Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Your Club & Society

• 20-01-2011 1:18pm
    Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,132 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Stickying a new topic. Promote your Club or society here folks! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭vinamax

S.C.A.!!S.C.A.!!S.C.A.!! :p

Yeah, I'm chairperson of the college "Medieval Society", which is actually a branch of the Society for Creative Anachronism. It's basically a medieval and renaissance re-creation group (as opposed to re-enactment, we do it for our own fun and create characters who might have lived instead of people who really did) and is open to anyone in the Athlone area. Our groups name is the College of Kings Lake and we're a college branch within the Shire of Eplaheimr, which covers the Offaly/Tipperary/Laois/general Midlands area. We do have a structure of kingdoms and principalities, kings and queens, and such things. But it's so much fun you wouldn't believe it! We do a load of medieval activities which includes full-armoured combat, crafts, armour making, cooking, brewing, dancing, period(6-1600AD) entertainments and lots of other things so there's something for everyone and fun for all the family.

We have craft, or in our lingo Arts and Sciences, evenings where we do things like knitting, calligraphy and illumination, leatherwork, costume making and research, and are hoping to branch out into more and more things of this ilk as we go. There are also events where we go for a day or full weekend to take part in competitions and generally meet other SCA members in our spiffy medieval clothes. Sometimes these events are held in castles, like Raglan Castle or Caerphilly Castle in Wales! :D

We run the archery and fencing at the college too.
    Archery practice dates are posted on the sports notice board in the Coffee Dock in the main campus canteen. I can post days and times here as well if there is enough demand.

We had a poster with the details for fencing up before Xmas but someone took it down. Fencing isn't sports/modern fencing, we use blunt rapiers and move in the round as opposed to the usual back-and-forth way. It's a lot of fun and not very strenuous at all! Sadly my sword arm is temporarily banjaxed but I'm still able to teach(kinda :P), so if you're interested we're up in the MPH balcony on Thursday evenings from 6-8pm. Lads, if you want to actually spar you're gonna need your own rigid groin protection. It's a perfectly legal kill-zone...

For combat activities we provide all kit, and it's completely free! But if you are seriously interested in our activities you can become a paid member for something like €15 a year. For this you can go to events all across the world for the member's price, are insured to take part in all activities and receive the Dragon's Tail, our Kingdom newsletter every month.

We'll be having our own one-day event on the 26th of March. More details of that to follow.

If anyone is interested, drop me a line at vinamac88@yahoo.com :)

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Peps

Hi all.

I'm the organiser for the Anime Society in AIT. Anime commonly refers to animation originating from Japan. In the Anime Society, we hold screenings every Tuesday in Y103 (Engineering Building) at 6pm. Normally we show subtitled anime, but may show dubbed anime in some circumstances.

There's no entry fee or anything like that, just come over and enjoy anime with your fellow anime fans. If you want to receive texts advertising each screening, simply give me a shout when you're there and I'll add you to the texting list. There's also our Facebook page which will give details of the events.

If there's demand for any types of anime-related events other than screenings, or if you wish to recommend anime to screen, feel free to suggest them.

That's more or less it. So if you like anime, feel free to come over! :)

- Peps

• Registered Users Posts: 25 paul_ie86

This has been running for a couple of weeks in the college and is run by a few of us, and I just thought I'd come in here and let you all know about it. So far we've shown South Park: Bigger, Longer and Uncut, Team America World Police and Requiem for a Dream. We've gotten decent enough crowd for all of them, but are always looking for more people, and recommendations for films.

original.pjpeg51zKnbbubvL._SX500_.jpgteam-america-world-police-0.jpg

The films are shown in B1029 (the lecture hall opposite the Bank of Ireland), and usually starts at 7pm on a Tuesday. Admission is free, so come along and enjoy a free night out.

Hope to see you there next Tuesday. Here is our facebook page if you want to make any suggestions.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 spuddington

is there any music scoieties in the school? like something outside of the instrument technology course? like it would be great to get one going if there isnt one yet. great way to meet people and possibly get bands going. also im very interested myself in the film society

The MAIT course *were* the music society when I was there (and I was in the first year of it). We were just told that we were, nobody was elected or forced into any officer roles, nobody actually signed up, any money that was raised was gotten from running table quizzes for Project Management classes.
    The Trad Soc is popular enough from what I gather as well.

Talk nicely to Ruth about getting something up and running. If you like I can help out a bit but you guys will be running things as I'm not a student anymore.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭hamstercrusher

Ah crap the music society is gone?!?! :( Myself and a mate ran it in 2002 I think and we won society of the year from setting up battle of the bands and stuff. There should be drum kit and a few amps there that we bought for the society still in the college need any help let me know.

There is a drum kit and amps in the recording studio, including at least one amp that was bought specifically for the use of a music/music tech society after some fundraising.

Ps. Hamstercrusher, I never saw any drums in AIT that weren't studio or student property.

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭hamstercrusher

Well ya see when I was there there was no recording studio, We had to store the drunm kit and amps in a room beside where the bank machine used to be. It was an orange drum kit so if thats the one in the recording studio then that actually belongs to the music society. We used to meet on Tuesday evening and Jam down in the prefabs at the back of the college. The Battle of the bands took place on the Monday of Rag week and ran all day.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 spuddington

id love to get the music society up back and running. any suggestions on how best to start it again?

Get Ruth Kennington on board as the staff advisor. Make it impossible to miss hearing about it (all-student emails, obnoxious poster campaigns in the canteen and in all buildings/departments, etc.). Get creative with events, such as open mic nights or even days in the canteen and other such things. Don't be afraid to ask other former students for help (I'm still heavily involved with the fencing and archery clubs, "medieval society" and anime society so am around quite a bit). And most importantly, don't tolerate people who want to be involved in the running and then do nothing.

