Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bring back the football terraces

• 20-01-2011 09:53PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭

Anyone else think uefa/fifa's stance on terracing at major games is a bit over the top?. Fair enough there have been many incidents down the years but that was down to poor ground maintenance or just poor grounds in general where the money was never put back into them. Sure even with seats most people behind the goals stand anyway. I look at the hill as an example that safe terracing does exist and crowd control can be managed on them. The atmosphere is better and it leads to IMO a better match day experience.

Il be the first to say terracing aint the most attractive looking structures but still say its whats missing in football and should be debated at higher offices in uefa/fifa.

Would you like to see a return of the terraces 93 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    76% 71 votes
    No too dangerous
    23% 22 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,151 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Look to Germany is all I shall say. http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/6458843.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Yes it should definitely be brought back IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Pretty please.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,241 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I'd love to see them brought back

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I for one like being able to sit on my fat ass.

Not a chance of terraces being brought back.

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    I for one like being able to sit on my fat ass.

I'd like one stand in the ground to be a terrace. Say like the Stretford End of the Kop(Anfield;)) and leave the rest then for people who don't want to/can't stand in the terrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Jebus, let it go lads, never gonna happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Definitely No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

I long for the day I can stand in the Showgrounds :( Bring it back I say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

gustavo wrote: »
    I long for the day I can stand in the Showgrounds :( Bring it back I say

Go the away end we can stand all we want.

Thats what pisses me off no matter what the ground or league home fans get treated like gimps and away fans allowed do what teh **** they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

When you look at Dortmund playing in Signal Iduna Park you'd love for that kind of atmosphere at every ground, close to 25,000 on that terrace for every home game :eek:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

No to terraces. You should be able to stand with seats though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

they are in germany. best atmosphere around for games would be german leagues, and it also has 10 of the top 25 supported teams in europe and best supported league in europe. it really is football for the fans over there, not for the customers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

No thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,075 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

There is no reason why there can't be terracing behind the goals and seats at the side of the pitch.

Modern terracing and crowd control have long since moved on since the tragedies in Glasgow and Sheffield.

baz2009 wrote: »
    I'd like one stand in the ground to be a terrace. Say like the Stretford End of the Kop(Anfield;)) and leave the rest then for people who don't want to/can't stand in the terrace.

Everyone stands in the back 3 blocks of the KOP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Yes yes yes, nothing worse then being told to sit down by stewards. Although the stretty Tier 2 is basically all standing anyway and same for the lower but can depend on the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,989 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Zebra3 wrote: »
    There is no reason why there can't be terracing behind the goals and seats at the side of the pitch.

Modern terracing and crowd control have long since moved on since the tragedies in Glasgow and Sheffield.

The thing is though that returning to terracing would be expensive for clubs.

The area of the terrace would have to have the seats removed and then be re-modelled to accommodate a terrace meeting the existing safety standard that also allows seats to be placed on it if the rules for a certain game require them, as they do in Dortmund and Croke Park.

May teams have sent millions on new stadiums and re-building old ones and it may not be financially wise to start building again just to add a terrace.

The thing is though that returning to terracing would be expensive for clubs.

The area of the terrace would have to have the seats removed and then be re-modelled to accommodate a terrace meeting the existing safety standard that also allows seats to be placed on it if the rules for a certain game require them, as they do in Dortmund and Croke Park.

May teams have sent millions on new stadiums and re-building old ones and it may not be financially wise to start building again just to add a terrace.

So what about new stadia?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Each ground should have a regulated kop or ultras terrace where supporters can stand, preferably behind a goal. At the very least, there should be a section where you can stand and are allowed to be vocal without people telling you to mind your language in front of the kids or sit down.

Terraces didn't cause the problems that led to all-seater stadia per se: just inept management and policing of same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

stovelid wrote: »
    Terraces didn't cause the problems that led to all-seater stadia per se: just inept management and policing of same

Well they kinda did as well. Back in the 80's and early 90's terracing world wide was a shambles. When it was banned it was a good thing. It took the germans to look at it and explore why it was bad and unsafe. The design and layout of those old terraces were a contributing factor to unsafe stadiums. That and the unruly mob that occupied them. Today in Germany (i've stood on a few) and demonstrated no where better than in Dortmund, terraces have been designed around crowd movement and safety. They are totally safe and give atmosphere back to the grounds.

A lot of people that would say no simply think of the dark days and have never seen a modern terrace and how brilliantly they control the movement of the crowd. Sadly they have also never experienced a modern day terrace. Shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

stovelid wrote: »
    Each ground should have a regulated kop or ultras terrace where supporters can stand, preferably behind a goal.

Agree fully on this.
    iregk wrote: »
    They are totally safe and give atmosphere back to the grounds.

This too, but have to say, they way they're building modern stadia these days, I honestly couldn't see terracing working. Like, the new stadia are all corporate soul-less arena's, like Wemberlee, Emirates, Lansdowne etc...

Shame.

This too, but have to say, they way they're building modern stadia these days, I honestly couldn't see terracing working. Like, the new stadia are all corporate soul-less arena's, like Wemberlee, Emirates, Lansdowne etc...

Shame.

