Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hypothetical Moral Dilemma....

• 25-01-2011 3:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

A friend of yours arrives at your house in the middle of the night. They are covered in blood and have a knife in their hand.

They're in shock and can barely explain what's happened but you gather that they've killed someone, possibly in self-defence.

They ask you for help in getting rid of their clothes and the weapon.

Do you help them and keep your mouth shut or go to the Gardai the following morning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I'd have no moral dilemma about this.

It's a friend in need.

I'd blackmail him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Friends help you move. Real friends help you move bodies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Pretty dern descriptive for the use of 'hypothetical', eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Wait and see if there is a reward for an info about a murder and then turn him in.

Talk them into coming to the gardai with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭flyton5

Obviously you help them. Nothing like incriminating yourself and perverting the course of justice. If they did it in self defence they're hardly gonna ask you to help get rid of their clothes now are they?

Even if it was murder tell them they'll be out in 6months or so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Did your friend let you in or has he ratted on you to the Gaurds?

Wouldn't rat on a friend, I'd try and convince him to go to the Gardaì and that I'd go with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Hypothetical, me arse! Where are the bodies, Larry I mean, Anonoboy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    A friend of yours arrives at your house in the middle of the night. They are covered in blood and are have a knife in their hand.

They're in shock and can barely explain what's happened but you gather that they've killed someone, possibly in self-defence.

They ask you for help in getting rid of their clothes and the weapon.

Do you help them and keep your mouth shut or go to the Gardai the following morning?

Off to the cops I think,
    if they are stupid enough to be wandering around covered in blood and carrying a knife any attempt at a coverup would be doomed to failure

mam, dad, sister, husband, son or daughter (in the future!) then probably.

Anyone else, no hope.

But seriously OP, the last thing I'd do is post on boards about it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

bluewolf wrote: »
    Talk them into coming to the gardai with me

This. Invite them in, have a chat, cup of tea, get the gardaí around ASAP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

"Sure, I'll help. Just make sure you speak clearly into this microphone".
    "Oh, I'll take those blood-soaked clothes and knife, for safe keeping"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

how good lookin is your friend and how ugly is the person she killed? Because if the answer to both is very I dont think anyone would care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    They are covered in blood and are have a knife in their hand.

Close the door in disgust at the grammatical impossibility of what they've done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

female friend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Don't worry guys. It's all hypothetical.

Honest.

<<
    >>

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

I always ask myself, "What would Jesus Hitler do?" and take it from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Ask them, while theyre at it, if they could stab a few grammar nazis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,232 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Ask them if they could stab a few grammar Nazis while they're at it.

FYP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

If they were your friend they wouldnt put you in that position, so **** em.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

it seems we may have an answer to that "how are murdered bodies found?" thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Myself and Anono making people really really think today :p

Eh, I would help them until I found out what really happened from Biggins, and then decide if I should continue to remain quiet.

If it was self defence but looked like they could never prove it, how could you turn 'em in.

Just like Stacy Slater, she's a good girl really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I guess I would have to return the favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I would welcome him/her in with tea and sympathy , play the ' Friends ' theme tune then ring Joe for advice :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

The answer to this one is obvious. Plant the knife in your local Fianna Fail TD's house and watch while the entire situation is brushed under the carpet. "Murder, no sure that poor fella mugged a nun then tripped and landed on his glass crack pipe Joe."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Depends on the situation, if they did it in self-defence they are probably better off turning themselves in, if not they're no friend of mine.

I would definitely come on boards and ask for advise though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Overheal wrote: »
    female friend?
    Let's be realistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭seafood dunleavy

tell him to get as far away as possible then ring the guards for the craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I'd ask Biggins to handle it, he knows about these things.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Tell him/her to fcuk off and dont bring me into this ****. Then close the door and call the cops.