Well ya see when I was there there was no recording studio, We had to store the drunm kit and amps in a room beside where the bank machine used to be. It was an orange drum kit so if thats the one in the recording studio then that actually belongs to the music society. We used to meet on Tuesday evening and Jam down in the prefabs at the back of the college. The Battle of the bands took place on the Monday of Rag week and ran all day.

The studio equipment was all brand new, I never saw an orange kit anywhere. There were other BOTB's in the last few years, I helped out with some of them, but the longest was held over two nights.
    As I said, if people want to get it up and running again I've little else to be at so iffin' ya need a hand just PM me. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭waynegalway

vinamax wrote: »
    The studio equipment was all brand new, I never saw an orange kit anywhere. There were other BOTB's in the last few years, I helped out with some of them, but the longest was held over two nights.
    As I said, if people want to get it up and running again I've little else to be at so iffin' ya need a hand just PM me. :)

Wow, blast from the past, but way back in the day, I actually started a Music Society in what was then Athlone RTC. I set it up in 1995/6 and I know for a fact that it went on well for at least a few years after I left in 96.

We got some money from the students union (about a grand if memory serves) and bought some gear from a music shop in town. We got a drum kit, a bass amp, 2 guitar amps and a small PA system. The gear was all second hand, but it was okay. We used to set it up in the main lecture theatre (I think that's gone now, it used to be down my where the SU place was). To the best of my knowledge that gear was being stored on campus up to the late 90's but I have no idea if its still around.

We got a guest speaker in once, and he gave a talk about all the different guitar effects and equipment he used on stage, and it went down very well.

We did a deal with a couple of niteclubs in town and ran series of "Alternative Discos". Grunge was massive back then, but clubs didn't really cater for that taste. We made a few quid out of those notes to help pay for the gear.

It was all really really good fun, so I hope you can get it going again. (I still have a Constitution for it somewhere, if it's any good to ya)

The Music & Instrument Tech course arranges things like that all the time. Part of the course is event/project management so they have to run a show or event somewhere in second year.
    As for the equipment, maybe it's being hoarded by the SU, I don't know. Any time anybody wants to use instruments they go straight to the studio (November mass, for example). Some people bring their own drumkits but most of the time ours has to be hauled down from the live room.

We don't need a constitution now, just a minimum number of members, chairperson, treasurer and maybe secretary, the support of the SU staff and willingness to co-operate with the Trad Soc (and their co-operation too). Thanks for the offer though :)

Myself and Spud have started things off, baby steps will do for now seeing as exams are so close. If you or anybody you know is interested please tell them to respond to any posters or emails we send out.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭waynegalway

vinamax wrote: »
    The Music & Instrument Tech course arranges things like that all the time. Part of the course is event/project management so they have to run a show or event somewhere in second year.
    As for the equipment, maybe it's being hoarded by the SU, I don't know. Any time anybody wants to use instruments they go straight to the studio (November mass, for example). Some people bring their own drumkits but most of the time ours has to be hauled down from the live room.

We don't need a constitution now, just a minimum number of members, chairperson, treasurer and maybe secretary, the support of the SU staff and willingness to co-operate with the Trad Soc (and their co-operation too). Thanks for the offer though :)

Myself and Spud have started things off, baby steps will do for now seeing as exams are so close. If you or anybody you know is interested please tell them to respond to any posters or emails we send out.

Good luck with it!

We had a pretty big thing going, I'd say we were easily the biggest non-sporting society in the college. From memory we had about 150-160 members, 30-ish turning up regularly for meetings. I still have list of members and I'm still in touch with a good few of them.

What we could do is maybe support one of your events and use it as a reunion type thing.

We haven't even started yet... It's better not to run before we're even born.

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭Yedya

Who to talk to about starting a society?

1. You need a chairperson, secretary and treasurer (3 different people).
    2. You need a staff advisor, i.e. a lecturer who will at least put their name on paper.
    3. You need a minimum amount of members (12, I think. Could be completely wrong).
    4. You need to be registered with the Student's Union. Get a table at Clubs and Socs with the relevant form (officers names and members-- should be one on each table), and send it in after you're done. If you're applying for funding it should go in with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Is this a dead thread?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,339 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Might restart again once the new semester kicks in

Thanks. A veterinary nursing society has been set up since this thread was active

• Registered Users Posts: 2 AITSU Clubs

Just a note for everyone that Clubs & Socs day will be held on Tuesday 17th September in the MPH :)

Don't forget to "like" the AITSU CLUBS page on Facebook and all incoming 1st are especially welcome to like the page and get involved!

www.facebook.com/aitsuclubs

Kevin Ronan
    AITSU Clubs Officer

In addition to the vet nursing society, an animal interest society is also being set up for anyone not studying veterinary nursing but have an interest in animals, their welfare and the natural world. More details on clubs and soc day :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 34 zoeenya

Will be looking into setting up a socialists (political interest) society, if this tickles anyone's fancy!!!????

• Registered Users Posts: 24 farrelbot96

a lot of people take bus home around 6 is there ANY clubs before then??

Very few*. They're an after-class thing and a lot of people don't get off classes until then. Some don't even start until 8 or so...

*Archery is on Friday afternoons from 2-5ish. It's the only time we can get the hall on our own, and we need it off-limits for safety reasons.

Whoops, forgot to mention this before...

Clubs and Socs is on Tuesday 17-9-13 from 11am to 2pm. Come along, see the stands, sign up for some fun!

See y'all there! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1 scherfjack

Its nice