Couldn't agree with you more. Clubs and associations see the bigger money now in corporate boxes and a lot are build with concerts and such like in mind. Sadly there aren't many purpose built for football stadiums being built these days.

iregk wrote: »
    Couldn't agree with you more. Clubs and associations see the bigger money now in corporate boxes and a lot are build with concerts and such like in mind. Sadly there aren't many purpose built for football stadiums being built these days.

Jaysus, I never copped that they're building them with the concerts in mind. Spurs want to move to a big modern ground too, which is a shame I think cos I actually like WHL.

Think I'll be taking a trip to Dortmund this or next season. Dying to actually see what the new modern terraces are like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Jaysus, I never copped that they're building them with the concerts in mind. Spurs want to move to a big modern ground too, which is a shame I think cos I actually like WHL.

Think I'll be taking a trip to Dortmund this or next season. Dying to actually see what the new modern terraces are like.

eh croke park has a modern terrace;)

Been in the westfallon a couple of times. The most amazing stadium I've ever been in. As I'm not a Dortmund fan I couldn't get into the wall but being in the stadium and looking onto it hearing that roar is just sensational.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

They would be fine in some countries eg Spain but not fine in other countries eg England. The reasons are obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

safe-standing.jpg

For those who voted too dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Dempsey wrote: »

Where's that?

Germany I'd say.
    Warper wrote: »
    They would be fine in some countries eg Spain but not fine in other countries eg England. The reasons are obvious.

There are big bad hooligans in Spain too, ya know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Where's that?

Weserstadion, Bremen

Not to me.

Please explain.

All empty terraces are safe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Look to Germany is all I shall say. http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/6458843.stm

They mention Professor Gunter Pilz, he is a well known figure in Germany, very reliable and literate.

And does anyone realise, that seating areas are dangerous as well? Where else can you tear out seats and use them as missiles? ;)

No way man. If they'd work in Spain, they'd work in England. Spanish fans are no angels!

Dortmund terrace on ESPN now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

Never in a million years.

Watching those Hillsborough clips again on itv, definitely no way. I'm glad the Hillsborough families finally are allowed to see those files.

Those stands were completely inhumane, almost an act against humanity. People being hurdled like sheep together, p*ssing on you etc. No no no.

Football grounds are much better now, people should learn to sit and just watch the thing instead of blocking my view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Gnobe wrote: »

Watching those Hillsborough clips again on itv, definitely no way. I'm glad the Hillsborough families finally are allowed to see those files.

Those stands were completely inhumane, almost an act against humanity. People being hurdled like sheep together, p*ssing on you etc. No no no.

Football grounds are much better now, people should learn to sit and just watch the thing instead of blocking my view.

Terraces have moved a long way since Hillsborough as you may have noticed had you actually bothered to read the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,791 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Would love to see them being brought back. Can't see why they shouldn't be. With proper management and strategic barriers they aren't half the hazard some here think they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Every home team should be allowed to have one terrace behind a goal. The rest of the stadium should be all seater and away fans have to sit. With strict ticketing and general observation and consultation with the successful German model then I don't see the problem. We have moved a long way since those death traps and rubbish management of stadiums.

Wouldn't be keen on multiple terraces at grounds tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Terracing should be allowed in one part of the ground and be for home supporters only it should also have a carefully worked out capacity so we don't go back to the bad old days.
    I know in my teams ground I would love to see it in the old enclosure area under the main stand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

The Germans have proved that standing can be safe. I'd be in favour of reintroducing it if the same standards were applied as in Germany

Celtic said recently they were investigating the possibility of reintroducing a standing section in Parkhead, be interesting to see what they conclude

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Gnobe wrote: »

you misunderstood the question. it wasnt "should we bring back 1980s style terraces where they crammed as many people as humanly possible into the ground?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

The Shed end at Turners Cross has might look all fancy but it has lost its heart and soul with the inclusion of seating.

Fair play to the Germans. They got it spot on. Have been to Dortmund's stadium and its brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭bonescap

safe-standing.jpg

Thats looks safer than normal seated areas. I've ended up about 4 rows down a few times after a goal in an all seated stadium, couldnt see tht happening there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

The Shed end at Turners Cross has might look all fancy but it has lost its heart and soul with the inclusion of seating.

Everyone still stands there anyway, the seats are pointless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Am I missing something here?

Now im 27 and cant really remember ever being to a game were there was terraces, but I dont see the big need to have them back?

Any game ive been to no ones ever seated, people spend the majority of the time standing anyway.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I think that the English FA should definitely look into what Germans have done with standing areas. There is no comparison between the crumbling stone step with a few metal barriers of the 80's and before, and the modern terracing put forward as a safe area in German stadiums, and there are even seats installed as well!!!

Crowd control, policing, stewarding, and general supervision of supporters areas are light years ahead of where they were 20 odd years ago. The fact that there was terracing in the Leppings Lane end was a factor in the tragedy 22 years ago, not the cause, and I personally do not think it would be in any way disrespectful to the memories of those lost at Hillsborough or any other footballing tragedies in standing areas to have safe standing areas introduced into stadiums, as long as they adhered to strict safety requirements.