Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running and Gym???

• 25-01-2011 10:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭

Hi, Im doin my first 10k Sunday in Laois, should be handy enuf as im runnin that now. Im in a gym aswell but just wonderin if any runners would recommend i stay in the gym or just go runnin outside? Should i lift weights for upper body strenght, im fairly thin. Should i use bikes, cross trainers etc aswell or is runnin sufficent??? Cheers for any help people...:D:confused::

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭jacquib

I would run 6 days a week but I also do weights 3 days a week. If your use to the gym stay with it as I do think that it helps you in races. I like the cross country races as well and I think it makes you that bit stronger when the going gets tough. Just ease off a bit when a race is coming up. Its really a personal decision. Hope this is a bit of help 2 you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

deisecelt wrote: »
    Hi, Im doin my first 10k Sunday in Laois, should be handy enuf as im runnin that now. Im in a gym aswell but just wonderin if any runners would recommend i stay in the gym or just go runnin outside? Should i lift weights for upper body strenght, im fairly thin. Should i use bikes, cross trainers etc aswell or is runnin sufficent??? Cheers for any help people...:D:confused::

What is your goal? If you want to be a runner, run. If you want some all round fitness, do a mix of things.
    Neither is going to help you with a 10k on Sunday though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭deisecelt

Cheers folks, sorry i phrased that arseways. I dont want help for sunday, i just wanna know what best to do going forward. Havent been at 10k before but just wonderin if i should be doin weights and that now if im goin for a half marathon few months down the line. Certainly wont be doin the 6 nights a week but might hold onto the gym membership for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

deisecelt wrote: »
    Cheers folks, sorry i phrased that arseways. I dont want help for sunday, i just wanna know what best to do going forward. Havent been at 10k before but just wonderin if i should be doin weights and that now if im goin for a half marathon few months down the line. Certainly wont be doin the 6 nights a week but might hold onto the gym membership for now.

You'll find that road running is completely different to the treadmill. It will be cooler than the gym, there'll be hills and wind to contend with.
    I do a couple of days a week training on the road and never joined a gym before, though this year I will join.
    However, I'll be joining more for the use of the pool and some spinning classes. I don't think you really need to do heavy weights, but you're probably best to ask for advice from the trainers in the gym, they could help you devise a program to suit your aims.

The treadmill is so monotonous too run on. It seems twice as long. When the weather was bad I used the treadmill and felt as if I was going nowhere fast. Outdoor running is much better. On days that your feeling really tired you could use the bike or Xtrainer as an alternative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭ronnie085

Normally go for my recovery run from the gym then do bit of strength training in the gym, was just told that this was a big no no, your suppose to do strength work before any aerobic work, is this true??? :confused:

I dont really know but best to ask your gym instructor for advice on this. Ive always done my run first and then done my weights after. I suppose its what your use to or maybe there is a reason for this. I'l be at the gym tomorrow so will ask my gym instructor :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

ronnie085 wrote: »
    Normally go for my recovery run from the gym then do bit of strength training in the gym, was just told that this was a big no no, your suppose to do strength work before any aerobic work, is this true??? :confused:

Not that it's a big no no, but when you do aerobic work first, you have fatigued some muscles so that you won't get the full physiological benefit from the weights after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

What kind of strength work do you do? I will agree with the lads saying its a no no but for different reasons. Your recovery run is just that a chance to recover this should be 2-3 min slower than your easy pace designed to increase blood flow to increase blood flow to allow your body active recovery. If you are stressing the body through strength work you are not doing this. My advice would be to move your strength session and on your rest day after your recovery run do atleast 20-30 min of stretching/yoga/flexibility work. This will help you stay relatively low injury risk and allow training to be kept consistent

I never thought of it like that. I wasn't doing anything crazy, mostly light weights highish reps on the static machines, mostly upper body, though did sneak in a few reps on my quads, calfs and hamstrings. So do you think i would be better off spending my time on stretching etc and leaving the strength work till winter or whenever i not running as often?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

I never thought of it like that. I wasn't doing anything crazy, mostly light weights highish reps on the static machines, mostly upper body, though did sneak in a few reps on my quads, calfs and hamstrings. So do you think i would be better off spending my time on stretching etc and leaving the strength work till winter or whenever i not running as often?

I would say you can keep doing it and it will compliment your running but try move it to one of your easy run days rather than a recovery day if you have time.

ecoli wrote: »
    I would say you can keep doing it and it will compliment your running but try move it to one of your easy run days rather than a recovery day if you have time.

Ah time is always a problem but it is worth missing corrie to squeeze a session in. Thanks for your advice, makes sense as usual