happens,my prediction,if he bogeys he goes to 7/2,a double could see your 5/1 alright

also there's a thread on this in the gambling forum if you're interested in people's fancies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Uncle Mclovin

Ya it's only a matter of time before Rickie gets his first win. I initially thought he was all hype by the media. His colours don't help him much I must say.

He had a pretty solid year last year and he showed hes got the bottle when coming down the straight against Molinari in the Ryder Cup in a high pressure situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭NedTermo

I agree that his price won't go out to anywhere near anything quoted here after one hole.

I fancy Nick Watney and have a small interest in Bill Haas too.

Looking forward to watching some decent stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭PAULWATSON

Would like to see T have another W around Torrey.

Maybe not but the markets go Tiger Crazy it's ridiculous, I have made a few shillings on him by trading off after a birdie run..... especially last year.

What about Phil? Anyone interested in him? I expect him to up his game considerably with Tiger in the field.

he's teeing off on the 10th btw;)

Ha embarrassing for me............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭PAULWATSON

Tiger has his old scotty back in the bag.

-1 after 3 and into 2/1

Rickie Fowler -6 into 6.8 on betfair I had him at 25/1 so laid off part of my bet.

Delighted to see John Daly putting in a good round, he can't keep relying on Sponsors invites

What ye make of the white Taylormade R11. I think it looks pretty cool. Pity it's outside my price range. Will have to stick with G10 for another while.

Dustin Johnson and Justin Rose were all kitted out in white. There was some promo going on according to commentators.

That Taylormade looks sweet but I am in the same boat as you, stick with the old Titleist-Titanium-975d which I have had for a year and a half, going good now.

I might change my clubs completely next year though......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

only poults can pull-off an all-white uniform (clubs included)
    apparently there is a white putter about to be released - will look savage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

conno16 wrote: »
    only poults can pull-off an all-white uniform (clubs included)
    apparently there is a white putter about to be released - will look savage

Lol it never stops being funny, well played mate..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

Anyone watching the end of this? Bubba, Phil and the new sensation Jhonny Vegas battling it out. Feels like a major with the way its so tight. Love watching Bubba :D

Tiger capitulated over the weekend, not massively surprised as its a big ask to play up to scratch first one back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭sector

SSK wrote: »
    Anyone watching the end of this? Bubba, Phil and the new sensation Jhonny Vegas battling it out. Feels like a major with the way its so tight. Love watching Bubba :D

Tiger capitulated over the weekend, not massively surprised as its a big ask to play up to scratch first one back.
    ye its great, c'mon bubbA!

OUCH vEGAS IN THE DRINK

Great birdie for Bubba at 18 to seal it :D

Edit - Great shot from Phil, just a foot or do from forcing a playoff from the fairway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Sweet up and down there by Bubba to finish it.

Some effort by Mickelson though with the wedge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Well that you don't see every day.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Great finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Great finish, hats off to Mickleson too, takes balls to have your caddy tend the flag from 75 yards!

Bubba is a legend, so emotional about everything :)

The more characters like him in the game the better

had to lay off a little there as Phil could of holed that, which he nearly did!

Fantastic finish, thought Bubba had trouble with that lip in the bunker, he seems to do better when it's difficult for him!

What about it, Phils Wedge shot on 17 and his wedge shot on 18, any other golfer and I would have thought having "Bones" tending the flag was ridiculous but with Phil he nearly holed it............

You should really look up his backwards shot on You Tube, thats class.

Can't believe Phil didn't wait for Bubba to hole out before deciding what shot to play from the rough.... It took the pressure off Bubba and he made a great putt.... He seems like a great guy. Delighted for him to get the win.

Whatever tv company was supplying the pictures were awful. They spent more time showing the hanggliders than the golf.

Maybe in Phils old age, he is probably reigning himself in a bit, but Nick Faldo did say last night, when Phil hits a full shot, he is in control and you could see that he held back a bit on the final drive and he leaked it left......

The Golf channell were brutal to be honest, would have liked to see more of Dustin Johnson, Rickie Fowler etc instead of the handgliders and multiple breaks!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Screaminmidget

Or the replays of the 2008 US open :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Can't believe Phil didn't wait for Bubba to hole out before deciding what shot to play from the rough.... It took the pressure off Bubba and he made a great putt.... He seems like a great guy. Delighted for him to get the win.

Was thinking that myself but as the commentators even said it was set up for a flyer so very difficult to get close to a front pin.

Super up and down from Bubba on 18. Think Mickleson was trying to put pressure on Bubba to hole his putt by laying up. Seeing Mickleson standing there 80 odd yards away you would expect him to get up and down so it made Bubba's putt even better.

sector wrote: »
    had to lay off a little there as Phil could of holed that, which he nearly did!

Fantastic finish, thought Bubba had trouble with that lip in the bunker, he seems to do better when it's difficult for him!

you're joking right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Fursttimer

Maybe in Phils old age, he is probably reigning himself in a bit, but Nick Faldo did say last night, when Phil hits a full shot, he is in control and you could see that he held back a bit on the final drive and he leaked it left......

The Golf channell were brutal to be honest, would have liked to see more of Dustin Johnson, Rickie Fowler etc instead of the handgliders and multiple breaks!!!

The Golf Channel were not the broadcasters.

It was CBS Sports.

heavyballs wrote: »
    you're joking right?

Nope, that's what laying is for, making sure i was in profit.

You mustnt watch Phil much.

sector wrote: »
    Nope, that's what laying is for, making sure i was in profit.

You mustnt watch Phil much.

why are you forbiding me to watch him?,that's not fair:(

well maybe you could give me an idea of how much you layed off,oh by the way when was the last time Phil holed out from that distance to force a playoff
    i don't watch him much so maybe you could tell me,it was a great effort but no way a lay unless it was a few quid on a huge price