Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Training a Vizsla

• 21-01-2011 11:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭

I recently bought a Vizsla pup(He's 16 weeks now)and so far I have been just getting to do the basics(sit,come,return to the whistle) and he obeys most of the time.
    I have also started to bring him out for runs in big open fields with a bit of cover just to let him get the idea of hunting.
    I'm purposely not bringing him to anywhere that has an rough cover as I'm worried that at this age he might damage hips etc if he jumps off anything.
    He seems to love it and seems to be showing all the right signs e.g pointing bushes,hunting with his nose down to the ground etc.I am not doing any "hunting training" on these runs,just letting him enjoy himself.
    I'm just wondering if the behaviour is just "puppy behaviour" or if it is genuinely the early stages of a good dog.Any advise would be great.TNKS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

I see where this question is founded. Eagerness to know if your dog will be 'a good one'

I wouldn't mind seeing a video of him running/ working

Your dog is young but that's not to say you can't run a few tests.
    My lad used often be so engrossed I what he'd do he'd forget you were there. I used then hide but watch him. He'd lose is life when he thought I was gone but had to use his senses to find me again. (feckin old spice made it too easy for him though :D ) great way of them learning to keep 1 eye on you always.

If he's actively using is nose he's playing/ searching but he's not really hunting. This won't kick in for awhile until the prey drive had developed. This wont happen until he knows what he's at.

Experience in the field & meeting birds will do this.

If he's coming back 'most' of the time I suggest refining that then moving onto somewhere you might the odd few birds & slowly ramp it up...

There's no sure fire way to know a good dog at 16wks. You must invest as much time & effort as you can over the next few years & if the dog has it in him it will show...

Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Thanks for that.
    Yeah he sounds similar to your one.He goes out 10 or 15 metres then looks back to see that I'm there.
    I'm getting out with him most days( or nights with the lamp) and I'm determined to spend as much time with him as possible.
    I had english setters years ago but I lost two of them in one night(stolen) and I lost the enthuasism to train anymore.
    The pup has got me all fired up again and my son(14) is dying to start shooting so I'm hooked now.
    Are the Vizslas as headstrong as everyone says cos my fellow is not showing any great signs so far?.
    Also would you recommend a long lease (10m) when he gets a bit older?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭endasmail

any pics of him?

Enda,a few pictures that I took today:).
    I dont have a digital Video Camera,pity !!

Fair lump of a pup!
    Good muscle for a young dog!

Yeah, I brought for a walk through the town and there were people enquiring what he was,two people thought he was a ridgeback and wanted to buy him( they would probably have paid me with carpet or gates if you catch my drift).
    As you probably noticed he's not docked.I have no real strong feelings either way but does a Vizsla need to be docked.
    Apart from the expense at this stage I have no real urge to dock him( I think that he looks grand with the full tail) and surely his tail is as slim as an EP or a GSP and they don't get docked (or do they).

Gsp normally do. Seems to suit them. EPs don't.
    I personally dont like a docked pointing dog - purely out of visual preference when they are on point...

I bred a litter in July and didn't dock any of them, none of them are docked now afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭endasmail

thats a beautiful dog
    fair sized chest on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 woodcock 52

That's a nice dog, best of look with dog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

beautiful looking dog best of luck with him... ive seen quite a few vizsla's before all across the pond (all adult dogs) and can safely say none had the stature of your lad... reckon he'll be like a 3cx in cover:p

Gsp normally do. Seems to suit them. EPs don't.
    I personally dont like a docked pointing dog - purely out of visual preference when they are on point...

I'm with you on the look of the full tail when he will be on the point.

You've made up my mind not to get him docked
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Glensman

Vizzy wrote: »
    I'm with you on the look of the full tail when he will be on the point.

You've made up my mind not to get him docked
    Thanks.

You've really left it too late at this stage anyway (cost wise). So it's probably not worth the hassle...

He is a fantastic looking dog, I picked up a GSP yesterday the same age... Not half as developed though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Cool looking dog you got there. Only for the head you would make the mistake in thinking it was a ridgeback. Big strong looking dog

Spunk84 wrote: »
    Cool looking dog you got there. Only for the head you would make the mistake in thinking it was a ridgeback. Big strong looking dog

Jeez,maybe there is a bit of Ridgeback in him !!!:eek:

Na,only joking he is not in the same parish as a Ridgeback.

Just hope he turns out as good as he looks:)