Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Planet Gliese (yeah, the new one they found) - support life? or we're bring foolish?

• 23-01-2011 4:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭

So fellow boardies ... does our hope lie in a new planet? or we foolishly looking towards the stars trying to find a mirror image?

predicted replies:
    - Cool story bro (lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,234 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

20.3 light years.

I hope you're not claustrophobic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Lumen wrote: »
    20.3 light years.

He'd better not be easily bored either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Confab wrote: »
    He'd better not be easily bored either.

Have you not read Marie Doria Russle's book 'the swallow'? Sure its just down the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

LighterGuy wrote: »
    or we're bring foolish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

"Space Entrepreneur"? :pac:

Also.. they named it Goldilocks? Come on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

given the size and scale of the universe theres a good chance that human like creatures evolved elsewhere in universe and theres probably planets with Irish like creatures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

With our present technology it would take a couple of million years to get there by which time the human race would probably be extinct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

liah wrote: »
    "Space Entrepreneur"? :pac:

Believe it or not space entrepreneurs could make (if they're not already making) a lot of money, particularly in the area of satellites and communications.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Believe it or not space entrepreneurs could make (if they're not already making) a lot of money, particularly in the area of satellites and communications.

I know, but for reasons I can't quite explain it's still an amusing title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Sisko

LighterGuy wrote: »
    or we foolishly looking towards the stars trying to find a mirror image?

Only an idiot would say such a thing is foolish. If we don't kill ourselves 1st or get wiped out by some other means. Humanity will eventually colonize other worlds, a simple matter of time.

Can't help but cringe and shudder at how much of an eejit that red headed RT news interviewer was. "Scientist have found a new planet that could hold life, and its in our own solar system"

Also the planet isnt called Goldilocks, its just located it whats known as the Goldilocks zone. That RT interview was just way to feckin bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

IN SOVIET RUSSIA, NEW PLANET FIND YOU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

It should be easy enough to fit an outboard motor to Earth and set the GPS and away we go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Ah the 'Gliesens', a great bunch of lads.
    Rumour has it, vanilla coke is widely available there too!

To the space pod, QUICK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

How about we concentrate on looking after the planet we're living on instead of looking for escape havens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

m@cc@ wrote: »
    How about we concentrate on looking after the planet we're living on instead of looking for escape havens?

No. I owe it to my great great great grandkids who I'm sure would rather be jumping from hyperspace gate to hyperspace gate visiting exotic worlds and boning chicks with 3 boobs than driving a hemp powered car 10 mile an hour on an earth full of hippies.

Someone think of the children!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,339 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

This is an incredible discovery and, of course, the subject was completely ruined by that stupid interviewer!

Why the hell was she talking about leaving earth? Why wasn't she talking about the fact that we will be able to investigate and see if there is incumbent life on the planet??

Also, it's 20 light years away. Unless she has personally discovered how to travel at warp speed, how the hell does she expect "we" are going to get there?

Can you imagine the enourmity of a discovery of life on another planet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Lumen wrote: »
    20.3 light years.

better get moving so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Scrambled egg

"It's located right here in our own solar system" according to her. Since when is there 9 planets? Excluding Pluto's demotion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

better get moving so
    You're the admiral..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

It's a nice thought that the universe is brimming with life. All the various life we've discovered here on Earth, able to withstand extreme cold, heat, pressure etc. - and all that on one planet. Among the billions of planets out there, it's inevitable that there are other forms of life.

It feels as if we're living a generation before the oceans were crossed. Settled into our societies, on the verge of great adventure, but with no realistic chance of experiencing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭WolfForager

I for one welcome our new Gliesien Overlords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Calibos

I always roll my eyes to the heavens when I read articles about terraforming Mars or Venus so we have somehwere to go if we f*ck up the Earth. Yes, because its going to be so much easier and less expensive to Terraform a Volcanic furnace with pressures of 400 atmospheres and surface temperatures that would melt Lead or a planet with virtually no atmosphere and with no magnetic field to stop your newly created atmosphere from being blown away by the solar wind within 1000 years of you finishing the job. Yes that'd be much easier and cheaper than Re-Terraforming the planet you F*cked up. Even if we tried, we couldn't f*ck Planet earth up to the extent that Nature has f*cked up Venus and Mars already. It would be like replacing your car with a brand new one costing you 30,000 quid instead of just replacing the battery in your old one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Calibos wrote: »
    I always roll my eyes to the heavens when I read articles about terraforming Mars or Venus so we have somehwere to go if we f*ck up the Earth. Yes, because its going to be so much easier and less expensive to Terraform a Volcanic furnace with pressures of 400 atmospheres and surface temperatures that would melt Lead or a planet with virtually no atmosphere and with no magnetic field to stop your newly created atmosphere from being blown away by the solar wind within 1000 years of you finishing the job. Yes that'd be much easier and cheaper than Re-Terraforming the planet you F*cked up. Even if we tried, we couldn't f*ck Planet earth up to the extent that Nature has f*cked up Venus and Mars already. It would be like replacing your car with a brand new one costing you 30,000 quid instead of just replacing the battery in your old one.

