Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strange words from An Taoiseach

• 18-01-2011 8:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/taoiseach-vows-therell-always-be-a-cowen-from-clara-for-ff-2500052.html

Is this the fighting talk?

Is he trying to determine his kids future? Perhaps they would have no interest in politics!!!

Or is that the arrogance of the man assuming the electorate there will always vote for a cowen?

Or has he resigned himself and his family to putting up election posters? Don't they get contractors to do that now? Will they take them down as quick?

In this day and age arnt election posters a waste of time and money and not very environmentally friendly

In France there is one set of posters erected at each town hall and that's it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/taoiseach-vows-therell-always-be-a-cowen-from-clara-for-ff-2500052.html

Is this the fighting talk?

Is he trying to determine his kids future? Perhaps they would have no interest in politics!!!

Or is that the arrogance of the man assuming the electorate there will always vote for a cowen?

Or has he resigned himself and his family to putting up election posters? Don't they get contractors to do that now? Will they take them down as quick?

In this day and age arnt election posters a waste of time and money and not very environmentally friendly

In France there is one set of posters erected at each town hall and that's it

Pfft, typically FF. Reminds me of when Mary Hanifan went on the radio crying a couple of months ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Sounds like he's trying to pull on the emotions of fellow TD voters to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I presume he wants them all Going Forward together,:rolleyes:

galwayrush wrote: »
    I presume he wants them all Going Forward together,:rolleyes:
    Don't mind them going forwards - as long as its towards electoral disaster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭SLOOPY

BS'ing away to high heaven on radio 1 at the moment.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

Everytime I turn on the radio Cowen is on waffling. WHY does he only fight when it is his own job on the line and not when it is the country? He has seriously been in the media more in the past few days than he was for the entire of 2010 and that is no exaggeration. An absolute disgrace frankly. And does he not realize that shouting down people and coming across as a bully will not work like it did in 07? People are sick of his nonsense. Martin arguing in a more calm and rational manner without attacking everyone and their dog regarding 'conspiracy theories and blaming everyone but himself like Cowen does would garner more votes.FF will still do very poorly but clearly better without Cowen as leader. I am so sick of Cowen with his "I don't accept that" crap - I was amazed on the 6.1 news yesterday to hear Martin actually utter the words "I accept that" - he really is a rebel :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Why does everyone find it strange when politicians engage in politics? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

TBH Slideshowbob you and I were not the people this speech was intended for. It was aimed at the indoctrinated in FF. It is obviously the kind of rhetoric that they like to hear. To me it sounds like the rubbish that has landed our country in the mess it now finds itself in. Family dynasties putting people into power who do not have the ability or vision to lead the country and make the decisions for the future prosperity of its citizens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,668 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

SLOOPY wrote: »
    BS'ing away to high heaven on radio 1 at the moment.:rolleyes:

heard that, i honestly think he beleives he's good for the country, worryingly

shame he didnt show this sort of fight when negotiating withe the eu/imf

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

enda1 wrote: »
    Why does everyone find it strange when politicians engage in politics? :confused:
    ...Because usually they are too busy wining and dining, being smoozed by companies, off on junkets, attending book launches and openings, attending race track meetings, off playing golf with their "mates" (but with no business being discussed of course!) and on and on...

The Dail in Dublin must be one of the most empty buildings in Dublin as regards state properties and politics!
    The least of them now attending it being Bertie, who is too busy with his forestry company, his various speech gigs in between writing for papers and popping out of closets - and I use him just as one example!

heard that, i honestly think he beleives he's good for the country, worryingly

shame he didnt show this sort of fight when negotiating withe the eu/imf

Indeed - why does no-one put that to him? it would have been nice during those negotiations if he was there shouting at Olly Rehn etc in relation to the terrible interest rates "I'm sorry, I don't accept that" - As if :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

typical cowan, when the shouting and rambling doesnt work, try the sympathy vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Biggins wrote: »
    ...Because usually they are too busy wining and dining, being smoozed by companies, off on junkets, attending book launches and openings, attending race track meetings, off playing golf with their "mates" (but with no business being discussed of course!) and on and on...

The Dail in Dublin must be one of the most empty buildings in Dublin as regards state properties and politics!
    The least of them now attending it being Bertie, who is too busy with his forestry company, his various speech gigs in between writing for papers and popping out of closets - and I use him just as one example!

I agree, the Dáil is sinfully empty a lot of the time. Its function has been diluted to almost a voting chamber rather than the debate chamber its designed as.

However, the practice of wining and dining, meeting companies, "junkets" etc. ARE politics.

Bertie however...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Gulliver

Is the government made up of TDs or STDs? When things go wrong, we can't get rid of the feckers.

He insists "I'm the democratically elected leader of Fianna Fail" Well democratically, the party (and we) want rid of him but like a bad case of groin-rot, he won't go away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

I don't accept that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Gulliver wrote: »
    He insists "I'm the democratically elected leader of Fianna Fail"

I refute that statement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭Laminations

In a speech Mr Cowen pledged there would always be a "Cowen from Clara" fighting for Fianna Fail.

