Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stolen iPhone 4

• 16-01-2011 6:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭

Some dirty rotten b*stard stole my iPhone 4 last night. I had it insured but thats not the point, im feckin disgusted. They also took a small amount of cash.

The people in the phone shop told me its possible for Vodafone to block the phone using the IMEI code, rendering it usless to the thieves (Who called me recently dialed numbers & also sent a whatsapp message to my boyfriend saying 'hope this phone is insured':mad:)

Is it really possible for them to block it or is that just silly talk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

yeah they can blacklist it on irish networks but if they change the imei first i dont think the block will work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

Temporary Barring of Lost or Stolen Mobile Phones
    If you find that your mobile phone has been lost or stolen, contact your network immediately and ask them to put a temporary barr on your number. This will ensure that all out-going calls are suspended temporarily. If you find your phone, you can just ring the network again and ask them to lift the barr, and you can make calls again. If you are unlucky enough to have your phone stolen, at least you can be sure that you are not paying for someone elses calls!

Blocking Lost or Stolen Mobile Phones
    If your mobile goes AWOL, did you know that your network can block all stolen mobiles by putting a block on the IMEI number (the phone's serial number). Unlike a temporary barr that can be put on a phone number striaght away, an IMEI barr takes 24 hours. Contact your account manager or customer care for more information.

What do you do if your mobile phone is lost or stolen

If your mobile phone is lost or stolen, contact your mobile phone service provider to immediately to suspend your service and prevent unauthorised calls being made and billed to you. Your service provider will block your SIM card and IMEI number to prevent your phone from being used on all networks (Remember to register your IMEI with your mobile phone company)
    Report the loss or theft to the Gardai, providing identification numbers for your SIM card ) and handset (IMEI). This information may assist the police in the recovery of your mobile phone. It may also be necessary to report this to the Gardai in order for your phone insurance provider to honour your policy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

Bendihorse wrote: »
    Some dirty rotten b*stard stole my iPhone 4 last night. I had it insured but thats not the point, im feckin disgusted. They also took a small amount of cash.

The people in the phone shop told me its possible for Vodafone to block the phone using the IMEI code, rendering it usless to the thieves (Who called me recently dialed numbers & also sent a whatsapp message to my boyfriend saying 'hope this phone is insured':mad:)

Network operator can block the IMEI just like any mobile phone and prevents it being reconnected to an Irish network. It is a problem if it's shipped abroad or gets wiped - but I don't think 'wiping' an iPhone is as straightforward as standard 3G handsets.

Did you happen to have that mobileme service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Bendihorse

No MobileMe Brian, will def be investing when I get my replacement. Apparently Vodafone are out of iPhone 4s at the moment so I'm back using my Nokia N97 which I was just about to trade in :eek: Its very hard going back!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭richierichballs

This happened to me a few months ago,
    I rang Vodafone an hour after I realized it was stolen,
    As soon as the person turned the device off I rang Vodafone it was about 5am in the morning and they blocked it straight away.

The phone will be fully disabled and won't be any use in Ireland as far as I believe,
    None of these little "P*ki Shops" (as they are called,) can unblock them either so to be honest it is a comfort.

Hopefully the d*ckheads who took your phone weren't smart enough to know how to change the IMEI in that space of time before you contacted Vodafone,
    To be honest the fact they rang and texted off your phone they don't sound like the type of people with the mentality to know how to do so.

Consider yourself lucky you have insurance, I didn't.
    Sorry for your loss, Hope that helped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

(Who called me recently dialed numbers & also sent a whatsapp message to my boyfriend saying 'hope this phone is insured':mad:)

That's awful mate.

Pure scumbags. I hate this type of carry on. No respect for people who work hard for things.

Scum bags like these are what put me off getting the iphone, have to just take the risks though I suppose.

joey54 wrote: »
    That's awful mate.

Pure scumbags. I hate this type of carry on. No respect for people who work hard for things.

Scum bags like these are what put me off getting the iphone, have to just take the risks though I suppose.

