Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance quote failing when I enter my reg

• 25-01-2011 6:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭

Hi lads,

This is the only section where I believe someone might know about what I am experiencing.
    I go to nononsense.ie for a qoute, I go through the quote process, then when I enter the reg of the car (An 01 Punto) the screen changes to a sorry, we are unable to provide you with a quote at this time but if your circumstances change, please let us know.

All standard information. I am over 25, 4 years no claims etc but this is bothering me. Is it possible their system just doesn't like my car?

irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I don't think i've ever managed to get a quote from them.

Nonsense!

I'd call them instead if you really want to be quoted or try insure.ie, 123.ie, 25plus.ie, quoteme.ie, chill.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭doOh

i got that when my car was reported stolen and never been unreported ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Forget online quotes, they're a waste of time. Ring for the best quote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Anan1 wrote: »
    Forget online quotes, they're a waste of time. Ring for the best quote.

Do you reckon?
    I might ring them tomorrow and see what they say.

Jaffa, I was with 25plus.ie for last 2 years (previously with Quinn for 2) but they want to put my insurance from approx 450 to 760...thats mad. Nothing has changed, except another year of NCB.

Its possible so my car was robbed before I bought it :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,120 ✭✭✭✭L1011

nononsense kick cars 10 or more years old I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Do you reckon?
    I might ring them tomorrow and see what they say.

Jaffa, I was with 25plus.ie for last 2 years (previously with Quinn for 2) but they want to put my insurance from approx 450 to 760...thats mad. Nothing has changed, except another year of NCB.

Its possible so my car was robbed before I bought it :confused:

Email them and ask for a callback. That 1890 number is 40 cents a minute..:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

MYOB wrote: »
    nononsense kick cars 10 or more years old I think.

nope, I got a quote for my 99 no problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

theres some guy on here at the moment raving about how no nonsense wont pay out for his crash or something along those lines too.

no nonsense seem to be full of nonsense.

i'd shop elsewhere :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Why on earth do you come on here to ask a very product/service specific questions like that instead of just ringing them up?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭pointer28

OP,

The exact same thing happened me, and when I rang them they told me that when they checked my reg against the NCT database, that it came back as having no test, which was correct.

The chap I spoke to told me that as the car didn't have a certificate of roadworthiness, then any insurance wouldn't pay out in the event of a claim, as the car isn't regarded as being fit for use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Same with me, they said it was crashed when I rang them. couldn't tell me anything more than that though

No other insurer had an issue with it, cartell report has no issue and BMW garage didn't either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,120 ✭✭✭✭L1011

andyseadog wrote: »
    theres some guy on here at the moment raving about how no nonsense wont pay out for his crash or something along those lines too.

no nonsense seem to be full of nonsense.

i'd shop elsewhere :D

Indeed. My Fiat Panda is performance, apparently. It is about 200% the performance of a base model but 200% of not a lot still isn't a lot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Chill.ie (Conor)

Hi Guys,

I Just came across this thread. I work with Chill Insurance and we compare 14 insurance providers. We would love to provide you with a quote, click here and one of the guys will give you a call or visit our site for a quote.

Thanks,
    Conor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

The Mods are going to love you shilling Conor! I'm in the market for insurance today, and you're vastly more expensive than all of the normal insurers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭doOh

rotfl ...

"Searching for insurance when you’re under 25 is about
    as enjoyable as sitting exams, but we’ll do our best
    to make it as painless as possible for you. Right now
    we have great discounts for young drivers, so call us"

wtf ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

Hi Guys,

I Just came across this thread. I work with Chill Insurance and we compare 14 insurance providers. We would love to provide you with a quote, click here and one of the guys will give you a call or visit our site for a quote.

Thanks,
    Conor.

ouch....over 175 euro more then what I'm currently paying with 123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Come to think of it, why are Insurance companies so out of touch with job descriptions too? There's Rabbi, but no Human Resources (The other's half's job), most of the jobs a normal person would do are hard to find there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Chill.ie (Conor)

Viper_JB wrote: »
    ouch....over 175 euro more then what I'm currently paying with 123

Hi, are the two policies that you are comparing the same?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭irishproduce

Two dirty knackers who robbed a car crashed into the back right side of my car in 2008 and my solicitor claimed from the state MIBI os something like that for the damage on the back of the car.
    This is on their report. Mad, they can see everything!
    Have to just get road worthiness from garage to verify car is grand. NCT wont do.
    Thanks for the replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

Hi, are the two policies that you are comparing the same?!

I'm assuming so, covered fully comp by 123 for €725 includes break down + windscreen and like 400 excess at the moment got a quote for €904 for fully comp from chill.ie not too sure about the exact cover for that but I can't imagine there would be much more, I know you are both brokers so it's down the insurance companies themselves, just seems like a huge difference. I would love to know where the massive variance in price and risk comes into play between the insurance companies as I thought it was generally based on a mathematical formula for risk assesment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

The Mods are going to love you shilling Conor! I'm in the market for insurance today, and you're vastly more expensive than all of the normal insurers.

Hi Guys,

Thanks,
    Conor.

My renewal is due shortly the best you could do was 821:(, got it for 497. Also why won't your website quote under 25s?