Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda knocked down by escaped cow

• 26-01-2011 9:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭

A garda is recovering after being knocked down by a cow that escaped from a mart in Co Clare.

The animal escaped from the mart on Quin Road in Ennis yesterday and ran along one of the busiest routes in the town.

A garda who tried to corral the animal was knocked down and dragged along the road while three other members of the public who tried to help were also injured.

The cow was eventually brought under control and forced into a nearby field where it remains this morning

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/garda-knocked-down-by-escaped-cow-in-clare-490798.html#ixzz1C8LC3bQ7
    :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

dave1982 wrote: »
    :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Why does that deserve the roll eyes smiley? At least he tried to do something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The garda responded, well done

If the garda did nothing I'd be reading another thread complaining and :rolleyes::rolleyes:

People die every year in Ireland from getting struck by cattle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Must have been to Pamplona recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Why was the cow put down? All it did was to escape to freedom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Thread title made me think the Guard was run over by an irate woman :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Title "Cow owns Pig" would have been more suitable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

The cows are fighting back, I smell a rebellion. This time next year our government will consist of livestock.

• Moderators Posts: 51,917 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

the cow clearly had a beef with the garda.:pac:

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

gurramok wrote: »

Beef.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 TheNewMe

Four legs good two legs bad :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Was the Garda in the E R Moo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It was put in a field, not down.
    That may come later as the Gardai is planning to go Rodney King on its ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

You may take our hides, BUT YOU'LL NEVER TAKE OUR FREEDOM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

The cow should have asked the Garda to mooooooove

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

biko wrote: »
    It was put in a field, not down.

Ah, they attempted it and are now thinking of putting it down. http://www.independent.ie/national-news/garda-hurt-after-mad-cow-runs-wild-2511061.html

Very cruel punishment.
    indo wrote:
    The cow was eventually herded back to the mart but it failed to calm down. Several farmers later forced the animal in to a nearby field.

ISPCA animal welfare officer Frankie Coote refused to rule out the possibility that the cow would have to be put down.

Why not just tranquilise it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Taceom

Ah, they attempted it and are now thinking of putting it down. http://www.independent.ie/national-news/garda-hurt-after-mad-cow-runs-wild-2511061.html
    ?

That seems a bit severe to contemplate having the cow put down just because it got out of where it should be.
    Does the owner have a say in the matter?
    Should the mart be at fault for not having adequate facilities in place to keep the animals from straying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I think the Garda deserves a pat on the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

.....and a burger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

They had no udder option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

One word ...

Dinner:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Jeez lads, you're really milking the puns on this one.

I wouldn't mind if they weren't so cheesy.

Cud you not come up with butter ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

He mooed we must fight, escape or we'll die
    Cows gathered around, cause the steaks were so high...

^^^^^^^^^^
    bad cow pun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Ponders if the subtlety of this will be lost on most?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

This somehow comes to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Xivilai

They should really think about lowing the punishment.

Yes, I know it should be lowering - **** you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

The cows are fighting back, I smell a rebellion. This time next year our government will consist of livestock.

No change there then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Forget the ERU, the Gardaí need a Veterinary Response Unit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

he was a scrawny calf, looked kinda woosey, nobody suspected, he was packing an uzi...

love that tune:D

seriously though - maybe he was friesian his ass off and just went for a jog to warm up...

sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

-> Mooooooove to Farming/Agriculture

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Atleast he tried to do something. Fair play to him and others invloved.

A few months ago a horse came onto the main road and someone managed to end up in our back garden out of the blue. Rang the guards and they said theirs nothing they can do and told us to keep it in the garden... (if it were me who phoned them I would tell them to **** off and that he's out again) Luckily we found out who owned it and they collected it.

Then their was a big horse on the main road here the last day in the foggy weather, I rang the guards to report it and they said theirs nothing they can do about it, yet I told them thats its being a hazard to road safty and they just told me to either deal with it myself or move on.

Talk about useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Yakult wrote: »
    Atleast he tried to do something. Fair play to him and others invloved.

A few months ago a horse came onto the main road and someone managed to end up in our back garden out of the blue. Rang the guards and they said theirs nothing they can do and told us to keep it in the garden... (if it were me who phoned them I would tell them to **** off and that he's out again) Luckily we found out who owned it and they collected it.

Then their was a big horse on the main road here the last day in the foggy weather, I rang the guards to report it and they said theirs nothing they can do about it, yet I told them thats its being a hazard to road safty and they just told me to either deal with it myself or move on.

Talk about useless.

my brother hit a loose cow before and made s'hite of a nissan primera. it's the farmers responsibility and he can be done up as far as manslaughter if someone had of been killed. it's mental that the cops say they'll do nothing - it's a blatant road traffic and public health hazard.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

hmmm steak with a hint of pork...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Debthree

cowswithguns1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭Ghetto Cornetto

Milk tha poh-lice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

Bacon VS Beef :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,284 ✭✭✭bonzodog2