What about fighting for the country? The priorities of these guys :mad:
    SB-08 wrote: »
    Everytime I turn on the radio Cowen is on waffling. WHY does he only fight when it is his own job on the line and not when it is the country? He has seriously been in the media more in the past few days than he was for the entire of 2010 and that is no exaggeration. An absolute disgrace frankly.

It's a joke that over 2 years of the country in crisis we get no national address because apparently Cowen is not a media man but once his political career is endangered he whores himself on every station he can - spouting propaganda rather than words of reassurance for the people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭scr123

The ABFF have forever been fighting FF with undiluted hatred and when FF fights back they have a problem. This simple point is why I consider the ABFF to be a disgusting bunch of self-righteous bigots buried in their own particular brand of insanity. Once the Taoiseach declares the election I fully expect him to lead FF in attacks on the ABFF that will match the vitriol the ABFF have become masters at in their own minds

Link to George Hook giving Clowen the Right Hook. :Dhttp://media.newstalk.ie/extra/1749/popup

I refute that statement

I don't accept your refutioning and I also don't accept that others don't accept my statement.

Going forward, I'll fight you at golf as long as you don't talk business to me. Oh and bring some rashers.

Seriously, if this were a comedy, people would be rolling their eyes at how unrealistic the Taoiseach character was. I mean, in reality if someone made such a monumental cock of the country, he'd be gotten rid of. Wouldn't he? Oh wait....

scr123 wrote: »
    The ABFF have forever been fighting FF with undiluted hatred and when FF fights back they have a problem. This simple point is why I consider the ABFF to be a disgusting bunch of self-righteous bigots buried in their own particular brand of insanity. Once the Taoiseach declares the election I fully expect him to lead FF in attacks on the ABFF that will match the vitriol the ABFF have become masters at in their own minds

Did Comical Ali get asylum in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭SLOOPY

This simple point is why I consider the ABFF to be a disgusting bunch of self-righteous bigots buried in their own particular brand of insanity.

Beats going round with your head buried up your hole kidding yourself that everything is fine and dandy.

How the hell you can stand up for that shower of corrupt incompetant wasters is beyond me.

Eh the difference is we put the country before FF. We don't just criticise them for sh1ts and giggles, we do so because we see them and their self interests damaging the country. You support FF to the detriment of the country.

Straight question - which comes first for you, FF or the country? And would you lose FF to save the country?

Eh the difference is we put the country before FF. We don't just criticise them for sh1ts and giggles, we do so because we see them and their self interests damaging the country. You support FF to the detriment of the country.

Straight question - which comes first for you, FF or the country? And would you lose FF to save the country?

Classic example of the ABFF dearth of political and economic knowledge.
    It is utter hypocrisy to say the ABFF are motivated by the country right now. The ABFF lost 6 elections in a row and turned this country into a one party state. The ABFF are driven by nothing else but to crush FF and get into power. There is nothing new about this as it has been going of for near 85 years.
    The last 30 months have put FF to the severe test of party or country. The measures taken and the position of FF in the polls is proof positive of where FF stands on the party V country issue.
    I repeat, the ABFF are so blinded by their self-inflicted brainwashing political and economic reality has left them far behind

"There are no Americans in Baghdad"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

He insists "I'm the democratically elected leader of Fianna Fail"

He keeps repeating that, its as bad as "I did not have sexual relations with that woman". No country to bomb to get out of this one though.

...Straight question - which comes first for you, FF or the country? And would you lose FF to save the country?
    It is utter hypocrisy to say the ABFF are motivated by the country right now. The ABFF lost 6 elections in a row and turned this country into a one party state. The ABFF are driven by nothing else but to crush FF and get into power. There is nothing new about this as it has been going of for near 85 years.
    The last 30 months have put FF to the severe test of party or country. The measures taken and the position of FF in the polls is proof positive of where FF stands on the party V country issue.
    I repeat, the ABFF are so blinded by their self-inflicted brainwashing political and economic reality has left them far behind

...And thats how one avoids answering a question!

BRIAN!!!!! Get off that internet thingy!! Dinner's ready!!

I'll ask again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Why doesn't he just create a House of Lords and get it over with? The next election will be between Enda, Baron of Castlebar and Brian, Earl of Offaly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,210 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

gandalf wrote: »
    "There are no Americans in Baghdad"

Or in our case "the IMF are not here"
    BRIAN!!!!! Get off that internet thingy!! Dinner's ready!!

That should keep him off of here for at least 3 or 4 hours.
    More if matti harney is around.
    And then it should be tea time. :D

And before anyone claims I am being personal about him and harney, I will unashamely say I am, because guess what it is us who are paying for their bloody expensive appetities.

BTW when I read the thread title I thought or rather hoped he might have uttered the words which woudl be strange to him and cronies:
    "I resign and accept full repsonsibility for all my disasterous actions both in creating and handling the fallout of the greatest bubble in our history"

I am not allowed discuss …

I'll ask again.

I dont know how to do it nor do I want to know but I find something not right about taking extracts from a post and bringing them forward. Most of the time its okay but a bit too slimey and cowardly for me

Anyway, read my post again and its absolutely clear where I and FF stand on party V country