Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you buy a car without an N.C.T ?

• 16-01-2011 1:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭

Right here's my predicament , Driving a 99 1.4 golf at the moment , little warrior of a car but the little fecker wont pass the NCT , Engine's last days are numbered so the emmissions are crazy

Anyway ,

Want a car I can rely on for at least a couple of years , no NCT crap etc etc , Saw a lovely 2007 1.4 focus , 40k miles Zetec top spec , advertised as new Nct til jan 2013 , went to see it and the Nct is not due til may , now the guy is only willing to give me a 3 month guarantee , I want at least 6 , im just worried that knowing my luck it'll fail the NCT in May and end up costing me more money , have a 8k budget so i want value for money , this is my most expensive car to date .

Should I insist on the garage getting the NCT done ?? tax is out too , my sis has put a deposit down on another car and they are throwing in a Valet , full petrol tank , service , 12 month warranty , 1 yr tax , Should I be asking for these things ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

if it's the first NCT, you can do the test up to 6 months early

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

yes Id buy a car with no NCT as it would be CHEAP. Budget to spend a bit to get it through the test and Bobs your doodah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

Yes stryker........... sick to your guns,ask for what your sis got,ask for everything you can think of. rem,your the king here,you have 100s of cars to view,they have only a few they can sell,i know it can be stressfull looking for a new car but keep looking around and the car will jump out at you so to speak.
    Bes of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭jaybee747

Tell the dealer to put it through the NCT and once its passed you'll take it off his hands then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I disagree, try and get yourself a good deal, but insisting on 400 odd of tax, 100 of petrol, service another 150?) and expecting it on top of an already low price is mad.

Any deal where this is thrown in as a sweetener has plenty of meat in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

there is almost 400 2007 Focuses on Carzone so no need to rush into anything

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

If it's advertised as being NCT'd till 2013 but it isn't, then I'd be a bit suspicious about why it isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭MarkoC

NCT is a yoke anyway, you can get a car with NCT which isnt suitable for roaduse.
    If the car manufacturer gives 3 years warranty and i have to sell the car after 3 years, i wouldnät give you even a day warranty and you asking for 6 months :D W´If warranty is over its over ... Unless theres still dealers or car manufacturers warranty on it.

It's not a 3 door zetec connection in light blue is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Ive never bought a car with an nct. I always get the cars that are "spares" or "major mechanical work needed". Nothings more satisfying than seeing those types of car getting a fresh nct once again :)

I do all my own work. If youd seen some of the stuff ive seen go on in garages, youd never bring a car to a garage ever again ;)

dgt wrote: »
    Ive never bought a car with an nct. I always get the cars that are "spares" or "major mechanical work needed". Nothings more satisfying than seeing those types of car getting a fresh nct once again :)

I do all my own work. If youd seen some of the stuff ive seen go on in garages, youd never bring a car to a garage ever again ;)
    fair play to you. it must be a bummer having to backdate the nct though,which imo is F----n stupid,unless ive missed something for his reasoning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I dont have just one car, Ill wait for up to a year to get the full 2 years nct if i have to and drive round in another one untill then. It saddens me to see perfect working cars in the scrappies with long ncts.... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭MarkoC

Some of us know that if you know someone, who knows someone, who works for NCT, its dam easy to pass the NCT :D
    Its just the thing about what people dont discuss in public as they would be happy to use the "service" again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

Right here's my predicament , Driving a 99 1.4 golf at the moment , little warrior of a car but the little fecker wont pass the NCT , Engine's last days are numbered so the emmissions are crazy

Anyway ,

Want a car I can rely on for at least a couple of years , no NCT crap etc etc , Saw a lovely 2007 1.4 focus , 40k miles Zetec top spec , advertised as new Nct til jan 2013 , went to see it and the Nct is not due til may , now the guy is only willing to give me a 3 month guarantee , I want at least 6 , im just worried that knowing my luck it'll fail the NCT in May and end up costing me more money , have a 8k budget so i want value for money , this is my most expensive car to date .

