Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

psst - Madmen Season 4 is starting on RTE Monday17th...

• 16-01-2011 11:42am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭

.. don't tell anyone.
    I assume that RTE want to keep it as a big secret. I have been looking out for it for ages and I spotted it by accident in the TV listings today.
    No big song and dance or announcement that I've seen.
    And just in case they might get too many viewers, they've put it on at midnight to keep the numbers down.
    If it isn't on the rte player I'll just throw my hat at it and buy the box set in march.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

vallo wrote: »
    .. don't tell anyone.
    I assume that RTE want to keep it as a big secret. I have been looking out for it for ages and I spotted it by accident in the TV listings today.
    And just in case they might get too many viewers, they've put it on at midnight to keep the numbers down.
    If it isn't on the rte player I'll just throw my hat at it and buy the box set in march.

What a joke. :rolleyes:

What time is that yoke Katherine Lynch on at again? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Might I suggest that you send a complaint to complaints@rte.ie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

RTE just dont know what to do with Mad Men.It dosent fit with their current strategy of outdumbing TV3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

vallo wrote: »
    .. don't tell anyone.

This just beggars belief.

Midnight! Are they for real????

Complete madness.

I can guarantee I won't be watching. I go to bed at about 10.30pm on a school night.

Complete idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

I'd say they're intentionally putting it on at midnight just to annoy you guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

S.M.B. wrote: »
    I'd say they're intentionally putting it on at midnight just to annoy you guys.

Hey they are the one who bought and paid for it. Why bother when they are going to play it at that time?

I'll just watch it on box set.

It is just a waste of RTE's resources - which ultimately we the public are paying for.

They obviously have a policy of promoting and playing home grown programmes - whether they are good or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

I thought 'Damages' at 11:55pm was bad, but they've managed to throw on an extra 5mins here. Awesome scheduling RTE, take a bow.

This from the station that has 'Killinaskully' at prime time.

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Might I suggest that you send a complaint to complaints@rte.ie

For the first time in my life, I will write to RTE. I'll keep you posted as to the response, if any, I receive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

^ don't hold your breath....RTE nearly always put [good]US shows in the graveyard shift.

I thought 'Damages' at 11:55pm was bad, but they've managed to throw on an extra 5mins here. Awesome scheduling RTE, take a bow.

This from the station that has 'Killinaskully' at prime time.
    And I'd imagine the ratings for Killinaskully would far exceed the ratings for Mad Men if it were to be given the same time slot.

Quite possibly, but that doesn't make it better. 'Mad Men' would be far too complicated, taxing, arty, intellectual, stylish (need I go on?) for the average 'Killinaskully' viewer. I can't comment on what that type of person that however is as I honestly don't know anyone who watches it. Or 'The All Ireland Talent Show'. Or 'Nationwide'. Or 'Winning Streak'. Or 'Ryan Tubridy is an amazing broadcaster and is very funny and witty and not at all opinionated or anti-any party that's not Fianna Fail and only bangs the desk nervously because he's so cool and down with the kids' (formerly known as 'The Late Late Show').

Of course it's not better but that's not he point.

Mad Men isn't that popular a show, hell even I don't watch it and i'd be the perfect demographic for it.

If it was more popular, it'd be on at a more suitable time.

Of course it's not better but that's not he point.

Mad Men isn't that popular a show, hell even I don't watch it and i'd be the perfect demographic for it.

If it was more popular, it'd be on at a more suitable time.

It's kind of a Catch 22 though as if they put it on at stupid time they can say "well it's not that popular"; however, we can't test the hypothesis on how popular it could be until they change the scheduling and air it during prime time.

As regards the popularity, I think you'll find it is quite popular, but people just watch it on DVD/Blu-Ray. Same goes for 'The Wire', 'Damages' and to a lesser extent 'The Sopranos'. They don't really have a choice given the scheduling. The rise in the sale of boxsets is I suspect largely (or at the very least some degree) due to this type of scheduling.