I don't bring mine out anymore, I have a little crappy Nokia I stick my simcard into it whenever I go into town, Not worth the hassle losing an Iphone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

No MobileMe Brian, will def be investing when I get my replacement. Apparently Vodafone are out of iPhone 4s at the moment so I'm back using my Nokia N97 which I was just about to trade in :eek: Its very hard going back!!

you don't need mobileme service to locate iphone/remote wipe/send message to iphone.

get the locate my iphone app on a friends or family members iOS device, this is of course if you had set this up

Wish I had that app :( Will def be running that process on my new one when I get it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

I don't bring mine out anymore, I have a little crappy Nokia I stick my simcard into it whenever I go into town, Not worth the hassle losing an Iphone.

My God, how do you socialise? Most iPhone owners have the thing straight out of the pocket onto the table as soom as they meet people and then spend the rest of the evening boring us with some daft app they downloaded! :D

BrianD wrote: »
    My God, how do you socialise? Most iPhone owners have the thing straight out of the pocket onto the table as soom as they meet people and then spend the rest of the evening boring us with some daft app they downloaded! :D

Well really it depends on where I'm going, My first iPhone was stolen by a taxi driver,
    I never got the reg number. I only realized it was gone when I had gotten out of the car, I had chased the taxi and he didn't stop.

I mean I bring my phone out with me, for meals and stuff, Even for a few pints down the local but if I'm going out on a mad one with the lads my latest apps are the least of my worries, the iPhone is staying at home.

It bugs me when people do that with phones, take them out and spend the night talking about how wonderful it is.

I was at a dinner party a while back in a friends house and the group talked about iPhones for about 2 hours - BORING and how were they going to save/get around contract in order to be able to get an upgrade to a 4. I didnt even bother saying I had one.

To me its a phone, okay its a good phone, but when people ask me about it my reply is always 'ah ya its handy alright' but dont get into conversation.

I still wish I had it back all the same :( My n97 wouldnt take a charge so im using the little replacement handset the phoneshop gave me, a tiny little Nokia with no camera and a crack in the screen :). I cant believe how small it is, almost hard to hold like... God be with the days when the coolest phone to have was the smallest one available on the market :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

hmmm....you cannot change the imei of the iPhone 4 as far as I know. But to be sure I googled a bit and got linked back to iclarified (super site for i-things) anyway to be brief there are a couple of interesting posts to the page which I thought I'd paste here for your perusal. This might be a lead, might not be a lead but it will only take an email to find out! of course it might not even be yours. :)

From this page
    walshy wrote at 2011-01-14 05:44:54
    iPhone 4, 16gb, perfect condition, blocked in Ireland. Looking to swap for same, no downgrade! Legit offers only. Email me at laurie-loo@hotmail.com.

Thats great Hshort, thanks a million...

I looked at that post and it was put up on the 14th, mine was stolen early on the morning of the 16th.

Basically that site has an open forum for people who want to swap stolen iPhones?? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

Seems to have been a weekend for it. Mine was pick pocketed from me at the bottom of Grafton St. Absolute professional job. I had MobileMe, was able to track it to where it was but the Garda wouldn't do anything as they said they needed a warrant to go in. I have had the IMEI number listed now, so it'll be blocked here, some small grace from it. Back using a Nokia also while I decide whether to get a new one or not. I had bought mine from Apple when they were released, so no insurance either :( The last conversation I had with the guy who had was - I offered him €400 cash for it back and he asked "Why would I sell to you for that when I can sell it for more to someone else" and hung up. D!ckheads. Hopefully Karma comes round them him soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

That's terrible. Where on your person was the phone taken from, jacket pocket?

Carphone are telling me there are no iPhone 4s to be had in the country. They cant give me a timeline as to when ill have my replacement. This just gets worse by the day...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

BrianD wrote: »

the daft app is actually quite good ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

Carphone are telling me there are no iPhone 4s to be had in the country. They cant give me a timeline as to when ill have my replacement. This just gets worse by the day...

Did you take out the insurance with carphone warehouse? And if so do they replace the phone for free if it was robbed?

hshortt wrote: »
    That's terrible. Where on your person was the phone taken from, jacket pocket?

Yeah and the worst thing is, it was the first time I ever put it in that pocket, I always put it in my jeans pocket. Typical.. But sure, it's only a phone at the end of the day and it coulda been way worse!

Vodafone have 32GB one's available on their website, I was looking at them yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭Thor

Shouldn't there be something in your insurance contract stating how long you have to wait for a new phone. It doesn't seem right that they don't have iPhone 4's in stock. I know Vodafone have a good few as a friends bought on the other day.