Should I insist on the garage getting the NCT done ?? tax is out too , my sis has put a deposit down on another car and they are throwing in a Valet , full petrol tank , service , 12 month warranty , 1 yr tax , Should I be asking for these things ??
    My first car had an Nct when i bought it, but it didnt seem to make much difference as i had to shell out close to E700 to for it pass it again around 8 months later. Mercedes A class-Awful yoke, never again!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭unfit2006

dgt wrote: »
    I dont have just one car, Ill wait for up to a year to get the full 2 years nct if i have to and drive round in another one untill then. It saddens me to see perfect working cars in the scrappies with long ncts.... :(

DGT, thats using your head. Great to pick up the "no NCT" bargains and get them through the test with minimum outlay. If they are more than 12 months out of test then it makes sense to hold off until they are 3 months away from the next retest date.
    I ran a sweet little Clio that was over 20 months out of test through in November gone and she tested out to January 2013.:)

unfit2006 wrote: »
    DGT, thats using your head. Great to pick up the "no NCT" bargains and get them through the test with minimum outlay. If they are more than 12 months out of test then it makes sense to hold off until they are 3 months away from the next retest date.
    I ran a sweet little Clio that was over 20 months out of test through in November gone and she tested out to January 2013.:)
    how does that work? so you didnt have to back date the test?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

You can ask all you like, the seller does not have to give a guarantee ~ especially on motors, YOU as the buyer might do something silly like fill the diesel with petrol or enter the Le Mans 24hr endurance race with it ~~

An NCT is a necessity and is strictly illegal to sell a car without an NCT for road use. That's why so many are sold for 'off road' ~ it's a clause. Now, there is nothing stopping YOU from buying a car with no NCT ~ so yer takes yer chances and you have no comeback.

That said, it's still a buyers market and for your budget you should get something beautiful and mechanically sound that'll likely run for 5 years trouble free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭stryker mcqueen

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It's not a 3 door zetec connection in light blue is it?

Sure is

Test is due every 2 years and you can do it 3 months early, best case is getting 27 months but you could do the test, pass, and have it run out days,later. It's all about timing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭unfit2006

how does that work? so you didnt have to back date the test?

Lets say a car was due to be tested in January 2009. If you bought that car in say June 2010, you have two choices...test it in June 2010 and the test will be backdated to January 2009. So in effect you only benefit from 6 months NCT (July to December).
    Alternatively, you can hold off and not test the car until January 2011 and get a full 2 years test out to January 2013. (The NCT will not be backdated for the period January 2009 to January 2011 in that case.)
    Better still, you can submit your car for testing 3 months before it is due. Therefore in the above example, the car could be submitted for testing in November 2010 and its period of NCT cover will commence with effect from January 2013 and will again would not be backdated to 2009.

unfit2006 wrote: »
    Lets say a car was due to be tested in January 2009. If you bought that car in say June 2010, you have two choices...test it in June 2010 and the test will be backdated to January 2009. So in effect you only benefit from 6 months NCT (July to December).
    Alternatively, you can hold off and not test the car until January 2011 and get a full 2 years test out to January 2013. (The NCT will not be backdated for the period January 2009 to January 2011 in that case.)
    Better still, you can submit your car for testing 3 months before it is due. Therefore in the above example, the car could be submitted for testing in November 2010 and its period of NCT cover will commence with effect from January 2013 and will again would not be backdated to 2009.
    Excellent.........thanks for that info!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I would expect any proper dealership selling a used 07 car to offer at least 6 months warranty with it. It's still a relatively new car.

If the car is due it's first NCT in less than 6 months I'd insist they put it through as a condition of the sale or put an NCT guarantee in the warranty. I don't see why they would have an issue with this unless they know something that they are not telling you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

bazz26 wrote: »
    If the car is due it's first NCT in less than 6 months I'd insist they put it through as a condition of the sale or put an NCT guarantee in the warranty. I don't see why they would have an issue with this unless they know something that they are not telling you.
    To be fair, asking to guarantee an NCT in 4/5 months is a bit rich. Whats to stop someone buying a car, deciding to have a bit of fun and shred the front tyres, then try to get the garage to foot the bill because it fails on illegal thread depth when the NCT comes around?

Or a more reasonable one - car is sold with decent tyres, owner does 6000 miles between now and NCT and tyres are illegal come test time. Too many variables for even the most reasonable of garages to risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Top Dog wrote: »
    To be fair, asking to guarantee an NCT in 4/5 months is a bit rich. Whats to stop someone buying a car, deciding to have a bit of fun and shred the front tyres, then try to get the garage to foot the bill because it fails on illegal thread depth when the NCT comes around?

Or a more reasonable one - car is sold with decent tyres, owner does 6000 miles between now and NCT and tyres are illegal come test time. Too many variables for even the most reasonable of garages to risk.

The car is due it's NCT in May, it's the first NCT so can be done upto 6 months prior it's due date. So if the garage are not willing to put it through the NCT before selling it then I would expect them to sort any issues (except consumables such as tyres) when the buyer puts it through themself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

bazz26 wrote: »
    The car is due it's NCT in May, it's the first NCT so can be done upto 6 months prior it's due date. So if the garage are not willing to put it through the NCT before selling it then I would expect them to sort any issues (except consumables such as tyres) when the buyer puts it through themself.
    Ok. Yeah, gotta agree that that does sound reasonable.