Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cost of all driving related tests increases.

• 24-01-2011 10:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭

Dear ADI
    Please see below an important announcement from the Road Safety Authority in relation to driving test application fees.

Notice of Increase for Driving Test Fee’s
    The Road Safety Authority (RSA) has announced that the fee for the driving test is increasing by €10 from €75 to €85 for cars & motorcycles and from €110 to €120 for trucks and buses effective today Tuesday 25th January 2011. The fee for the Driver Theory Test is increasing by €5 from €35.60 to €40.60 with effect from 1 February 2011.

ADI Unit
    Road safety Authority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Are they actually trying to stop people driving or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Are they actually trying to stop people driving or what?

LOL, Probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Glenza69

This is bull..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

fair play to them, aparantly the tests were being subsidised till now and now this just makes it break even.

With the nations finance situation the way it is you can hardly justify subsidising driving tests.

Some will call it a rip off, but if all they are doing is trying to break even then that is hardly the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭DrivingTestTips: Brian

The way things are going you would really need to prepare for your driving test; because between mandatory lessons and the price of the driving test, you would not want to sit the test too many time.

Just remember if you are young and pay a lot for insurance the savings with a full licence will make it well worth it. "OR I hope it does!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭ADIDriving

The way things are going you would really need to prepare for your driving test; because between mandatory lessons and the price of the driving test, you would not want to sit the test too many time.

Just remember if you are young and pay a lot for insurance the savings with a full licence will make it well worth it. "OR I hope it does!"

Just to clarify, before anyone else gets too worried. The mandetory lessons don't effect current licence holders. Anyone why gets their first learner permit from april 4th will have to take the 12 lessons when learning to drive. Currently no requirement for pre test lessons.
    But it is a good point that having your full licence will reduce you insurance costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

most places by like 100 euro so not great tbh with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Only when the price of a driving test goes over €120 will I care...

I think it's alright if the public pays up to and as much as €120 because the state subsidizes the cost of the test to €120 anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭clonadlad

ADIDriving wrote: »
    Just to clarify, before anyone else gets too worried. The mandetory lessons don't effect current licence holders. Anyone why gets their first learner permit from april 4th will have to take the 12 lessons when learning to drive. Currently no requirement for pre test lessons.
    But it is a good point that having your full licence will reduce you insurance costs.
    What's the case if your learner permit expires after that date then you get it renewed. Will we still have to take the mandatory 12 lessons?
    Thanks!

clonadlad wrote: »
    What's the case if your learner permit expires after that date then you get it renewed. Will we still have to take the mandatory 12 lessons?
    Thanks!

No. It just applies to people getting their first learner permit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Shellygoose

The 4th april only applys to getting a car licence.....for a motorbike/moped its been in effect since Decemeber

With the nations finance situation the way it is you can hardly justify subsidising driving tests.

Some will call it a rip off, but if all they are doing is trying to break even then that is hardly the case.

Honestly? You really think they'd still be going the way they are if they weren't making a profit on it? Nothing is ever set up with an intention of making a loss, especially in Ireland.

Something set up by the Irish Government that makes a profit. Surely you jest. Driving tests make a loss like everything else that SHOULD make a profit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

Great! More sh1te from Fianna Feck because they broke from bailing out their cronies.

A few years ago at the height of the Tiger they did it for 40 euros. what the hell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 ccfcian

Hello, i'm a bit confused by all these new rules about licences and mandatory amount of lessons. I got my first learner's permit today, does that mean i won't be affected by the new rules because i got it before april 4th ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭DrivingTestTips: Brian

ccfcian wrote: »
    Hello, i'm a bit confused by all these new rules about licences and mandatory amount of lessons. I got my first learner's permit today, does that mean i won't be affected by the new rules because i got it before april 4th ?

You are correct; you will not need to sit mandatory lessons......... BUT please get lessons for you own sake.

"The point I was making earlier, passing your test will save you money in the long-run".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

Good to see the driving instructors well looked after by our government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 ccfcian

You are correct; you will not need to sit mandatory lessons......... BUT please get lessons for you own sake.

