Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you deal with a stupid person?

• 26-01-2011 4:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭SamSamSammy

Friend is in debt, like most of the country in negative equity, banks give them a hard time, struggling with money, you know the story.

Then goes out today and books a holiday. I mean ffs. I tried to explain that a holiday isn't a NEED and that repaying debts is a NEED. Being in debt is all they moan about too, which makes spending money stupidly (not on something they need to do) all the more annoying having to listen.

I realise some people are in debt without doing any harm or wrong, but would I be right in saying in general the Irish debt person is a little stupid with money?

My friend is a right thicko. Its no wonder the banks are bust lending to these people.

No matter how many times I explain they do it again and again and again. Then moan they're in debt. I despair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Only a small percentage of home owners are in negative equity. Most of the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

am i saying this right "kick him in the face"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭wobbles-grogan

Education maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

Buy him a Sesame Street Box set; I think he could learn to count from that.

Elect them Taoiseach!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

No matter how many times I explain they do it again and again and again. Then moan they're in debt. I despair.

Tell'em to get a second house and rent it out, then when it's paid off to sell it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭SamSamSammy

Only a small percentage of home owners are in negative equity. Most of the country?

Sorry. I'll correct that. Most who bought in the boom / are in debt now. You're right I didn't word that correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

Mind your own business??

NoQuarter wrote: »
    Mind you own business??

I wish I could. I get an ear full of moaning as to why they're in debt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Where's he going on hols?

Tell them to stop moaning at you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

buy them one of those brain training games to play on holiday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Never argue with an idiot. They just drag you down to their level and then beat you on experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's kinda like a fat person:
    "I'm so fat this one meal extra won't matter anyway, but it will cheer me up today"
    "I'm so much in debt this €1000 holiday won't matter anyway, but it will cheer me up today"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Negetive equity only means something if your planning on selling. If not then its of no importance.

Why shouldn't the man have a holiday. I would say it definitley is a need to get away from the day to day stresses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

There's nothing you can do. At the end of the day it's his problem and he'll face the consequences. If you take everyone's stupid decisions on board you'll only end up very stressed out yourself. Also you'll lose friends if you start telling them things they don't want to hear and this man knows everything you could say to him , he's just choosing to ignore it.

If he brings up the subject of being in debt just politely change the subject. If you're willing to risk losing him as a friend then say "why don't you cancel the holiday if you're so worried?". They're the only options you have.

Negetive equity only means something if your planning on selling. If not then its of no importance.

Why shouldn't the man have a holiday. I would say it definitley is a need to get away from the day to day stresses

Thats ok to have your opinion obviously. But would you be of the view then the gov. shouldn't have bailed out banks? There would be no nama? Etc Etc.

The debt needs to be paid back. There is no need for a holiday. Its the attitude thats more annoying, bank will roast him now and he'll complain to anyone that will listen, when he has wasted whatever amount on a holiday.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

The best way to deal with a stupid person is to smash their face in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

same way that i have to struggle to pay bills and mortgage every month and listen to tossers going on about going away all the time and being out on the rip and complaining they have no money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Is his only debt his mortgage? If so, sure why not a holiday. Should he never have a holiday during the life time oh his mortgage (probably 25+ years).

You can't put everything on hold. If you are not in danger of losing your house and you can pay your bills then why not take a holiday. There's very little we NEED to do on this earth so I wouldn't be too focused on needs versus wants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Thats ok to have your opinion obviously. But would you be of the view then the gov. shouldn't have bailed out banks? There would be no nama? Etc Etc.

The debt needs to be paid back. There is no need for a holiday. Its the attitude thats more annoying, bank will roast him now and he'll complain to anyone that will listen, when he has wasted whatever amount on a holiday.....

everyone who buys a house is in debt. It doesnt mean they cant have holidays between getting a mortgage and paying it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

club him over the head and keep him tied up in your basement until he listens to your advice. you can then live your life vicariously through him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Tony10

If he's your friend, you'll listen to his moaning and not have a problem,even if he is a tad stupid. If his moaning is becoming over-baring, maybe it's time to dilute the friendship.Harsh.But such is life sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

A mortgage puts you in debt for decades.
    You can still have a holiday, can't put a price on being refreshed and relaxed

Or you end up with a username like mine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

If he had 2 brains he would be twice as stupid.

