Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now that we are all broke (allegedly).....

• 21-01-2011 8:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

Is it not time to ban the round system? when we DO get a chance to go to the pub? well some of us!!!!

I was at a social gathering last Friday....the first time in a pub since New Year's Eve. I am involved in a local pantomime group. Great fun...panto went well and then a get together which was great and a great stress buster.

However, I didn't get involved in a big round, just two of us but there was one person in the group who was buying drink for everybody and spending a fortune. It made me think! One of the reasons why I am reluctant to go to the pub with the OH is because he cannot help himself when he goes for a drink....if someone joins us, he HAS to buy them a drink as well.

I think it is time to stop all this carry-on and not have to apologise for it! That way, we may get to go to the pub more often, knowing we don't HAVE to get involved in the famous IRISH ROUND SYSTEM. Just a thought!:confused:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

cut your cloth and all that, if ya can ya can, if ya cant ya cant. some people budget for that situation tbh

If your doing it right it works out the same as buying your own drinks as you will get a drink back from each person you buy one for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

If your doing it right it works out the same as buying your own drinks as you will get a drink back from each person you buy one for.
    Aye except for the stingy motherf*ckers who have some excuse to leave before its their round...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Iron Hide wrote: »
    Aye except for the stingy motherf*ckers who have some excuse to leave before its their round...

You can always throw (friendly) abuse at those cúnts and guilt them into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

suitseir wrote: »
    I am involved in a local pantomime group.

Oh no you're not!

Never have this problem with the people I drink with, worst that can happen is if you end up having to get a round in the nightclub (thus costing more) but we do make a effort to finish rounds in the pub most of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

It rarely works out like that for me. There is always one fecker who is drinking bottles of Miller(why?) which cost more, or someone else on rum and coke, which also cost more. You never see the money back in return. I think that is the OP's point.

Never have this problem with the people I drink with, worst that can happen is if you end up having to get a round in the nightclub (thus costing more) but we do make a effort to finish rounds in the pub most of the time.

The other point the OP was making, was it is not a set group she is drinking with. When she is out with her fella he goes mad and starts inviting other people into rounds.

OP, if he is spending the money from his own 'pocket money' then let him off to enjoy himself. If he is spending the money out of the domestic collection e.g. your money call a halt to it. No more snu-snu until he cops on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

You can always throw (friendly) abuse at those cúnts and guilt them into it.

Some people are impervious to guilt. They'd happily sit there and let anyone buy them a drink and even have the cheek to ask to borrow a score to go to the club afterwards, even if you couldn't go because you're up for work but they don't have the burden of a job, or rent or bills and the only reason their dole runs out faster than my budget for socialising (which is less than the dole) is because they have more nights out to enjoy it.

Wow, I didn't realise I was that bitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Add to that the couple that thinks that because they are a couple, they only should pay for a round together in stead of taking a turn to pay up seperately.
    Somehow the girl in the couple always drinks rum and coke or similar.

I never do rounds really

inforfun wrote: »
    Add to that the couple that thinks that because they are a couple, they only should pay for a round together in stead of taking a turn to pay up seperately.
    Somehow the girl in the couple always drinks rum and coke or similar.

I think you and I have mutual friends. She is always on the rum and coke that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

syklops wrote: »
    It rarely works out like that for me. There is always one fecker who is drinking bottles of Miller(why?) which cost more, or someone else on rum and coke, which also cost more. You never see the money back in return. I think that is the OP's point.

why the hell would you buy miller in a pub? its piss water!

i thought the only reason ppl drank it at home is because tesco's sell bottles for 6 cents each?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Sounds like a bunch of misery to me. I wouldn't be put off going to the pub because of the 'round' system. People buy you a drink you buy them one back, if you don't want to get into a round you say it. That's how most people operate. Some people don't want to get into a round because of money reasons, some because they don't drink as fast or can't handle as much drink as others.

Either hang around with people that are mates and you can say no to, or stay in by your grumpy self! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Hate doing rounds because someone will start getting the expensive shots in and you'll have get them too.

If I don't have the dosh and somebody buys me a drink I just bow out of the round and buy that person a drink back, simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

spunkers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Yup don't like the round system, especially if it involves more than 4 or 5 people. Prefer staying out of it myself if it's a bigger group/with people not well known, but with my best friends yeah we'd usually go rounds together, because we know each other's drink of choice and we'd all be basically drinking at the same pace.

Tbh I think rounds are great, it would be a right pain to have to go up to the bar every time you want a drink especially in a busy bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭northernpower

I like the rounds too, if you know someone usually walks out before their round then make sure they buy early with a bit of light hearted ribbing from the group, continuous offenders should be made to feel embarrassed by you announcing that because of their tightness they won't be included in the round.

It is best up to about 5 people, if it gets any bigger then just "double up" with a buddy once one round has gone through.

It is part of the social behaviour among irish and i'd hate to see it gone because people are counting their small change - and unless some one is takin the pi*s i think it's petty to be goin ape sh*t over someone having a rum and coke or a bottle of miller (though personally i couldn't bring myself to order a bottle of miller, or bud for that matter, at a bar)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Hate doing rounds because someone will start getting the expensive shots in and you'll have get them too.
    Yeah, rounds are nonsense when you're drinking with children.

Rounds work when you're drinking with adults and nobody changes their order between rounds. You time it right so that the barman just needs a nod, and a fresh round of pints lands in front of ye as you're downing the last frothy bit of pint.

Jaysus I'm getting old...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

tbh, only do rounds with upto 4 people... and never go round more then twice when there's 4 of us... so its never been a problem...

neil_hosey wrote: »
    why the hell would you buy miller in a pub? its piss water!

i thought the only reason ppl drank it at home is because tesco's sell bottles for 6 cents each?

Note I did put a why after I said Miller, yet I do have friends who drink it by the bottle in the pub. I have no explanations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

I always end up buying a lot of drinks for the other half and some of her friends most nights, we buy each other drinks, I don't count who "owes me a drink" and people who do this and expect everything to balanace out...Well the pub is not for you, Sitting at home drinking cans of gold dutch is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

Oh no you're not!

Thanks for making me LOL in a public place.