Quite possibly, but that doesn't make it better. 'Mad Men' would be far too complicated, taxing, arty, intellectual, stylish (need I go on?) for the average 'Killinaskully' viewer. I can't comment on what that type of person that however is as I honestly don't know anyone who watches it. Or 'The All Ireland Talent Show'. Or 'Nationwide'. Or 'Winning Streak'. Or 'Ryan Tubridy is an amazing broadcaster and is very funny and witty and not at all opinionated or anti-any party that's not Fianna Fail and only bangs the desk nervously because he's so cool and down with the kids' (formerly known as 'The Late Late Show').

Take a breath man!

telekon wrote: »
    Take a breath man!

No way! That was my favourite part! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Travel is good

The box set is available from Amazon from 21st March - can you wait that long?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Mad-Men-Season-4-DVD/dp/B00426DIN4/ref=sr_1_3?s=dvd&ie=UTF8&qid=1295360627&sr=1-3

I think the box sets are well worth buying, it's a series you'll want to watch again (and not at midnight).

I have the box set of Series 1-3 and no, I'm not giving them away or selling them, as I love them too much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

feck - missed it , is it being repeated so I can series link it. Just working through the second season on dvd, have the 3rd season lined up - would be nice to have season 4 recorded and ready to go :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

Good News. S04 E01 is on RTE Player.
    Until February 7th

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1089206

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

I'm just glad I don't have to rely on RTÉ to see this show.
    God bless torr the Internet. :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I actually always end up watching this around midnight. But that's my choice.

townparks wrote: »

In my "strongly worded" email to RTE on this matter, I did actually ask if one of the reasons they had purchased it was to prevent TV3 from doing so. I've not had a reply yet, though I'm not exactly surprised at that.

Reply from RTE:

Dear _ _ _ _,
    Thank you for your e.mail and your interest in our programmes.

Your comments about the scheduling of Mad Men will be included in the Audience Log of calls and e-mails which is circulated for information to senior RTÉ programme management and is reviewed at the weekly meeting of the Editorial Board.

I'm also forwarding your mail to our Scheduling department for attention.

We thank you for making your views known.

With every good wish.

RTÉ Information

So, basically, PFO.

They forwarded your email to scheduling. What did you want them to do?

I wrote a long and detailed email citing several examples of this type of scheduling; I asked a lot of questions in bullet point format and asked for replies on each. None of my questions were answered save for the pre-prepared cover-all response I got.

What did I want them to so? Well ideally I'd have liked if they provided me with answers to some, if not all of, my questions. But failing that, an answer to my main question as to why bother spend tax-payers money acquiring this programme if they only wanted to show it at an obscure hour would have been nice. Too much to ask?

Probably. And what did you mean by strongly worded? Did you **** them out of it?

I was kinda taking the p*ss saying that, in an 'Irish Times Letters Page' fashion. I used my finest, most parliamentary language and was tripping over myself in my politeness in an effort to illicit a fuller response. I probably would have been better off f***ing them out of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I was kinda taking the p*ss saying that, in an 'Irish Times Letters Page' fashion. I used my finest, most parliamentary language and was tripping over myself in my politeness in an effort to illicit a fuller response. I probably would have been better off f***ing them out of it.

Sounds like you made a total mupet of yourself, you've clearly never sent official emals/letters, i bet yer man reading it was like ... :rolleyes: ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭cucbuc

I watched season 4 on the internet over the summer- could not wait for tv to catch up. Brilliant. Every episode would stall 3/4 way through though. Looking forward to watching it uninterrupted. Annoying that a great show is going to be shown so late at night though. Thank God for sky+ and series link.:)

Sounds like you made a total mupet of yourself, you've clearly never sent official emals/letters, i bet yer man reading it was like ... :rolleyes: ...

Wow Richard, considering you haven't seen my original "emal" you've made some pretty big assumptions there.