If he moans just say ah well sure if ya can afford a holiday ya can fuuck off an moan to someone else! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

The money would have been better spent on coke and hookers.

Who need holidays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

My friend is a right thicko. Its no wonder the banks are bust lending to these people.

The banks aren't bust because they loaned to ordinary people to buy houses or for personal loans. In fact, most of the mortgages & loans they gave out are still extremely profitable to the banks.

The problem with the banks is a whole different, bigger picture altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Bitch about them behind their back on the internet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

Ask facekicker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

Do you have any other friends who are stupid? Maybe there's a pattern somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

OK, so if I went out tomorrow and bought a house, I'd be in debt. Since I'm now in debt, I can't go on a holiday until I've paid my debt off?

If the bank had called you in for missing payments etc, would that change things sightly? Or does that happen to everyone with a mortgage?

Clearly people with mortgages are allowed go on holidays. People who miss mortgage payments shouldn't, in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

I didn't realize that's what you meant. If you're missing payments, you shouldn't be heading off on holidays, unless it was done very cheaply!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

Maybe they think they might as well be hung for a sheep as a lamb and enjoy the hanging. They're right too :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Then goes out today and books a holiday. I mean ffs. I tried to explain that a holiday isn't a NEED and that repaying debts is a NEED.

Unless you're a bank. Then the taxpayer will do it for you. We could all be dead tomorrow. Enjoy life while you still can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Did you actually read the OP's post ?
    banks give them a hard time, struggling with money

If the banks are giving him a hard time then presumably negative equity is not the sole issue here ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Friend is in debt, like most of the country in negative equity, banks give them a hard time, struggling with money, you know the story.

Then goes out today and books a holiday. I mean ffs. I tried to explain that a holiday isn't a NEED and that repaying debts is a NEED. Being in debt is all they moan about too, which makes spending money stupidly (not on something they need to do) all the more annoying having to listen.

I realise some people are in debt without doing any harm or wrong, but would I be right in saying in general the Irish debt person is a little stupid with money?

It's only money -Life is for having fun and he'll have plenty of time to work the loan off when he's dead -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

You will find that people like your friend will always be in debt - even if some magic fairy paid his mortgage, he would soon probably find himself in debt again.

Way too many people are living off credit... credit cards, personal loans etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,573 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

biko wrote: »
    It's kinda like a fat person:
    "I'm so fat this one meal extra won't matter anyway, but it will cheer me up today"
    "I'm so much in debt this €1000 holiday won't matter anyway, but it will cheer me up today"

But my debt is glandular!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭uberalles

One life - live it.

I know a couple that went on honeymoon for a month.
    After a month they decided to prolong it to three months.
    Anyway 6 months later they returned home.

Tell them to take a 6 month holiday and you will water the plants.
    Nail up the letter box and the banks cant write to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

i do beleive that the bigger the debt, the less they thought about it in the first place, i know there are loads of people out there who are in debt because of home mortgage, that could not be helped, as everyone needs a home, and nobody has the money to buy without having to borrow, we all did it, but i would not borrow for new car when there are plenty second hand ones at 2 and 3 thousand euro, and i most certainly would never borrow for a holiday or furniture, i beleive a bird in hand is better than two in bush,
    and you say your friend is going away on holiday and is cribbing about paying back debts, well he/she has to be dumb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Kick in the bollix should sort him out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

goat2 wrote: »
    i know there are loads of people out there who are in debt because of home mortgage, that could not be helped, as everyone needs a home
    Everyone needs a home but they dont need to actually "own" one
    goat2 wrote: »
    we all did it,

Nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭taintabird

Never argue with stupid people they will only drag you down to their level and beat you with experience !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Everyone needs a home but they dont need to actually "own" one

Nope
    when i say i did it, i paid it off in the good times when i could work all hours to pay it off, i am glad now as i am out of work, i always knew things were too good to be true, so i did make sure to feather my nest, today i could not do it,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 BTIRL

FatherLen wrote: »
    am i saying this right "kick him in the face"?

Thats the one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

taintabird wrote: »
    Never argue with stupid people they will only drag you down to their level and beat you with experience !!

Always read the entire thread first, otherwise you might post what somebody else has already posted and make yourself look stupid........