Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shanklins' & Williams' Contracts Won't be Renewed

• 20-01-2011 2:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,037 ✭✭✭conf101

http://www.planetrugby.com/story/0,25883,3825_6678806,00.html
    Cardiff Blues have confirmed Martyn Williams and Tom Shanklin will not be offered new deals at the end of the season.

The veteran duo - who have both been capped by Wales and the Lions - are the biggest casualties as the Blues look to cut their playing budget following their early exit from the Heineken Cup.

Cardiff's failure to make it out of the pool stages has cost the club a reported £500,000.

As a result chief Peter Thomas has been forced to make some tough decisions - starting with telling Williams and Shanklin that they will be free agents at the end of the season.

"This is the biggest, hardest, toughest, worst decision I have had to make in my 20 years with Cardiff," Thomas told the South Wales Echo.

"They are two of the greatest servants we have ever had. I have never met two finer people than Martyn and Tom. I think they are absolute gems, who have given us everything.

"Tom has kept his knee together since the Lions tour of 2005 and put his body on the line year after year.

"And Martyn is a legend who richly deserves to become a centurion for what he has done for Welsh rugby. He is one of this country's finest ever players.

"But Old Father Time catches up with everybody. They are both coming out of contract and part of the cutbacks are that people who are out of contract can't be retained because other people are in contract."

The Blues had spent big with the likes of Dan Parks and Michael Paterson being recruited in the summer.

However Thomas has confirmed the new playing budget would now be £4.4m for the 2011/12 season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Shame to see such greats go.

Martyn Williams in his prime was one of my favourite players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Shame to see such greats go.

Martyn Williams in his prime was one of my favourite players

+1 always did the right thing at the right time. Proved that a brilliant rugby brain can make up for a lack of size. I'd be very surprised if he didn't go into coaching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Williams will surely retire after the world cup, he had planned to play on for another season at club level.

Shanklin in an interesting one. He's still only 31 but he's had a terrible injury record for the past few years (he's out for 3 months at the moment). In his prime (08&09) he was a brilliant player for Wales. I don't think many clubs would take a risk on him tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I read an article recently quoting the Blues playing budget for 10/11 at 5 million pounds so either a few more lads are being let go or these two are on 300K each.

As such I think its right for the Blues to let them go since with the age of Williams and the injury records of Shanklin the Blues are right to let them go.

• Sneaky little Shanklin to Munster transfer?

Just a one year thing?

Could a case be made where he "shares" the Jersey with one of the younger lads coming through? Playing the first 60 of the matches at the beginning of the season, culminating in a reversal of gametime towards the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

+1 always did the right thing at the right time. Proved that a brilliant rugby brain can make up for a lack of size. I'd be very surprised if he didn't go into coaching.

Apart from his trip in match against Ireland at Croke Park but yes a top rate player who always gave 100% and was key to both Wales Grand Slams - scored crucial tries against France in both 2005/8. BTW who is Michael Paterson?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Sneaky little Shanklin to Munster transfer?

Just a one year thing?

Could a case be made where he "shares" the Jersey with one of the younger lads coming through? Playing the first 60 of the matches at the beginning of the season, culminating in a reversal of gametime towards the end?

His knees are almost banjaxed, not worth the risk.

Sneaky little Shanklin to Munster transfer?

Just a one year thing?

Put him on a pay as you play contract and it's a no lose situation.

Would be a good mentor to some of the younger guys.

He'll have no problem getting a contract somewhere.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

paterson is a kiwi import from the wellington hurricanes i think.

marty holah, jerry collins, xavier rush, paterson. the welsh teams between them could throw together a very handy kiwi team!

thats prob one of the reasons why shanklin and williams are being let go. too many high profile imports

CatFromHue wrote: »
    paterson is a kiwi import from the wellington hurricanes i think.

marty holah, jerry collins, xavier rush, paterson. the welsh teams between them could throw together a very handy kiwi team!

thats prob one of the reasons why shanklin and williams are being let go. too many high profile imports

There's the pack for you:

Ben Castle, Tom Willis , Decon Manu
    Paul Tito, Mike Paterson
    Jerry Collins Marty Holah
    Xavier Rush

Its not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

There's the pack for you:

Ben Castle, Tom Willis , Decon Manu
    Paul Tito, Mike Paterson
    Jerry Collins Marty Holah
    Xavier Rush

Its not bad.

Is Deacon Manu not Fijian? Thought I saw him play for Fiji against Wales in AI's.

Good spot. He was born and raised in NZ and in the 2004 All Blacks trial he was the only player on the Probables team not to make the cut :(

I have him as a de facto kiwi.