My complaint email was concise and I stuck to the point throughout. Tonally, it was firm but polite. At no point in my email (despite I have to admit at times being very tempted to do so), did I resort to sarcasm, anger or vitriol. Without wishing to give up my boards anonymity, a large part of my work involves copywriting (I'm a member of the NUJ), and I also lecture in two Dublin Universities. My work across a number of subject areas has been published in Irish print media and in academic journals. So, with respect Richard, I think I probably have more experience in writing official copy than you.

I do concede however that you're possibly right the recipient was like :rolleyes: when they read my email; and that unfortunately, is part of the problem with RTE.

P.S. It's "muppet", not "mupet"; "emails", not "emals"; "I", not "i"; and "your", not "yer". Just for your own letter writing of course. I always find that people take your letters a little more seriously if the spelling is correct.

I attended an event last night at which an RTE exec. was in attendance. I know this person through work and asked the same question re. the scheduling of 'Mad Men'. His initial response was that he was surprised I hadn't watched it on BBC. His more considered response was that it would be out on DVD later this year.

Turkeys voting for Christmas.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Wow Richard, considering you haven't seen my original "emal" you've made some pretty big assumptions there.

My complaint email was concise and I stuck to the point throughout. Tonally, it was firm but polite. At no point in my email (despite I have to admit at times being very tempted to do so), did I resort to sarcasm, anger or vitriol. Without wishing to give up my boards anonymity, a large part of my work involves copywriting (I'm a member of the NUJ), and I also lecture in two Dublin Universities. My work across a number of subject areas has been published in Irish print media and in academic journals. So, with respect Richard, I think I probably have more experience in writing official copy than you.

I do concede however that you're possibly right the recipient was like :rolleyes: when they read my email; and that unfortunately, is part of the problem with RTE.

P.S. It's "muppet", not "mupet"; "emails", not "emals"; "I", not "i"; and "your", not "yer". Just for your own letter writing of course. I always find that people take your letters a little more seriously if the spelling is correct.

They probably threw yours in the bin when you confused "illicit" with "elicit".

Whoops, apologies on that. I did actually think I had typed that in error after I had left the house and was in the car on my way to the gym but by then it was obviously too late to change it. All I can offer by way of excuse is that it was early.........

I attended an event last night at which an RTE exec. was in attendance. I know this person through work and asked the same question re. the scheduling of 'Mad Men'. His initial response was that he was surprised I hadn't watched it on BBC. His more considered response was that it would be out on DVD later this year.

Turkeys voting for Christmas.

Tubridy said pretty much the exact same thing this morning...must have been on the RTE talking points for the day. Cretins. :mad:

My Lord, my day is just going from bad to worse - please don't tell me I share an opinion with Tubbers? Next I'll be thinking Bertie might be a good replacement for Cowen.....

Out of curiosity, what did Tubbers say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Well Tubridy always refers to the RTE Player as the RTE iPlayer. Clearly he wishes he was working for the BBC.
    I wish he was too....................if only to be rid of him. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

There shouldn't be a need to email them and complain. Should be f**king obvious! This is why RTE have 2 years left or however it is. They spend money buying US shows just so TV3 can't and then stick them on in the wee hours. In the meantime lets use the licence fee to fund a million seasons of Maeve Higgins' Fancy Vittles or Mattie FFS :mad::mad::mad:

Aside from the early days of 'The Panel' I can't think of any RTE homegrown programme thats actually been good. BBC had Stargazing Live there and that was brill. We get Fade Street?? Renewed for a season 2?? They should just give up with homegrown shows, pay Kenny less and just buy & air good US/BBC shows at proper times like Mad Men, Breaking Bad, Wonders of the Solar System etc.

If something like Mattie aired on a US network I don't think it would have gotten past the test audience let alone 2+ seasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Dr. Nick

Series link won't work for me for MM on RTE for some reason which is a little annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

"RTE prioritises high quality home-produced programming for an Irish audience

rte2 is full of bought repeats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 theden

The show doesn't seemed to be scheduled on RTE for the next 2 weeks???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭thomasm

Anyone know when its back, p&ss poor from RTE in terms of letting you know. Where's the harm in saying at the end of last broadcasted episode when it's back...amateurs