Im going to ring again today... Its so frustrating. I ask them: 'can you give me an approximate timeline on how long i will have to wait' Reply: 'no, not really'. Then I ask: 'well, will it be a week or a month or what?' Reply: 'Ah no, it wont be a month anyway'. :mad::mad::mad:

They have to have them in stock, this is ridiculous.

Im going to ring again today... Its so frustrating. I ask them: 'can you give me an approximate timeline on how long i will have to wait' Reply: 'no, not really'. Then I ask: 'well, will it be a week or a month or what?' Reply: 'Ah no, it wont be a month anyway'. :mad::mad::mad:

They have to have them in stock, this is ridiculous.

The lads in Blanch told me that they get small amounts of stock at a time into the shops and it's usually Tuesdays and Fridays.

Dont get near Blanch unfortunatly. I was on to a girl in a call centre for the insurance company there and she said she would mark my case as 'urgent'...

Blaming it all on Apple and washing their hands of it. Still cant give me any idea on time frame, a week, a month or a year. I said 'surely apple have given you an approximate supply date' and she says 'no'. I don't know, it all sounds a bit cock an bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

Do you get a free replacement iPhone 4 with carphone warehouse insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Seems to have been a weekend for it. Mine was pick pocketed from me at the bottom of Grafton St. Absolute professional job. I had MobileMe, was able to track it to where it was but the Garda wouldn't do anything as they said they needed a warrant to go in. I have had the IMEI number listed now, so it'll be blocked here, some small grace from it. Back using a Nokia also while I decide whether to get a new

Warrant or no warrant I'd be going in personally. No comment beyond that :pac:

Is it possible to insure an iPhone without being in a contract etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭rivalius13

you don't need mobileme service to locate iphone/remote wipe/send message to iphone.

get the locate my iphone app on a friends or family members iOS device, this is of course if you had set this up
    ....or just go to me.com and log in.

ironclaw wrote: »
    Warrant or no warrant I'd be going in personally. No comment beyond that :pac:

Is it possible to insure an iPhone without being in a contract etc?

Haha How I wanted to buddy, how I really wanted to.

Not that I know of..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Its worth purchasing Ihound or Find my Iphone app on any replacement Iphone. It can help track your phone through GSM quordinates through your laptop.

If you think you are very close to the culprit you can send a shrilling car type alarm ring even if the ring volume is low.

It will constantly give up date coordinates and the last position of the phone if it has been switched off.

This software can also double up as a tracking device for the other half. :p

http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/find-my-iphone/id376101648?mt=8
    https://www.ihoundsoftware.com/

My boyfriend has this on his phone... How does it recognise to track my phone as opposed to his? Is it all through iTunes or can it use my IMEI or something?

Collecting my new phone tonight after a week waiting... Thank god for insurance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 casheljessica

Hi i have a friend who has had his iphone stolen. He has none of those app that he could find his phone which is such a shame. All i wanna try and find out is there anyway to wipe the photographs that are on the phone. It is horrible that thought of a stranger accessing his kids pictures.
    He did not log out of his email account either and it is being used to send spam from the iphone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

Change the password on the email account to stop the spam being sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Eire Go Brach

I know its not much comfort when your phone is stolen or lost.

But why not pin lock your phone. I have always done this for the simple reason. I have FAR too much personal stuff on my iphone. Family pictures, Amazon, ebay accounts etc.
    Plus if it is stolen/lost. It is set to delete after 10 failed pin attempts. And the feel good factor that they can't use it. Also if they can's operate it. They might be more inclinded to give it back for ransom etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭barryd09

had my phone stolen in madrid on the 12th of this month.

its an absolute SICKNER.

Phone wasnt passcoded & there was a problem with using "Find my iPhone" to remote wipe it as the IMEI registered with "Find my iPhone" was different to the IMEI of the stolen phone (I had my phone replaced by apple due to a fault and never updated the information in "Find my iPhone" :mad::mad:)

On the passcode issue,there was a glitch in iOS 4.1 to bypass the passcode.
    http://www.wired.com/threatlevel/2010/10/iphone-snoop/

wouldnt fill you with confidence.

i just changed all the passwords i could think of & hoped for the best.

im just hoping karma took care of the thief and he dropped it into a puddle or something running away.