Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pipe thermostat setting?

• 23-01-2011 10:08pm
    Site Banned Posts: 344 ✭✭

hello Folks,

my stove pipe thermostat is set at 55 degrees. Its about 1 meter from the stove. The rads are luke warm a lot.
    If I raise the stat temp to ie 70 degrees does it mean the water to the rads will be hotter?

Thanks a lot,

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

No. There should be a temperature controlled damper on the back of your stove. Open it slightly to allow the damper stay open more. This will heat the water more and will, at some setting, match the thermostat and keep the circulation on all the time. Or until the fire goes down.
    I find if i have my damper shut down a little, my heating switches in and out if i don't turn down the pipe thermostat too, to match the damper setting.
    Hope i haven't made a hash of explaining that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Billy Bunting

johneym wrote: »
    hello Folks,

my stove pipe thermostat is set at 55 degrees. Its about 1 meter from the stove. The rads are luke warm a lot.
    If I raise the stat temp to ie 70 degrees does it mean the water to the rads will be hotter?

Thanks a lot,

John

No, it will just make your hot water hotter because your pump will not now cut in until the pipestat feels 70 on the pipe.

What you need to be looking at is the heat output of your stove and with what particular fuel ????? will it do what you wish it to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭celiam

I have the same problem. The plumber told me to keep the pipestat at 30 degrees. I dont know what is the right temp to set it at to provide hot water and hot rads:confused:

If you leave it at 30 it will supply 30 degrees water but then cut in and heat your rads, again the question is what is the heat output of the boiler and with what fuel ??

Let me try to explain simply....If your home needs 60,000 btu to heat it then If you have a stove with a heat output of 60,000btu;s when burning coal but burn turf then it wont give you 60,000btu it will be more like 30,000, now in the summer you may get away with it, but in the precent condisions it will be felt.

• Site Banned Posts: 344 ✭✭johneym

thanks for replies lads.

my stove is a bit different as I left the direct cylinder in place. The plumber fited a balancing valve on the hot water flow from boiler to cylinder. This is open 3 twists only in order to prioritize water to rads.
    Is 55 degrees a normal stat setting?

John

oh lordie!!!
    Stove Fan wrote: »
    The pipe thermostat does not control the temperature of the radiators or the hot water. The main reason why a pipe stat is fitted is to control the on/off of the central heating pump. You light the fire and after a while the pump switches on when the water is at the temperature setting of the pipe thermostat and circulates the hot water around the rads............The idea behind the pipe thermostat to control the pump on/off is to reduce condensation of the back boiler and to prolong its life.

Gosh!! :eek:

yes, 55 is normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Stove Fan

oh lordie!!!

Gosh!! :eek:

yes, 55 is normal.

I have deleted my post. It's a public forum in which people give out advice freely and there is no need for sarcastic remarks.

James.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Gareth2011

Hey all,

I have a ? about my pipe therostat too. I get the ideas about whent he pipe reachs the set temp the pump kicks in and thats what it does. When fire is blazing pump kicks in, rads heat up and everything is hunky dory but the fire dies down quick ( briquettes and wood ) and the rads die down heat wise too cause the pump isn't going.

The ? is how do I know what temp my therostat is at? There is no line on it top bottom or side to tell me what temp im at according to the front markings. If I have knob on front at 90 when the no 90 is at the top of thermo and 50 at the bottom which of these will I know is the corre4ct setting without the line to mark it out?

I hope im making sence :o

Post a picture of the stat.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Gareth2011

Termostat.jpg

The top is at 90 at the mo but i will say the rads are staying warmer for longer even with stove gone down alot so maybe the bottom at 50 is where it takes the reading from? IE the small line to tell me this is the point it reads from.

Very dark!!

The mark at the bottom of the knob is the indicator setting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭studdlymurphy

Turn the stat clockwise till it stops and then wherever the 90 degree mark is is your marker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Sorry Mods, for resurrecting an old thread. But I'm looking for the answer to the questions posed here. Eg. What is the actual effect of changing the temperature up or down on the pipe thermostat in my hot press.

Its currently set to 60C. As I understand it, if I turn down the temperature to 30C my rads will actually get warmer or at least still be the same temperature but my hot water in my taps will be 30C....and vice versa, if I increase the thermostat to 90C, my tap water will be 90C but more than likely my rads will be colder as a lot more of my solid fuel is going towards heating the cylinders hot water and less is devoted to my rads.

Is my understanding correct?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭andyd12

bcklschaps wrote: »
    Sorry Mods, for resurrecting an old thread. But I'm looking for the answer to the questions posed here. Eg. What is the actual effect of changing the temperature up or down on the pipe thermostat in my hot press.

Its currently set to 60C. As I understand it, if I turn down the temperature to 30C my rads will actually get warmer or at least still be the same temperature but my hot water in my taps will be 30C....and vice versa, if I increase the thermostat to 90C, my tap water will be 90C but more than likely my rads will be colder as a lot more of my solid fuel is going towards heating the cylinders hot water and less is devoted to my rads.

Is my understanding correct?
    Yes that would be correct understanding. Give or take 5-10 degrees, most stats are not very accurate or precise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

andyd12 wrote: »
    Yes that would be correct understanding. Give or take 5-10 degrees, most stats are not very accurate or precise

Thanks Andy. Yep, I understand that most Thermostats would probably be only accurate to +/- 5 or 10 degrees etc.

The pump is activated when the water reaches the temperature selected on the pipe thermostat and this pushes the water out to the rads. Colder water will come back into the stove to be heated up again and the process will circle indefinitely as long as there is a fire in the stove.

A couple of other questions.

The hot water system is a closed system so eventually after 3-4 hours of a good fire, the entire amount of water will heat up and the pump will stay on for much longer periods. (like maybe 30 minutes at a time etc.) until the water in it gradually cools down from running around the rads in the house. Is this correct ?

I have an overflow pipe from the heating system that goes outside .....is this water from the heating system or ordinary hot water from the hot water tank that is going outside ?

I do not have an adjustable Stove so I cannot adjust how much heat is given out from the stove to the living room and how much is given over to heating water/rads ... is there some way I can control this by adjusting the pipe thermostat ? For example, by adjusting it up to say 90C that would have the effect of heating the water in the tank and keeping the hot water in around the stove for longer ...giving out more heat to the living room ...instead of leaving it at 60C which means that once the water reaches 60c, its pushed out to the rads and colder water comes into the stove, cooling it. Does that logic make sense ?