Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not only is she stupid, but she's greedy too.

• 21-01-2011 6:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭

Many of you have probably seen the viral video of the women who was txting and fell into the fountain. If not, here's a quick link:

Not only is the women as thick as two planks, but she's now proved that she also can't take responsibility for her own foolishness and is looking to blame someone else.
    Yes...you guessed it...she's threatening to sue.

http://tinyurl.com/skynewsurl

So stereotypically American...

I was thinking....who is she going to sue? Here's my suggestions:
    1. The manufacturer of the fountain for not making the fountain taller and drier.
    2. The phone company for not issuing her with a warning not to text and walk at the same time.
    3. The person she was texting, as she was probably replying to their text.
    4. The security guard for being human and laughing his ass off like everyone else.

What in the **** can she possibly sue over?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭J K

The shopping center should invoice her for the free wash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

Sky News wrote:
    A woman who fell into a fountain while texting is threatening legal action after a video of the mishap went viral and made her a laughing stock.

The CCTV footage shows Cathy Cruz Marrero using her mobile phone when she trips over a low wall and falls into a fountain at the Berkshire Mall shopping centre in Massachusetts.
    A security guard is heard laughing as he replays the video to his colleagues.
    He has since been sacked for sharing the footage online, where it has proved hugely popular on YouTube, Facebook and Twitter.
    The 49-year old from Pennsylvania - who works at the shopping centre - appeared on Good Morning America with her lawyer and said someone should have helped instead of making her a national laughing stock.
    She said: "I didn't get an apology, what I got was 'at least nobody knows it was you'. But I knew it was me."
    Her lawyer, James Polyak, said an investigation is under way to see if legal action can be taken to "hold the appropriate persons accountable".
    "We are troubled by the fact that anyone at the Berkshire Mall responsible for releasing this video would find humour in an employee injured on the premises," he told Pennsylvania's Reading Eagle.
    US Security Associates, the company that provides security at the shopping centre, said in a statement that it "does not condone this type of behaviour" and would "ensure processes are put in place to prevent it from happening in the future".

First time I've seen the video. Thanks OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

What in the **** can she possibly sue over?

Some muppet built a fountain in her way. Think the Americans are bad, were worse http://breakingnews.ie/ireland/girl-awarded-10000-for-trauma-suffered-when-bike-fell-near-her-488904.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

LUL, Any Aliens who monitor us must think we're so stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

i bet she wins too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

would texting and falling into a pool be considered multi-tasking?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

We are troubled by the fact that anyone at the Berkshire Mall responsible for releasing this video would find humour in an employee injured on the premises," he told Pennsylvania's Reading Eagle.

If I did something so embarrassing, I would'nt want the whole world to know about it. I presume the company that hires the security guards is liable for releasing such footage and fair play to her for suing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

snubbleste wrote: »
    If I did something so embarrassing, I would'nt want the whole world to know about it. I presume the company that hires the security guards is liable for releasing such footage and fair play to her for suing.

That's what viral videos are though. There are plenty of them, most of them embarrasing, but not everybody in the footage is going about suing.

She had her anonymity, nobody knew who she was, she could've shrugged it off and seen it as having unknown fame. I hope she loses and makes a loss from legal fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭thecornflake

Some muppet built a fountain in her way. Think the Americans are bad, were worse http://breakingnews.ie/ireland/girl-awarded-10000-for-trauma-suffered-when-bike-fell-near-her-488904.html

I knew exactly what shop it was before I read it. Happened while I was in Jervis too. The chap in the section was then told by the manager to put them back up on the shelf, he refused and said it wasn't safe. Goes to show most managers are idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,563 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Was she supposed to be working at the time by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

LUL, Any Aliens who monitor us must think we're so stupid.

Think we're stupid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

Americans,

Giving stupid people hope

God bless em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Think we're stupid?
    The whole Universe is laughing at us :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

The whole Universe is laughing at us :o

Yep, so know we should sue.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

snubbleste wrote: »

The cctv quality was too poor to identify her. Her identity only became publicly known after she went to the media. Releasing the footage harmed nobody as the woman's identity would have remained unknown had she kept her mouth shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Look how quickly she gets back up and walks away. It doesn't even phase her. I bet she falls into fountains all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

The 49-year old from Pennsylvania - who works at the shopping centre - appeared on Good Morning America with her lawyer and said someone should have helped instead of making her a national laughing stock.
    She said: "I didn't get an apology, what I got was 'at least nobody knows it was you'. But I knew it was me."

So to remedy the fact that nobody knew her, she went on Good Morning America and named herself in a court case? Bahahahaha! Stupid is right! :pac::pac::pac:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Millicent wrote: »
    So to remedy the fact that nobody knew her, she went on Good Morning America and named herself in a court case? Bahahahaha! Stupid is right! :pac::pac::pac:

Maybe her actions will convince the guy who fell on ice in the RTE News clip last year to come forward and identify himself?

Fishie wrote: »
    Maybe her actions will convince the guy who fell on ice in the RTE News clip last year to come forward and identify himself?

*crosses all her fingers*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

Fishie wrote: »

That guy's skipped the country. He was on the next plane outta here after his fall. Never to be seen again. Legend has it that he moved to Sweden, and fueled by desire to overcome his fear, he became an professional ice-skater.

deathrider wrote: »
    That guy's skipped the country. He was on the next plane outta here after his fall. Never to be seen again. Legend has it that he moved to Sweden, and fueled by desire to overcome his fear, he became an professional ice-skater.

I lol'ed! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

She's not sueing for falling in the fountain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Many of you have probably seen the viral video of the women who was txting and fell into the fountain. If not, here's a quick link:

Not only is the women as thick as two planks, but she's now proved that she also can't take responsibility for her own foolishness and is looking to blame someone else.
    Yes...you guessed it...she's threatening to sue.

http://tinyurl.com/skynewsurl

So stereotypically American...

I was thinking....who is she going to sue? Here's my suggestions:
    1. The manufacturer of the fountain for not making the fountain taller and drier
    2. The phone company for not issuing her with a warning not to text and walk at the same time.
    3. The person she was texting, as she was probably replying to their text.
    4. The security guard for being human and laughing is ass off like everyone else.

According to prinz, the mall and/or the phone company is to blame for this episode. In fact this would never have happened if she wasn't in the shopping area texting her agent to find out something or other.

The manufacturers of that pond are to blame. PERIOD!!!
    I blame the lighting myself...but if she dies on the operating table from a heart attack then I will blame the security guards or maybe Nokia or maybe the job she had that demanded she be in that place buying a skirt or some sh1t for her work.