Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying new PC...tips/advice...?

Options
  • 27-01-2011 11:29am
    Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭

Howdy boarders!

Firstly a BIG apology if this ends up being a double/quadruple/5,783,229'th post on this...I've looked through and couldn't find much by way of similarity.

I am looking for a new PC - I do have a screen and keyboard/mouse although maybe a wireless option on these might be nice. Anyways. Technically just need tower - but not sure which direction to go on both the product and where to get it. I'm not a techie but I'm not entirely a simpleton...any advice, tips, pointers, ideas etc would be very gratefully received!

Ta muchly...

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Whats the pc going to be used for?

Unless you've any unusual requirements, a mid range priced PC from dell can't send you too far wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭da wiseguy

ahhh yes - that might have been helpful...!

general home use really - my current pc is probably a good 8 years old and has been struggling for a while so time to send it to the motherboard in the sky.

i dj so do alot of downloading and uploading, use some dj software, burn loads of cd's etc. i use photoshop regularly enough etc etc nothing major going on program wise...lots of internet usage more than anything else really!

i do have an external HD for my music and pictures, so no problems with storage on that front...

thanks for the tip re dell - someone else just suggested this to me so it's a good bit of advice ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking