Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bookies Special Offers

• 20-01-2011 10:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11

Folks , Just wondering what special offers are available in your local bookies . My local bookies (stillorgan ) offers double the odds for 1 winner in a patent which i think is decent only need a 7/2 winner and it covers the cost of the bet .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Let me guess that's Ladbrokes :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Robon

Yeah correct and right . Seems its only for January .

There's a shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭whatsupdoc?

Ladbrokes do a 3 at 3 special where today they enhanced the winners SP of 3dog races 3.17 and 2 other races can't rememeber what they were.
    Sometimes it's finish 3rd and get paid as a winner.
    They also do double the odds 1st goalscorer if they score the first goal of the 2nd half as well.

Get yourself up the road (3 shops) to Boyles outside of that hour and get SP Boost and Money Back on selected races, double soccer odds if 1st goalscorer scores 2nd goal of the match. They also give a 5% discount but not sure on what.

Mind you, you should have gone to PP yesterday.
    They had in their January Sales - Money Back All Fallers at Newcastle!
    1.10 Degas Art 5/6 fell
    1.40 Oil Burner 11/4 fell (Hurdle! :eek:)

Money Back on any Fav that didn't finish in 1st 3 at Lingfield
    12.50 Bahart 8/13 5th
    4.10 Loyal Royal 5/2 7th
    &
    4 winning horse enhances

PP have had some very good racing offers in last few weeks: paying a horse that finished 2nd as the winner, paying a favourite halfway through the race as a winner, money back Losers.
    Haven't seen anybody as generous as those in the last few weeks.
    Just wish they would do them online as well ;).

Yeah Powers seem to have a good few specials lately , i just find alot of there early prices are shocking for Horse Racing . Like multiple bets so think the double the odds for the patent is a very good offer .

By the way oki how u know it was ladbrokes , do they offer it in many shops ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Haha I love that 'Pay a horse as a winner' during the race craic.
    I was in Mulholland's during their Oktoberfest. A five horse novice chase,the one Weird Al dead heated with Little Josh. The favourite was backed off the boards and Weird Al drifted like a barge. They call the favourite the winner after about three furlongs and is then pulled up. Then Weird Al dead heats with the other. They had to pay full stake on the first three horses in a 5 horse race haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Celtic3x

greetings wrote: »
    Haha I love that 'Pay a horse as a winner' during the race craic.
    I was in Mulholland's during their Oktoberfest. A five horse novice chase,the one Weird Al dead heated with Little Josh. The favourite was backed off the boards and Weird Al drifted like a barge. They call the favourite the winner after about three furlongs and is then pulled up. Then Weird Al dead heats with the other. They had to pay full stake on the first three horses in a 5 horse race haha

fair play were ya on one them? be a while before that happens again id say.

Cause there's only 2 bookies in Stillorgan and Boyles didn't do it so that just left Lads.

Celtic3x wrote: »
    fair play were ya on one them? be a while before that happens again id say.

I wish. That was a Sunday and all week I'd talked about backing Weird Al in the Paddy Power Chase. He didn't go for it and went to a graduation chase instead. I somehow talked myself out of backing him :confused: Went 11/10-5/2. I was roaring at the tv for him not to win,I felt like crying when he got the dead heat.

Went 11/10-5/2

As good an example you can get to take the morning/opening prices in a bookie that does guaranteed prices.

okidoki987 wrote: »
    As good an example you can get to take the morning/opening prices in a bookie that does guaranteed prices.

That wasn't the point I was making but true. Are there even bookies anymore that don't do guaranteed prices for singles? They aren't worth betting with if they are.

Yeah I know that, just thought it was a good example.
    I've stood beside guys who for whatever reason just won't take a EP/BP and rely on SP :eek:.
    Most do GP but not all of them do them for all channels i.e. Hills don't do them for phone bets.

That's ridiculous,this day and age if you aren't taking a GP you are just silly.

Yep but that's the mind set of some of these guys.
    That's one of the reasons bookies make money.

Hi ,

Anyone know which ladbrokes branch has double the odds 1 winner patent this month ?

Tks