Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IDA -vs- Enterprise Ireland: Sustainable future economy?

Options
  • 24-01-2011 12:18am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭

I'm fairly new to economics so please don't lambash me if some of these facts are ridiculous.

I'd love to see more big Irish owned and Irish based industries here that export their produce abroad but the IDA in it's current form doesn't encourage this; it pushes more towards foreign direct investment. I feel that many new Irish owned companies operating particularly in the area of engineering, technology, etc.. are unable to grow and export their produce while also competing against larger multinational companies. The government prefers to draw in foreign companies in general rather than procuring large sustainable Irish companies. It's almost as if the government doesn't trust or have faith in its own people, I think such an attitude only adds to unemployment and even immigration.

The thing is, if there is a major economic depression here (as we've seen), wouldn't these multinationals be more likely to move elsewhere, ideally to some cheaper country (as we've seem), in which case there will be major job losses here (as we've seen). The only thing that keeps them here at the moment is our relatively low corporate tax rate.

If we take some large industrious Irish company, with their HQ here, would they be a little less likely to move their business elsewhere? Foreign direct investment obviously has its benefits but I think it's a quick fix initiative to Ireland's lack of large domestic industry in comparison in to other countries.