"The point I was making earlier, passing your test will save you money in the long-run".

I'll definitely be getting proper lessons, it's just all these new rules are confusing.

Cheers for the reply.

Good to see the driving instructors well looked after by our government.

...or it could be to help reduce the hundreds of deaths on the road each year.

...or it could be because we are one of the only coutries in the EU that does not have compulsory lessons.

...or it could be because the average Irish driver is (not very good) and as a collective we need to improve our attitude, awareness and skills.

...or it could be to help reduce the hundreds of deaths on the road each year.

Ah here, I think you're the one who jests. The revenue cameras aren't saving lives in the slightest, and if you pop into the Motors forum you'll see a nice thread on how speed cameras actually INCREASE road deaths.

I actually don't believe the RSA could be any more unrelated to decreasing road deaths, and they certainly aren't the cause of any drop in recent years, despite what they like to claim.

Ah here, I think you're the one who jests. The revenue cameras aren't saving lives in the slightest, and if you pop into the Motors forum you'll see a nice thread on how speed cameras actually INCREASE road deaths.

I actually don't believe the RSA could be any more unrelated to decreasing road deaths, and they certainly aren't the cause of any drop in recent years, despite what they like to claim.

You are off on a tangent with the speed cameras. It is not what the thread was about.

I would be interested to know why you think there has been a significant drop in road deaths.

You are off on a tangent with the speed cameras. It is not what the thread was about.

I would be interested to know why you think there has been a significant drop in road deaths.

It's very obvious...look at the weather we had over the Winter!

Not many people would have driven at all...so less chance of death when nobody is on the road ;)

In 2008 there were 279 deaths on Irish roads.
    In 2009 the deaths fell to 239.
    40 less people died.
    Roughly 14% less.

40 less people died.
    Roughly 14% less.

Even 1% is a significant drop when it comes to human lives, so surely 40 people not dead means it was good...

I also love how you basically ignored all that I said...

One more thing...check the stats for 2009/2010 and 2010/2011 when you can, I'm sure that'll be a much better figure, rather than figures from 2/3 years ago :rolleyes:

Even 1% is a significant drop when it comes to human lives, so surely 40 people not dead means it was good...

Yes. Any reduction is good. The bigger the reduction the better. I agree. I don't think I said anything that would suggest I believe otherwise.

I also love how you basically ignored all that I said...

The thread started as a statement about the cost of driving tests. Then developed into a discussion about manditory lessons. I believe this will help make the roads safer and that the RSA help make the roads safer.
    My point was that the number of deaths is falling by the actions of the RSA. The weather is out of our control. The simple figures I used were just to show that road deaths are falling and it is not simply because of the weather, which was as I recall significanly different between 2008 and 2009. The figures are different for 2010, but those figures can be skewed by the weather.

One more thing...check the stats for 2009/2010 and 2010/2011 when you can, I'm sure that'll be a much better figure, rather than figures from 2/3 years ago :rolleyes:

The question I was asking was, if it not the RSA's actions why are road deaths falling.

It's not the RSA's actions that are making the figure fall at all, they're helping it if anything!

When you see a speed camera/van, what are most peoples first reaction? To stand on the brakes and suddenly a LWB Transit is sitting on your back seat!

How many backroads and potholed streets do the RSA fix...actually, a better one...how many of those roads do they place a speed-camera or van on?

You know, the roads that actually cause deaths? Not the safest roads in the country, the motorways...?

It is just a question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭MascotDec85

40 less people died.
    Roughly 14% less.

212 died in 2010 so a further drop

No, you're entirely right. It's all sexist/ageist campaigns the RSAs doing that road deaths are falling. Nothing to do with new, better road networks (motorways being completed), constant improvement in vehicle safety from year to year, less people driving due to recession, newer vehicles on the roads due to the celtic tiger era, adverse conditions causing people to not drive, etc etc.

Sitting back and attributing everything to the RSA who actually do nothing to help decrease road deaths, just deserves one giant facepalm.