That's all well and good for the next 4.9 billion years (as long as nothing too catastrophic happens before then,) but you have to think about the long term. The really, really long term :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

The real possibility this new planet brings of intelligent life on another planet that's within reach using future technologies means we need to start developing massive space guns to fight them. This is just the thing the people of earth could unite against because sooner or later those aliens are going to come here and take our jobs.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

at present we are one asteroid away from extinction.

one big enough to wipe us out might be seen before it hits, but there isn't much we could do about it

colonies in orbit would help , cheap energy ,of course it would be a one way trip due to the economics involved.

until we know more about he atmosphere of the new planet we won't know if it's habitable. By the time we got the technology needed to survive on the way there it enable us to live anywhere and there would be no real need to live at the bottom of a gravity well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Calibos

TPD wrote: »
    That's all well and good for the next 4.9 billion years (as long as nothing too catastrophic happens before then,) but you have to think about the long term. The really, really long term :P

Yeah, in 4.9 billion years, I think it'll be the humanoid Earth lifeform that evolved from the E'Coli bacteria that'll have to worry about that one. Remember, its only 3.5 billion years since Humans and infact all complex life evolved from an ameoba.

For all we know, we are the first intelligent life to evolve in this Galaxy. Maybe the odds are that at 13 billion years old the chances are there is only one intelligent species per galaxy in this universe. Maybe it takes the first 8 billion years of a universe to have enough star life cycles and enough hyperstars seeding the universe with heavy elements for rocky planets and life to start forming. ie. Maybe we are the first. Maybe we only get a Star Wars Galaxy full of inhabited planets and millions of species of aliens from the 13th or 14th billionth year of the universe after the first species, ie Us, start spreading our gut bacteria across the cosmos :D
    FFS! Our first steps on a planet in another star system and you drop your cacks and take a dump!!
    I am seeding the planet with life dude!! Due to the relativistic effects of lightspeed travel, after we finish our 5 year tour of the galaxy, when we pass by here on the way home, 4 billion years will have passed. We'll be greated by the humanoid decendents of my gut bacteria. I shall call them L.Casei.Immunitas!! DNA analysis will show them I am their God.
    Now that I think of it, we should probably stay and live like Gods for the rest of our lives. Sure Earth will have been swallowed by the Sun by then anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Who says that other life forms need conditions similar to ours to survive? The truth is, us humans are a physically very poorly built species. Our threshold for pain and survival is pretty much abysmal, and the comforts man has become accustomed has done nothing to improve that. If we were unfortunate enough to come across any other form of intelligent life, we can kiss earth and our existence goodbye. We've been on this planet for 2 Million years in the form that we know. This is absolutely nothing. We're less than a wart on the ass of society. In the vast context of the Universe, we are NOTHING. We don't even exist.

Personally, I feel physical space exploration is a waste of time. Money should be spent building more telescopes similar to the Hubble, and pointing them in various directions, and just gazing in awe at what we see, and hopefully learning a thing or two. The sad fact is, for the next 400+ years the limit of our physical space exploration is to Mars and back. This is NOT worth our time or money. We still have a lot to work on here on earth, a lot of our physical laws break theoretically break down out in space, the laws of quantum mechanics shatter near black holes and quasars, yet we have the nerve to assume we know anything about the Universe. This Gliese planet, it may have life, it may not, but hyping this shít up is absolutely ridiculous. I wouldn't mind a skeptical expert opinion or discussion between two knowledgeable and well-informed people, but the one doing the interview is an absolute feckin' eejit and listening to her imply that we might end up on a planet 20.3 light years away is too much for me.

Or we can make ridiculously powerful weapons and just use those to compensate for our "poorly built" bodies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Or we can make ridiculously powerful weapons and just use those to compensate for our "poorly built" bodies.

Yes because enemy life-forms tend to give a 6 months warning before invasions :pac::pac::pac:

It would only be proper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

liah wrote: »

Also.. they named it Goldilocks? Come on!

Because it's juuuuuuuuuuuuuust right?