Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Riot Training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's pretty irrelevant really, they've probably been doing this before every general election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

The Gardai have been on alert for a while now. As far as I know loads were called off Holidays when the Budget was announced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

I suppose you would prefer an "ah sure 'twill be grand" attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

but isnt that how this stuff happends... guards come batter people... then they replied to the threat with adequate force

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I predict, I Predict A Riot video to be linked. Soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

You'd be moaning if they didn't train and weren't equipped/ready for it then a riot did brake out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Gman1 wrote: »
    I was looking at the story on the front page of the Herald today about the Garda Riot squad training. Do they honestly expect people to suddenly go out and riot during the election?

Tbh..I wasnt even considering it until now

Last time they were trained, the guards ended up beating the crap out of people.

The story is here:
    http://www.herald.ie/national-news/garda-use-punchestown-to-prepare-against-electoral-agitation-2511300.html

They might not during, but if FF get in, well.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

Too right that they should be on alert considering the muppetry that has been taking to the streets over the last few months.

Would you prefer they sit back in the station and eat brekkie rolls? Their response to the Love Ulster was brilliant and as a result of discipline and training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

They've done a great job so far. Training is an on-going thing and just never made headlines until the last year or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I imagine they train all the time tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    I imagine they train all the time tbh

Well I would hope so :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭Gman1

BigDuffman wrote: »
    Too right that they should be on alert considering the muppetry that has been taking to the streets over the last few months.

Would you prefer they sit back in the station and eat brekkie rolls? Their response to the Love Ulster was brilliant and as a result of discipline and training.

ah ye Id like them to be prepared and deal with any disturbances. But I think they are making a big deal out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Is this in response to the cow knocking over the Gaurd in Ennis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Is this in response to the cow knocking over the Gaurd in Ennis?

no thats just a load of bullocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

danbohan wrote: »
    no thats just a load of bullocks

Stop right now beefore this turns into another pun match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

The expectation of a public revolt spilling over into violence has been taken very seriously by both the AGS and the Dept Defence, both forces have had expensive riot training and new equipment issued.

Training has been both intensive and ongoing to a level where one you call alert orange or DEFCON 2.

In the conspiracy forum, in the USA this has taken a step further by pre-building massive detention camps. Ireland is playing and has been playing her part in the New World Order for several years already.

We will be met with force, as the students found out in what's seen as successful dry run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

chin_grin wrote: »

I'm disappointed, 17 posts and no video.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

chin_grin wrote: »
    ejmaztec wrote: »
    I'm disappointed, 17 posts and no video.:(

You could always link one your selves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

gbee wrote: »
    The expectation of a public revolt spilling over into violence has been taken very seriously by both the AGS and the Dept Defence, both forces have had expensive riot training and new equipment issued.

Training has been both intensive and ongoing to a level where one you call alert orange or DEFCON 2.

In the conspiracy forum, in the USA this has taken a step further by pre-building massive detention camps. Ireland is playing and has been playing her part in the New World Order for several years already.

We will be met with force, as the students found out in what's seen as successful dry run.
    :) I would say something but I would probably have to "withdraw" it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Where did you pull this info from?

I'm a member of the DF and have not once recieved a single brief about things being at "Alert Orange" or "DEFCON 2". :rolleyes:

The only new Public Order kit purchased was to replace equipment which had been damaged during training.

For you to say the DF has been putting it's troops through intensive Public Order training due to the chance of riots is quite simply, a lie. One of the skill sets of the DF is Public Order training, I do as much Public Order training now as I did 3 years ago. Nothing has changed, there's been no order to prepare troops to hit the streets or anything like that... The only Public Order training being carried out is that which Units have laid out in their Training Plans.

Stop telling lies, it's rather annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Well thats just made up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Riamfada wrote: »
    The Gardai have been on alert for a while now. As far as I know loads were called off Holidays when the Budget was announced.

A cynical person would suggest that this was in order for them to get in a heap of overtime before the cuts took place.

But I'm not cynical at all, so that thought wouldn't even occur to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Compared to other countries were not a violent country, whatever the media may portray and the thuggish tactics employed by a fair few gaurds are always going to be a waste of money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

irish-stew wrote: »
    You could always link one your selves.

No, it's a sh1t song anyway, I'll have to see if there's a better one.