But here, let's take some things from the RSA's site just to see what their opinion is like.

http://rsa.ie/en/Utility/News/2011/Road-Deaths-Fall-for-5th-Consecutive-Year/
    Some of the key provisional statistics for 2010 include;

* 38% of road deaths were under 25 years of age.
    * 57% of road deaths occurred at the weekend.
    * Sunday was the most dangerous day of the week with 54 road deaths
    * The hours between 6pm and 8pm were the most dangerous, with 27 deaths (13%)
    * The average monthly fatality rate in 2009 was 18 compared to 20 in 2009 and 23 in 2008.
    * The safest month of the year was December when 10 deaths occurred. This is also the safety month on record.
    * The worst month was October in which 36 people lost their lives
    * 167 (79%) or those killed on the roads were male.

Now, let's look at these, shall we?

* 38% of road deaths were under 25 years of age.
    So, 62% of road deaths were over 25 years of age. Excellent. Glad to see them portraying young drivers in such a good light.

* 57% of road deaths occurred at the weekend.
    Bit of a pointless statistic, seems like it was just put in as filler? Ok, so 43% of deaths were during the week. But people have more free time to use their vehicles during the weekend, also - 23% of road deaths are pedestrian/cyclist - also more likely to be out on weekends.

* Sunday was the most dangerous day of the week with 54 road deaths
    I don't really see what the RSA can do about that one? Ban people from leaving the house on a sunday? Again, pointless.

* The hours between 6pm and 8pm were the most dangerous, with 27 deaths (13%)
    Finally, something useful! although, if you consider that 7-9am and 6-8pm are the most likely times for high traffic capacity on the roads, and that depending on the time of year, can be particularly dark - it would make sense that it's a high risk time. So stating the obvious goes down on the list.

* The safest month of the year was December when 10 deaths occurred. This is also the safety month on record.

They also fail to mention any causes for this, such as adverse weather conditions where there's a substancial drop in road usage.

* 167 (79%) or those killed on the roads were male.

Males make up a much higher percentage of road users than females. So we've got more bad interpretation of stats to promote sexism.

Not once do they break down those stats into their constituents - how many male/female cyclists/pedestrians/drivers/etc - lump it all together, and when males account for more, they become more dangerous.

For all the money the RSA swallows up, it really has very little to show for it.
    The head of the RSA can't even wear a seatbelt properly
    http://www.thejournal.ie/gaybo-the-real-reason-i-wasnt-wearing-my-seatbelt-properly-2011-02/

and lets not forget this
    http://www.studentsmart.ie/blog/2009/07/i-drank-drove-home-from-late-late-says-gay/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

No, you're entirely right.
    Sorry, I just could not delete this bit. (I choose to misinterpret your sarcasim.)

The RSA is sexist and ageist. I agree. It is unfair and inaccurate that the RSA and the Gardai so heavily target young male drivers. All law breakers should be treated equally. I meet guys aged 19/20 that drive almost perfectly all the time and I have had middle aged and elderly women pass the test that are pure rubbish. ( The opposite is also true ).
    The RSA does waste vast amounts of money. It is ultimately a government body and government and efficient rarely fit in the same sentance.
    Gay Byrne is a figure head to promote road safety and little more. A job he is not doing well at the moment, agreed. Noel Brett is really the man in charge.

... new, better road networks (motorways being completed), constant improvement in vehicle safety from year to year, less people driving due to recession, newer vehicles on the roads due to the celtic tiger era, adverse conditions causing people to not drive, etc etc.

Agreed. These are contributing factor.

Sitting back and attributing everything to the RSA who actually do nothing to help decrease road deaths, just deserves one giant facepalm.

Attributing everything to the RSA would be foolish. But to attribute nothing is perhaps cynical and unfair. Give some credit where it is due.
    As regards your detailed breakdown of the stats, there are points I agree with and others I disagree with, but that is a different debate.

I preferr to look at more simple facts. (I have a very short attenti...)
    Average road deaths per anum 2001 - 2005 was 380
    The Road Safety Authority is established
    Average road deaths per anum 2006 - 2010 was 287
    They may do many things wrong. But they have to be doing some thing right.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0622/breaking29.html
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2010/0520/1224270711390.html