Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drifting

• 24-01-2011 8:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭

Was at Mondello yesterday and watched some of the drifting action that was taking place.

Looked great fun. Lots of mental skylines etc.

Anyone on here into it? It has me thinking .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

E39MSport wrote: »
    Was at Mondello yesterday and watched some of the drifting action that was taking place.

POGTFO! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭ronanc15

Used to attend a lot of events but havent been in a while. It really is a great sport, nothing like a tight twin battle. Formula D is good to watch in the US and has a few excellent irish competitors. Massive sport in the US

Drift days at tracks are great, see some real grassroots talent out in everything from "tramp" drifters to serious machines!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Once you try it you'll be addicted...believe me.

A couple of me mucking about in Mondello,:D

IMG_2073.jpg

IMG_2386.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Have only gone to events as a photographer thus far, but seriously would love to get into it if I had the money. As it stands, it's probably my favourite thing to take pics of...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

Ive done drift track days in mondello and rosegreen and its not as easy as it looks, its good fun and I would recommend it to anyone who is interested, these guys are talented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Once you try it you'll be addicted...believe me.

A couple of me mucking about in Mondello,:D

What, you didn't want to put the 350GT sideways? :D

What kinda power is that r32 running?

What, you didn't want to put the 350GT sideways? :D

What kinda power is that r32 running?

:pThe 350 in its fairly standard form doesn't do sideways all that well. I haven't had it on track either.

The 32 was running just 254hp, All the work was on the chassis/brakes/transmission.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Thanks for the feedback. No pics - I didnt bring the camera as I knew I was going to get covered in muck and sh1t. I was doing the quest 4x4/tank etc thing. Good craic.

There was a thing called autoTest at the end. You throw a starlet around a small track using the handbrake. Good stuff.

Anyway, back on topic, might go and get myself a drift car ;).

Only problem is (as sqk4u) and others say is that these folks looked Very seasoned. I'd need a good bit of practicing before I'd go embarrass myself on with them.

Thanks for the feedback. No pics - I didnt bring the camera as I knew I was going to get covered in muck and sh1t. I was doing the quest 4x4/tank etc thing. Good craic.

There was a thing called autoTest at the end. You throw a starlet around a small track using the handbrake. Good stuff.

Anyway, back on topic, might go and get myself a drift car ;).

Only problem is (as sqk4u) and others say is that these folks looked Very seasoned. I'd need a good bit of practicing before I'd go embarrass myself on with them.

The last thing you need to worry about is embarrassing yourself, its all a bit of fun(although it does help if you anyone with a large yard to practice in:D)

You need to buy a cheap slider and head down to the free run days here: http://goldstonedrift.webs.com/ ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭MarkoC

If you are into drifting, the ONLY way to get into that is:

http://driftireland.com/

Came across that site yesterday. Almost bought a motor too :eek:

I already have 4 cars and I'm wrestling with myself on buying another. Would need to get a trailer too and second hand ones aren't cheap as far as I can tell.

It is very appealing though. The thought of being able to have proper fun in a fast motor without the worry of ruining a nice machine is very appealing. I don't think I'd risk taking the 8er up to mondello to throw her about. I have a 1975 mgb too but it would snap in 2 I reckon and wouldn't be fast enough.

But I wont have a nice motor. I'll have a 2-3 grand skyline or some other sh1tter. :) (certainly not a spanker R8 or even my humble 8er. I think my post was misleading - soz)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

I can see taking part in it as a bit of craic but as something to watch its right up there with cricket for boredom! Just my opinion though I much prefer to see someone go around a track as fast as they can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ShiresV2

Do you still have an E39? The rear swing arms like to shear when drifting. ;)

ShiresV2 wrote: »
    Do you still have an E39? The rear swing arms like to shear when drifting. ;)

I do have 'use' of one (chief looker after etc). That aint going drifting except when OH floors it on ice ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Ferris

But I wont have a nice motor. I'll have a 2-3 grand skyline or some other sh1tter. :) (certainly not a spanker R8 or even my humble 8er. I think my post was misleading - soz)

Skylines are grand but i've heard you have to remove the HICAS rear wheel steering so that they'll drift. Also parts attract the 'skyline tax'. In saying that the rb motors are pretty tough.

s13 & 14's are cheaper and easier to drift, are lighter than skylines and its cheaper to get enough power to drift.

There's lads out there in e30s, e36s, e39s, sierras, omegas etc. Its a relatively cheap motorsport, especially if you can source cheap tyres.